We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Stinking Rose

Certificate of Excellence
$$$
Neighborhood:
Beverly Hills
Improve this listing
Redo Search in Map
See more restaurants in your map view
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
55 N La Cienega Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90211-2204 (Wilshire Blvd.)
310-652-7673
Website
Today
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 332 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 162
    Excellent
  • 107
    Very good
  • 37
    Average
  • 15
    Poor
  • 11
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Vampires Beware

I was visiting L.A. and my sister (who lives there) asked me if I'd want to go to The Stinking Rose as she said her fiancé would never go with her. This was a dumb question because I LOVE GARLIC. So, off we went, to Beverly Hills, to one of the best and most fun restaurants I've ever been to.... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed June 19, 2015
BQfromNY
,
Montvale, New Jersey
Good for:
  • Bar scene
  • Families with children
  • Doing business
  • Special occasions
  • Large groups
Add Photo Write a Review

332 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015 NEW

I was invited for dinner a business trip, and I really enjoyed my experience. The steak is extremely great and I enjoyed the total garlic experience. The garlic ice cream was also a very fun experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul M, General Manager at The Stinking Rose, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review, dswlim! We're glad to receive such high marks on the garlic-experience we provide at The Stinking Rose. It's always awesome to hear back from a happy customer, and it would be a pleasure to have you back here again to enjoy some more of our delectable, garlic-infused dishes! Feel free to let us... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
175 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015 NEW

I love garlic, so had high hopes for this place. What a huge disappointment. The "Bagna Calda" was just a mess, with overcooked mush swimming in low-quality olive oil. A real Bagna càuda is a thing of beauty. This was a travesty. Garlic roasted prime rib had no garlic flavor, and was too fatty. Terrible wine list.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul M, General Manager at The Stinking Rose, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us, Michael. We're very disappointed to hear that you were not entirely satisfied with your dining experience at The Stinking Rose. It's discouraging to hear that you were not a fan of the dishes that you received, but we understand that most of them do have very unique tastes. Despite... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015 NEW

For such high prices, this was an underwhelming dining experience. I've tasted stronger and more memorable garlic flavor from restaurants where garlic WAS NOT the specialty. The "Garlic soaking in a hot tub" was mushy and the flavor was surprisingly mild, which disappointed me (the bread that came with it was tasty though). Everything from the Fresh Tomatoes Pasta to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul M, General Manager at The Stinking Rose, responded to this review

Marissa, thanks for sharing your feedback with us. It's disappointing to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations. We're upset that you were not entirely satisfied with your overall dining experience at The Stinking Rose. We'll be sure to take note of your concerns and pass them along to our management team. Thanks again for reviewing us, Marissa.... More 

Englewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
157 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

The place can be considered "fun" by some, but it is extremely cheesy in the decoration and very ordinary in food and experience. The garlic in the "hot tub" did not taste like garlic, it was rather mild, squishy and tasted like bananas??? Strange... the other dishes were also very bland and halibut only half cooked. Service was friendly. If... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul M, General Manager at The Stinking Rose, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us, PhantomOP_2013. We're upset that you were not entirely satisfied with your dining experience at The Stinking Rose. It's discouraging to hear that we were unable to meet the expectations you had of our restaurant. We realize that many of our dishes have rather unique tastes, but we're bummed that you did not love... More 

United States
Level Contributor
316 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

We haven't been to Stinking Rose in over six months - it is still great and the 40 clove garlic chicken is still wonderful. The fish dishes had a slight makeover and the halibut was very good. The filet steak was top notch as before. We alway start with the bagna cauda - wonderfully soft garlic cloves in hot olive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul M, General Manager at The Stinking Rose, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us, Traveling_a_lot4fun. We really appreciate your continued patronage! It sounds like you've got quite the exquisite palate, as you've mentioned a number of our favorites in your review; our mouths are watering just reading this! We're really glad that we've been able to provide you with such pleasant dining experiences.... More 

Torrance
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

I love this place. Everything is always amazing. Made a reservation online and we were seated right away in a booth at my request.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul M, General Manager at The Stinking Rose, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to share this review with us, Ray. It's great to hear that you were so satisfied with your hotel experience at ROW NYC. Nothing is more important to us than our customers! We're glad you were able to appreciate how fortunate we are to be in such a convenient location.... More 

Montvale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

I was visiting L.A. and my sister (who lives there) asked me if I'd want to go to The Stinking Rose as she said her fiancé would never go with her. This was a dumb question because I LOVE GARLIC. So, off we went, to Beverly Hills, to one of the best and most fun restaurants I've ever been to.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul M, General Manager at The Stinking Rose, responded to this review

BQfromNY, thank you so much for your thorough and very entertaining review! You, self-proclaimed Garlic Lover, definitely made the right choice giving The Stinking Rose a go! We're thrilled to hear that you were satisfied with our menu options and enjoyed such a delicious meal. Good idea, too, attempting dessert. The garlic ice cream is something every guest ought to... More 

San Jose, California, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

The place is poorly kept, does not speak of class, and is better off in a toursity western town rather than Beverly Hills. Food was just average and I left most of it on the plate. Thats all I can say for Garlic...the best oral contraceptive. Better kept that way!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul M, General Manager at The Stinking Rose, responded to this review

BizTraveler2012, thank you for taking time to write us a review. Your feedback is appreciated. We're disappointed to hear you were not satisfied with your visit. Our goal is to provide a unique and fun garlic experience to all of our guests. Every room in our restaurant is decorated distinctly in order to provide a different feel to everyone. We... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

When they sing "Happy Birthday dear Stinky" and put a stuffed garlic clove hat on the person's head in the table next to yours you do not expect to pay $120 for two entrees, two glasses of wine, and one shared dessert. The marble top tables reminded me of an ice cream parlor. We were in and out in under... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul M, General Manager at The Stinking Rose, responded to this review

Sindymack, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your dining experience. Our goal is to provide a unique atmosphere with excellent food and spirits. As we continue to work towards this goal, we are always looking for ways to improve ourselves. Your feedback will be brought to... More 

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

This is one of my favorite restaurant in my first trip to US. The main dishes are good, we ordered 4 popular ones and they are all delicious. But the best thing here, in my opinion, is dessert menu. I myself don't like garlic so much and was a little hesitate to order the garlic ice cream. And it proved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Stinking Rose also viewed

 
Beverly Hills, CA
 

Been to The Stinking Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stinking Rose

Address: 55 N La Cienega Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90211-2204
Phone Number: 310-652-7673
Location: United States  >  California (CA)  >  Beverly Hills>  > Beverly Hills
Open Hours:
Sunday 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Monday 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 30 - 40
Cuisine: Italian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 55 N La Cienega Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90211-2204
    (Wilshire Blvd.)
  • Location: United States  >  California (CA)  >  Beverly Hills>  > Beverly Hills
  • Neighborhood: Beverly Hills
  • Phone Number: 310-652-7673

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 30 - 40
  • Cuisine: Italian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Dining Style: Casual Dining
  • Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Stinking Rose staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Beverly Hills

Neighborhood Profile
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills began as a modest village years ago and today you can still feel its small town origins, even though it has become a major tourist attraction and business center for the entertainment industry. This town lives up to its reputation as an area full of designer retail stores and residential streets lined with mansions and palm trees. Inside the commercial center of Beverly Hills, along Rodeo Drive, droves of tourists peak into ultra-luxurious boutiques hoping to catch a glimpse of someone famous. Off of Rodeo Drive however is where some of the most affluent Angelenos occupying the streets of Beverly Hills come for leisurely meals, power lunches and beauty treatments.
Explore this neighborhood