We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Lion Pub

High Street, Lacock SN15 2LQ, England
01249 730456
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 10 restaurants in Lacock
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
28 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    61
    74
    44
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 NEW

Though the town is very charming I have to say the red Lion pub was a sore disappointment. I waited 1 1/2 hours for just a sandwich and pudding! The cue to get a beer (or anything else) was 15 min additional. In all, I had to cancel my Windsor castle trip waiting for this sub par sandwich. If you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RedLionLacock, Manager at The Red Lion Pub, responded to this review

We do apologise for the long delay that you received during your visit here at The Red Lion. We would like to thank-you for choosing to eat here at The Red lion and do apologise that you did not receive the service we aim to offer all of our customers. Unfortunately we were struggling from the affects of being struck... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 NEW

I ate at The Red Lion with three friends for lunch today, and we all thoroughly enjoyed our meals. There's a wide selection of dishes to choose from on the menu, including all the usual 'pub grub' classics: fish and chips, house burger, ploughmans etc. We each had sandwich/ ciabatta; not the most adventurous of choices but they were all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RedLionLacock, Manager at The Red Lion Pub, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to leave your review here on trip advisor. It is wonderful to hear that the team got it right on this occasion. Hopefully we will see you again soon. More

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 NEW

I live close to Lacock so am visiting on an almost monthly basis. Each time I stop at the Red Lion for a bite to eat and I have never been disappointed. Even during extremely busy times all the staff are friendly and the food arrives within a reasonable time! Definitely worth a visit for those visiting Lacock!

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedLionLacock, Manager at The Red Lion Pub, responded to this review

Thank-you for your lovely review here on Trip advisor. We look forward to seeing you again soon More

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

No food at lunchtime as they were too busy. Very expensive beer and crisps. This was the alternative to the Old Stables and is a National Trust property. Given that the Abbey does not offer food in the grounds this does not offer much to the visitor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedLionLacock, Manager at The Red Lion Pub, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that the message was miscommunicated to you. Unfortunately due unexpectedly high volumes of customers that we had received during this specific lunchtime we had reached a point where we had ran out of all food products. As the wait time was currently 1 hour for food we made the decision to seize food service for... More

Melksham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Well worth a visit, great food cooked by a talented young lady. We have been upset by the standards of food from a number of local pubs in the area recently, we have been searching for something different with good food and an interesting men and a menu that offers variety and tastes yet sits with in the good pub... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedLionLacock, Manager at The Red Lion Pub, responded to this review

Thank-you for your lovely review here on Trip advisor. It was wonderful to chat to you and look forward to seeing you both again soon. More

Paola, Malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Visited Lacock for the day. We were told this was the best place to eat in the village and they were right! Great food, with adequate portion sizes. Service was quick and friendly. A must go if you're in Lacock.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedLionLacock, Manager at The Red Lion Pub, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review here on Trip advisor it was lovely to see that we got it right as a team. Hopefully you will return on your next holiday. More

Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The 'chef' should be ashamed of themselves if they can't even cook a burger properly. It was a dry mint burger in a bun with no sauce and a few chips on the side. I have had better from a burger van! My wife had a lasagne which was tasteless and clearly over microwaved. With so many bad reviews I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RedLionLacock, Manager at The Red Lion Pub, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your food here at The Red Lion. We do host a high volume of customers here at the Red Lion and do have some very positive reviews alongside the negative reviews shown on Trip advisor. We are disappointed to hear that on this occasion you were not given the opportunity... More

Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We wanted to take friends from NZ to a quintessential English pub - the menu was good, but the customer service was fairly dire; having to forage for cutlery ourselves was a bit odd (having already had the food delivered to our table) and made much worse by the behaviour of an older member of staff who did not seem... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedLionLacock, Manager at The Red Lion Pub, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review. It is sad to hear that you were made to believe that here at The Red Lion we believe that we can survive by location only. We take a huge pride in treating everyone who walks through our front door as a loyal customer. I am sorry that the customer service that you received was not... More

Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stopped in on a day tour after walking around the village for a while. I loved the village but there aren't a great deal of options for food and our tour guide recommended the Red Lion after two of the other pubs we stopped in told us that they do not offer lunch anymore. So we were running low... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedLionLacock, Manager at The Red Lion Pub, responded to this review

Thank-you for leaving your review here on Trip Advisor. I hope that you found the time to see all of the sights Lacock Village has to offer. I am sorry to hear that you were made to feel a nuisance I do not think that this was intentional but as we are unaware of who served you we have told... More

Ferndown, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I went into The Red Lion mid-week to enjoy a light lunch and a drink after a full morning taking photos in the village. After placing my food order I sat down in the restaurant to enjoy a very nice cold drink on a hot summer day. My food arrived very quickly and it was first class, so much on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedLionLacock, Manager at The Red Lion Pub, responded to this review

Thank-you for your lovely review. You have appeared to receive experience that we hope all of our customers receive when they visit us here at The Red Lion. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More

Travelers who viewed The Red Lion Pub also viewed

Lacock, Wiltshire
Lacock, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Red Lion Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Lion Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing