We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Waterley Bottom | North Nibley, Dursley GL11 6EF, England
01453 543 659
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for New Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Good for: Scenic view
Description: A traditional country pub nestled in a Cotswold valley along quaint country...
A traditional country pub nestled in a Cotswold valley along quaint country roads. The pub has an expansive garden which was featured in The Sunday Times "Top 10 Pub Gardens" list. With a varied choice of sparkling and still ciders, The New Inn proudly boasts its achievement of being two times winner of the Gloucestershire cider pub of the year award.Visit our website for opening & serving times, menu's and pricing.Advance booking is always recommended.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 33 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 17
    Excellent
  • 3
    Very good
  • 9
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Old Fashioned Pub

A large group of us who went to school in Dursley tend to meet up here for our reunions as it is based at an easy location for most of us to get to. It is a good, old fashioned pub, with a roaring fire, and the pub dog roaming around. Drinks are pretty well priced and there is a... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed December 20, 2015
Judinich
,
Bristol, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

A large group of us who went to school in Dursley tend to meet up here for our reunions as it is based at an easy location for most of us to get to. It is a good, old fashioned pub, with a roaring fire, and the pub dog roaming around. Drinks are pretty well priced and there is a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Judinich
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

Went with friends - who had booked for Sunday Lunch. Some previous reviews made me a little anxious. However, we needn't have worried, The rib of beef was really good. Proper roast beef - not a hint of carvery style cooking. Cooked to perfection served with excellent meat juice gravy and yummy Yorkshire puddings. The veg and potatoes were in... More 

Helpful?
Thank NumOneMum
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015

Go for the cider and service - not the food. £11.95 for a slice of beef, bisto gravy, uncooked veg, and 3 potatoes that needed a chainsaw to cut into them. will not eat there ever again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Shabbie71
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015

Understated country pub. Extremely good pub food. Dinner for two was good value- beautifully cooked steaks. Good selection of cider and beer.

Helpful?
Thank Ranjini H
North Nibley
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015

Three of us popped in for a quick dinner to save cooking. The choice was really good and the food was cooked from scratch as it took about 25 minutes. Served piping hot and heated plates - as I like it. Will go back again.

Helpful?
Thank Cotshill
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

We have been to this pub on and off over many years, from the days when Ruby owned it, and then the French Chef and his English wife ( cant for the life of me remember their names, I'm sure Jackie was one of the names though ), which in our opinion was when the pub was at its best.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Jerry_jane
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015 via mobile

Visited on a Sunday mid April and was looking forward to the roast but was told that it wasn't available unless you've booked. Very disappointed this used to be one of my favourites.

Helpful?
2 Thank John B
TheNewInnWB, Owner at New Inn, responded to this review

Hi John Our policy has always been to reserve roasts for our booked customers. We pride ourselves on our Sunday lunches and believe that reserving a table should not be an inconvenience and avoids any disappointment. We would be embarrassed to have to tell someone who had taken the time to plan ahead and book a table that we had... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015 via mobile

The pub is in a wonderful location, and very off the beaten track, but worth the journey as very beautiful once there. Menu looks ok and I ordered a rib eye steak. The steak looked nicely cooked but on cutting it I found it to be very tough. I persevered as it could have just been one end of it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy M
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Don't try to turn up here for Sunday lunch unless you book ahead. If you don't book ahead the owner is most bad tempered but 'allows' you to choose from the other menuM

Helpful?
1 Thank Judith_pb
TheNewInnWB, Owner at New Inn, responded to this review

Hi Judith Our policy has always been to reserve roasts for customers who book, and we do comment on our website that booking is recommended to avoid disappointment. We stand by this, however, please accept our most sincere apologies for the fact that you felt you were greeted in bad temper. This would never be our intention. Regards The New... More 

Nailsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015 via mobile

Nice pub with average food BUT it is reasonably priced. When I visited with friends there was very little atmosphere and a very poor welcome from the lady behind the bar. We were made to feel like a huge inconvenience to her. The pub is in a lovely location and the beer garden looks ideal for a summer pint.

Helpful?
1 Thank Missa83

Travelers who viewed New Inn also viewed

 
Dursley, Cotswolds
 

Been to New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Waterley Bottom | North Nibley, Dursley GL11 6EF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Dursley
  • Phone Number: 01453 543 659

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Scenic view

Description

A traditional country pub nestled in a Cotswold valley along quaint country roads. The pub has an expansive garden which was featured in The Sunday Times "Top 10 Pub Gardens" list. With a varied choice of sparkling and still ciders, The New Inn proudly boasts its achievement of being two times winner of the Gloucestershire cider pub of the year award.Visit our website for opening & serving times, menu's and pricing.Advance booking is always recommended.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from New Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?