We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sea Gypsy Cafe

$
Fish & Chips, Bar, Seafood, Pub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Church Street, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
+27 44 690 5496
Website
Today
9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Sea Gypsy Cafe is one of the most unique places that you will ever...
The Sea Gypsy Cafe is one of the most unique places that you will ever visit. We are situated on the water our oysters are hanging from a pole alive in the sea. We offer a warm friendly and welcoming experience. Great food good value. We offer not only seafood but also meats, chicken, vegetarian meals as well as burgers, toasties and pastas. Takeaways can be placed over the phone and delivered by delivery extreme. A shuttle service is also available if required at no extra cost to and from the shop. Come and join us we are people that care. Hope to see you soon. Kind regards Colin and Team.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 175 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 39
    Excellent
  • 72
    Very good
  • 29
    Average
  • 22
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Great view, service a bit slow

The Sea Gypsy is ideally located on the harbour and has a beautiful view. The Cafe has an informal, local vibe and offers nice seafood. It is a pity that they were a bit under staffed on a Friday night and we had to wait 90 minutes for our food, as we were a group of family. Service was a... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed July 4, 2015
Lientjie S
,
Hartswater, South Africa
Good for:
  • Scenic view
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hartswater, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015 NEW

The Sea Gypsy is ideally located on the harbour and has a beautiful view. The Cafe has an informal, local vibe and offers nice seafood. It is a pity that they were a bit under staffed on a Friday night and we had to wait 90 minutes for our food, as we were a group of family. Service was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colin735, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your review. Has been a busy weekend. Sorry for long wait. Regards Colin. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015 NEW

We enjoyed the fresh oysters and fish very much. The staff was kind and friendly. The beer was excellent and the view is fantastic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colin735, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this review

Hi thank you . Colin . More 

Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

The decor is very rustic but the fish is delicious and the shellfish is kept alive in nets in the sea so ultra fresh

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colin735, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. glad you liked it, Colin and staff. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

There’s a gravel courtyard covered with a marquis for those that like to sit outside with the seagulls, or inside on wooden benches where the air may be a little fresher. The food is well priced, far from fancy and fills the hole. The usual fried and grilled seafoods populate the menu alongside steaks and a handful of burgers. For... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colin735, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks for feedback. Regards Colin. More 

Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

We always make a point to go for brunch at least once whenever we are in Mossel Bay - the setting alone and the ambience always makes it worthwhile, the food is an added bonus as it is always good especially the baskets which are more suited for two than for one - must be the only restaurant in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colin735, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks we like you to. Regards Colin and staff. More 

Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

We went there for breakfast, as we were staying in the Santos Express nearby, and it was very poor. Basic sandwiches on toast bread, poor filter coffee and on top of it poor service, who messed up our order and forgot about some requests.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JuanitaTrebla, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Colin. More 

Rustenburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

Excellent food, good prices, friendly staff. I love watching the birds outside the windows and the smell of the ocean. it just can't get better!

Was this review helpful? Yes
JuanitaTrebla, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this review

Hi very good. That's what we like, happy customers. Have a great day. Regards Colin, More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

I am not someone that enjoys alot of seafood, so I was very sceptical when we went for lunch here. Staff was friendly and service was excellent. Needless to say the food was excellent and fresh! Best calamari I have ever had. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JuanitaTrebla, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this review

Hi thank you very much for your positive review. Will relay to all staff this morning. Regards Colin. More 

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015 via mobile

I am working in Mossel Bay and that little resto is right on the harbor where we commute. I went there twice,once for lunch,once in the evening. First time at lunch I had a huge beef skewer and french fries it was good In the evening I had a seafood basket with mussels and it was terrible,small basket with soggy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JuanitaTrebla, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this review

Hi thanks for the positive and negative comments. Regards Colin. More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

The restaurant came recommended for fish and seafood but did not live up to the recommendation. Maybe we had a bad day but I wouldn't go back. The food was oily and not value for money. One can do better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JuanitaTrebla, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this review

Sorry you did not enjoy. Tanks for your comments. Colin. More 

Travelers who viewed Sea Gypsy Cafe also viewed

Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Sea Gypsy Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Gypsy Cafe

Address: Church Street, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Phone Number: +27 44 690 5496
Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Mossel Bay
Open Hours:
Sunday 9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Monday 9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Tuesday 9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Wednesday 9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Thursday 9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Friday 9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Saturday 9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Average Prices: USD 4 - 10
Cuisine: Fish & Chips, Bar, Seafood, Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Church Street, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Mossel Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 44 690 5496

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 4 - 10
  • Cuisine: Fish & Chips, Bar, Seafood, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Scenic view

Description

The Sea Gypsy Cafe is one of the most unique places that you will ever visit. We are situated on the water our oysters are hanging from a pole alive in the sea. We offer a warm friendly and welcoming experience. Great food good value. We offer not only seafood but also meats, chicken, vegetarian meals as well as burgers, toasties and pastas. Takeaways can be placed over the phone and delivered by delivery extreme. A shuttle service is also available if required at no extra cost to and from the shop. Come and join us we are people that care. Hope to see you soon. Kind regards Colin and Team.
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 11:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sea Gypsy Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?