We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mediterranean Room

1132 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
8585513765
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #170 of 1,274 restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Herschel
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    11
    12
    8
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We had a breakfast package during our week-long stay and so had several opportunities to experience this restaurant, which has lovely views and a pleasant ambiance. The furniture is a bit run down (the arms came off two of the chairs we were offered) and the cutlery rather industrial in size and strength. Salt and pepper should have been in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at The Mediterranean Room, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest - Our apology for the delay in responding to your January experience - much has happened during the past 6 months. The dining room, terrace and La Sala have undergone an extensive restoration and renovation. New furnishings include settees, club and dining room chairs and elegant wood tables. A custom designed inset carpet sets center stage for... More

London suburbs
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This review relates specifically to the indoor Mediterranean Restaurant. We had a pleasant dinner in the Whaling Bar when we visited La Jolla a year ago and we decided to repeat the experience this year. Unfortunately this was not possible because it had closed and the room was being transformed into a European style 'Café la Rue'. We decided to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at The Mediterranean Room, responded to this review

Dear London Diner - My thanks for your patience and my apology for the delay in responding to your December 2013 review. . . . we have been busy! Indeed the dining room was gloomy and in need of attention; at the time you joined us in late 2013,our attention was on the renovation and re-debut of Café la Rue.... More

Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Standard brunch offerings prepared adequately, a bit pricey, but when you factor in the view and the serenity, worth the price of admission IMHO. Wait-staff was friendly and professional, perhaps someone has spoken with them about previous attitude reported here on TA? I found the food, view and service all pleasant on this lazy Sunday morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at The Mediterranean Room, responded to this review

Dear November 2013 Reviewer - So sorry for not responding sooner - we have been busy with great changes! A lazy Sunday brunch remains a highlight of a week in La Jolla and THE MED remains a must. Earlier in 2014 we completely renovated the dining room and ocean terrace - great food is now matched with beautiful furnishings and... More

Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I didnt stay at this hotel but wanted a lovely breakfast with a view of the water. Forget it! The food and service was simply mediocre......took awhile to top off coffee and such. Worst coffee ever!!! The view is from the side of the bldg and not along the view itself.....so not ideal. Again, this is a review of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I am pretty sentimental about La V so it's hard to not give it high marks when it's such a pretty Hotel with one of the better views around plus all the great times I've had here! I was sad when they decided Whalers had to go but it really lost its luster well before the management decided a concept... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at The Mediterranean Room, responded to this review

Dear Valued Local - I truly appreciate your memories of former staff and former eras of dining at La V. I must say you are indeed dating yourself with mention of the former GM from 2 decades ago. The beauty of La Valencia and her restaurants is that they have crafted, evolved and debuted new dining concepts and options for... More

Malibu, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My mom and I went there for breakfast last week,and sit down outside such we came there for the ocean view. A Very rude ,broken English spoken waiter came and told us we could not sit on terrace. I requested to talk to the manager such my mom and I were already sitting down ready to eat and relax before... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at The Mediterranean Room, responded to this review

Dear International Guest - There is no excuse for rude service - you have our apology. I am also sorry for the tardy response to your review from the summer of 2013 - we are quickly catching up to some much needed social media opportunities. Since your experience last summer, we have made many important enhancements to both the service,... More

San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were here for the brunch, the food was very good. The service was BAD! The views are great and the installations as well, but if the service improved I could become a regular. Try the dungeness crab omelette. Skip dessert.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at The Mediterranean Room, responded to this review

Dear Local Brunch Diner - First and foremost, my apology for the delay in responding to your review from last year - we're getting caught up on many levels. Your experience in poor service, although not normal, was not acceptable. To ensure lapses like this to not happen we have been busy with top to bottom changes and enhancements. From... More

Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Dinner for two overlooking the Pacific. We had brussel sprouts as an appetizer - so delicious, then on to main courses of sea bass and salmon. Every bite was fabulous. Our waiter, Michael was delightful, helping us select a wine and dessert. Our evening was perfect. We are already planning to come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at The Mediterranean Room, responded to this review

Dear Beautiful 2013 Guest - Thank you (and sorry for the late June 2014 response). Please know that THE MED underwent an extensive renovation and restoration and new Chef James Montejano is whipping up exciting fare. Beauty reigns at La V and THE MED. Ciao - Mark Dibella, Managing Director More

SW PA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We dined on the terrace on the Fourth of July and had an incredible meal and were able to see fireworks in triplicate! Service was superb, meals were beautifully plated and delicious. I would highly recommend this dining experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at The Mediterranean Room, responded to this review

Dear Memorable 2013 July 4th Guest - Sorry I am just responding (June 2014) but thank you! Since your dinner we have been busy with elegant renovations to the terrace, lounge and dining room along with exciting changes and additions to the menu. THE MED remains a standard for La Jolla dining and we value your loyalty - July 4th... More

Chicago IL
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Of course the reason to dine at La Valencia is the view! Visiting with friends once a year, we always have a drink and then a paella dinner overlooking the ocean. Service at both the lounge area and dining room was good and we spent a long time lingering over appetizers and dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at The Mediterranean Room, responded to this review

Dear MED Guest - Thank you for sharing your comments and making THE MED and La V an annual experience. Since last year we have completed extensive renovations, enhanced the menu, built a more robust wine inventory and sharpened our services - the view however remain unchanged; stunning! See you in July - Mark Dibella, Managing Director More

Travelers who viewed The Mediterranean Room also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to The Mediterranean Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mediterranean Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing