We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sea Gypsy Cafe

$
Fish & Chips, Bar, Seafood, Pub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Church Street, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
+27 44 690 5496
Website
Today
9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Sea Gypsy Cafe is one of the most unique places that you will ever...
The Sea Gypsy Cafe is one of the most unique places that you will ever visit. We are situated on the water our oysters are hanging from a pole alive in the sea. We offer a warm friendly and welcoming experience. Great food good value. We offer not only seafood but also meats, chicken, vegetarian meals as well as burgers, toasties and pastas. Takeaways can be placed over the phone and delivered by delivery extreme. A shuttle service is also available if required at no extra cost to and from the shop. Come and join us we are people that care. Hope to see you soon. Kind regards Colin and Team.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 171 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 39
    Excellent
  • 70
    Very good
  • 27
    Average
  • 22
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Fresh air, fresh fish, lovely view.

Excellent food, good prices, friendly staff. I love watching the birds outside the windows and the smell of the ocean. it just can't get better!

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 18, 2015
Explorer329
,
Rustenburg, South Africa
Good for:
  • Scenic view
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015 NEW

We always make a point to go for brunch at least once whenever we are in Mossel Bay - the setting alone and the ambience always makes it worthwhile, the food is an added bonus as it is always good especially the baskets which are more suited for two than for one - must be the only restaurant in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 NEW

We went there for breakfast, as we were staying in the Santos Express nearby, and it was very poor. Basic sandwiches on toast bread, poor filter coffee and on top of it poor service, who messed up our order and forgot about some requests.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JuanitaTrebla, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Colin. More 

Rustenburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

Excellent food, good prices, friendly staff. I love watching the birds outside the windows and the smell of the ocean. it just can't get better!

Was this review helpful? Yes
JuanitaTrebla, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this review

Hi very good. That's what we like, happy customers. Have a great day. Regards Colin, More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

I am not someone that enjoys alot of seafood, so I was very sceptical when we went for lunch here. Staff was friendly and service was excellent. Needless to say the food was excellent and fresh! Best calamari I have ever had. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JuanitaTrebla, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this review

Hi thank you very much for your positive review. Will relay to all staff this morning. Regards Colin. More 

Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015 via mobile

I am working in Mossel Bay and that little resto is right on the harbor where we commute. I went there twice,once for lunch,once in the evening. First time at lunch I had a huge beef skewer and french fries it was good In the evening I had a seafood basket with mussels and it was terrible,small basket with soggy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JuanitaTrebla, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this review

Hi thanks for the positive and negative comments. Regards Colin. More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

The restaurant came recommended for fish and seafood but did not live up to the recommendation. Maybe we had a bad day but I wouldn't go back. The food was oily and not value for money. One can do better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JuanitaTrebla, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this review

Sorry you did not enjoy. Tanks for your comments. Colin. More 

Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

Long wait for food. Food tasted good. Unique view over harbour!Friendly waiters! Very relaxed atmosphere! We received extra drinks on the house to compensate for the long wait!

Was this review helpful? Yes
JuanitaTrebla, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Sorry for the delay April can get nice and busy. Regards Colin. More 

Mossel Bay, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

Tasty food in a real seaside setting. Nothing fancy and don't expect anything too foodie, but nice fried calamari and you can sit with your feet in the sand.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JuanitaTrebla, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this review

Hi thanks for comments. Regards Colin. More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Was not impressed with this venue, service is slow, and was not very impressed with the food. My boyfriend and I ordered line fish, mine was so dry and tasteless, and his was also over cooked.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JuanitaTrebla, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this review

Hi i will look into the matter thank you for your comments. Colin. More 

Mossel Bay
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Love the atmosphere at this gem on the quay. Protect your food from the gulls when it arrives and lean over the railing/wall to watch the blacktails while you wait.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JuanitaTrebla, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this review

Hi very good thank you. Colin. More 

Travelers who viewed Sea Gypsy Cafe also viewed

Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Sea Gypsy Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Church Street, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Mossel Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 44 690 5496

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 4 - 10
  • Cuisine: Fish & Chips, Bar, Seafood, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Scenic view

Description

The Sea Gypsy Cafe is one of the most unique places that you will ever visit. We are situated on the water our oysters are hanging from a pole alive in the sea. We offer a warm friendly and welcoming experience. Great food good value. We offer not only seafood but also meats, chicken, vegetarian meals as well as burgers, toasties and pastas. Takeaways can be placed over the phone and delivered by delivery extreme. A shuttle service is also available if required at no extra cost to and from the shop. Come and join us we are people that care. Hope to see you soon. Kind regards Colin and Team.
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 11:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sea Gypsy Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?