We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clock Tower Bistro

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
British, Seafood, Contemporary, Wine Bar, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 Abbey Place, Jedburgh TD8 6BE, Scotland
+44 1835 869788
Website
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Thu 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Tue - Sat 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Fri - Sat 6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 176 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 123
    Excellent
  • 38
    Very good
  • 9
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Taken over - new steak house

Recently taken over from the clock tower bistro. Now a new steak house - we went for midweek lunch. Unfortunately not good for a light lunch it was very much trying to maintain bistro status so it's menu when first opened was quite evening meal orientated. 2 families came in, read menu and left... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed December 31, 2015
KB1285
,
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015 via mobile

Recently taken over from the clock tower bistro. Now a new steak house - we went for midweek lunch. Unfortunately not good for a light lunch it was very much trying to maintain bistro status so it's menu when first opened was quite evening meal orientated. 2 families came in, read menu and left when we were there...due to the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KB1285
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2015

So disappointed to find this previously excellent restaurant has changed its image. All day menu not what we had anticipated. Had difficulty finding a suitable light lunch from the all day menu. Several items referred to duck fat!! Smell of cooking outside. What a miss the old style Clock Tower will. Waited ages for a very poor meal.

Helpful?
11 Thank troteri
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015

We ate at the Clock Tower as it was recommended in the Borders tourist guide in our accommodation, had good reviews and the food looked nice on the website. However, I ordered scampi because the implication was that, like the battered haddock, it was prepared on the premises. When it arrived it was thickly coated with a commercial coating, with... More 

Helpful?
9 Thank Anne G
Rivarolo Mantovano, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015

I had dinner there while staying in Jedburgh. The bistro is nothing special, the food is average and there's not much to choose from in the menu. My fish and chips was greasy and I had trouibels sleeping that night. I honestly expected a lot more. The service is good and the waitresses are very nice.

Helpful?
5 Thank mfertonani
ShaneRobertson95, Owner at Clock Tower Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your review it really is appreciated although I'm at a loss as to why you didn't highlight there was an issue with the Haddock when you were table checked, this is your opportunity to highlight any issues in order for us to rectify or to offer an alternative. We take pride in our customer service and all... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2015

We turned up with no booking after a long day of walking. We were immediately made to feel welcome. The restaurant is centrally located, and the decor is good. But more importantly, the food was excellent and the service faultless. Would happily eat there again.

Helpful?
Thank visitor711
ShaneRobertson95, Owner at Clock Tower Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your very kind comments. We take our customer service very seriously and pride ourselves in a warm welcome. We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience and hopefully we can serve you again sometime in the future. Thanks, Karen Henderson More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015

We ate here on the Saturday night of the Bank Holiday weekend. We were staying in Jedburgh for the weekend and hadn't booked anywhere to eat. The town is limited with eateries and this is the best that we tried. We managed to get a table just after 6pm and after that people were being turned away as they just... More 

Helpful?
Thank WhelanL
ShaneRobertson95, Owner at Clock Tower Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience here in the Bistro and that your husband enjoyed his crumble! Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back sometime in the future. Thanks, Karen Henderson More 

Limoges
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015

We were struggling to find somewhere appealing in the town, and then we stumbled across this little gem. Warm and friendly welcome from the 'hostess', lovely décor and ambience. Food was delicious and attention to detail in its presentation was excellent. We both had the lamb shank from the blackboard - superb; followed by the prettiest and tastiest sticky toffee... More 

Helpful?
Thank sammybfrance
ShaneRobertson95, Owner at Clock Tower Bistro, responded to this review

Reviews like this make it all worth while! A huge thank you for taking the time to review our Bistro and I will ensure all the staff are made aware of your comments. The team and I take great pride in providing great customer service, the chef's are second to none and work hard to produce a high level of... More 

Oban
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015

We chanced upon this wee gem of a restaurant after being refused a table at the pub next door, we suspect because we had a 10yo and a 6yo with us. Thank goodness we ended up in the Clock Tower. The lady serving us was fantastic, the food tasty and and well presented, and the kids allowed half portions of... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank AMGS01
ShaneRobertson95, Owner at Clock Tower Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. I'm sorry to hear that you felt as if you had been turned away from another restaurant because you have young children, these young children will in turn become diners in the future so they need to be treated with equal respect! I remember you well and the children were not an issue,... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

We had a beautiful meal here last night. There were 6 of us and everyone loved their food. The food was tasty, presented really nicely and served with smiles. The restaurant is contemporary in style and has a relaxing feel. Our hosts were also serving another couple tables plus a table of 27 people, who didn't speak a lot of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaGee81
ShaneRobertson95, Manager at Clock Tower Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, they really are very much appreciated and allow us to improve our business which is extremely important to owners/chef's and staff alike. I am pleased you enjoyed your meal, it was a very busy and lively evening but all great fun. It was a pleasure serving you all and we... More 

Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015 via mobile

Started our night with a couple of drinks in the upstairs bar, cosy small bar with lots of comfortable seating. The bistro has a lovely homely feel with a great atmosphere. Excellent menu and specials made it difficult to choose what to have! I had the pate and the burger.....huge stack of oatcakes with the pate which made a very... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank leeanne202
ShaneRobertson95, Manager at Clock Tower Bistro, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your pre-diner drinks in our cosy little bar and even more importantly enjoyed your food in the restaurant. It was a pleasure to serve your table and hopefully we will have the pleasure of serving you again sometime in the near future. Kind regards, Karen & Stuart More 

Travelers who viewed Clock Tower Bistro also viewed

Jedburgh, Scottish Borders
Jedburgh, Scottish Borders
 
Jedburgh, Scottish Borders
 

Been to Clock Tower Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 1 Abbey Place, Jedburgh TD8 6BE, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Borders  >  Jedburgh
  • Phone Number: +44 1835 869788

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 14 - 72
  • Cuisine: British, Seafood, Contemporary, Wine Bar, Scottish

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Open Hours
Tuesday
6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Wednesday
6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Thursday
6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Clock Tower Bistro and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Clock Tower Bistro staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?