We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell Country Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
NP8 1EH | Glangrwyney, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell, Wales
441873811115
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for The Bell Country Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 114 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 54
    Excellent
  • 32
    Very good
  • 10
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Great pub food near Abergavenny, Sugarloaf and the Beacons

Stopped off for lunch at this welcoming and recently/tastefully refurbished pub. Had a simple and tasty meal in the shaded beer garden, served by efficient, warm and friendly people. The new and hospitable Landlord very kindly offered us the option of parking in his pub car park prior to walking to... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed June 30, 2015
OlympicClassDosser
,
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

We have been going to the Bell on and off for a few years. Over the past 2 years it has struggled but we popped in for dinner last night and were really pleased with the welcome, the quality of food and general atmosphere. Keep up the good work. This is a really good pub.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

I asked for a ham salad. What I got was a ham baguette with 8 lettuce leaves + 2 matchsticks of a red pepper that was my salad. I was very disappointed. My husband had burger and chips and he had more salad with his than me. We won't be visiting the bell again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lizzie T, Owner at The Bell Country Inn, responded to this review

Hello i am sorry to here that you did not enjoy your meal with us, i can only apologise of the confusion relating to your order, We do not offer a Ham Salad on our menu. The dish you appeared to have ordered from our menu is our - Ham Ploughman's Lunch which is served on a board with home... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

Overpriced for standard food. It wasn't bad but it wasn't amazing either. For the price I'd expect home cut chips and fresh vegetables etc. not frozen. Staff where very friendly and surroundings nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lizzie T, Owner at The Bell Country Inn, responded to this review

Hello i am sorry to here that your meal with us did not meet your expectations, if this had been brought to our attention we would have looked to address your concerns, our chips are the very best chips available following extensive taste tests with our guests. all our vegetable side orders are fresh home cooked seasonal vegetables. regards Mark... More 

Leiden, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

We liked the atmosphere, but weren't altogether happy with the food. My grilled lamb was charred black in spots, meaning I had to cut away bits of meat as it had become rather bitter in the process. however, the chicken curry was spot on. Lovely ales too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lizzie T, Owner at The Bell Country Inn, responded to this review

Hello thank you for your review of your experience with us i am glad that you enjoyed your time with us. i apologise for your over cooked Lamb Rump we have now changed the butchers cut in our lamb rump so that it present as a rump steak more than a fillet regards Mark Tiernan More 

Leamington spa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

We ate here as a large family group - 6 adults and 2 young children. the steaks were good and well cooked, the vegetarian option was good, starters were good,but the spoiler was the fish and chips, too much batter and not enough fish. Good service, if a little enthusiastic (still learning maybe?). The ales were well kept even if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lizzie T, Manager at The Bell Country Inn, responded to this review

Hello thank you for your review of your time with us i am glad to read that you enjoyed your family meal with us, we currently serve four real ales in the summer months three Brains Real Ales and one guest ale currently Proper Job as well as our standard selection of keg beers and larger so i would encourage... More 

Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

My family went to the bell for Father's Day lunch (myself, husband and 2 boys 9 & 7) the rooms are nicely decorated, light and bright but keeping some lovely features such as fireplace. staff were polite and efficient and we were served quickly. we all had the beef dinner, very generous portions, especially the dads who got extra large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lizzie T, Owner at The Bell Country Inn, responded to this review

I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again soon regards Mark Tiernan More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

Newly taken over and improved. Great family meal out in lovely country pub. Friendly and polite service with special Sunday lunch menu with the enormous Yorkshire pudding on the special menu to celebrate Fathers' day. Pudding of Eton Mess Cheesecake was a Dad favourite too. Charming and relaxing atmosphere. Lovely pub: traditional flagstone floors, window seats, large bar area with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lizzie T, Owner at The Bell Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank your for your positive review of your fathers day lunch with us. The Eaton mess cheese cake has proven to be very popular, I am glad that your family enjoyed your meal and our large garden We look forward to seeing you again soon regards Mark Tiernan More 

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

Stopped off for lunch at this welcoming and recently/tastefully refurbished pub. Had a simple and tasty meal in the shaded beer garden, served by efficient, warm and friendly people. The new and hospitable Landlord very kindly offered us the option of parking in his pub car park prior to walking to the idyllic Sugarloaf Mountain. Nice people who deserve to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

We popped in on our way back from our holiday and was pleasantly surprised with a friendly welcome to us and the little dog. The pub has been modernised to an artistic level. Our order was taken promptly. The lunchtime menu is limited but what we had was good . I think though on Saturdays they should consider a longer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lizzie T, Owner at The Bell Country Inn, responded to this review

I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us we are a dog and family friendly Inn we are looking to extend our lunch time service. We look forward to seeing you again soon regards Mark Tiernan More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

Called in for lunch to find pub is in new hands. Marked improvement in decor. Had a well cooked light meal, reasonably priced, served by polite friendly staff. Will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers who viewed The Bell Country Inn also viewed

Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to The Bell Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: NP8 1EH | Glangrwyney, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Brecon Beacons National Park  >  Crickhowell
  • Phone Number: 441873811115

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bell Country Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?