We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mocha Cafe & Diner

11 Central Arcade | Town Centre, Saffron Walden CB10 1ER, England
01799 523 695
Improve this listing
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cuisines: British
Most recent review
- Apr 26, 2014
Restaurant details
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    2
    9
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

A small cafe/restaurant which is really busy. Get yourself a table and then you queue to order your food and also pay up front. Whilst you do this the food is cooking and will arrive quickly once you are seated. I recommend the breakfast which at £6.95 is reasonable and well presented

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nicola s, Owner at Mocha Cafe & Diner, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review the Mocha Cafe, we are pleased you enjoyed your experience and look forward to seeing you again soon. More

UK
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is one of your basic old fashioned cafés, the food here is reasonably priced and good quality. The ice cream sundaes have very nice ice cream. On a side note be careful if you leave the table to order desert or an extra drink as If its half drunk the staff can get a little over enthusiastic and clear... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hertfordshire, england
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

I went here last weekend mainly as everywhere else was busy, we had to wait in a long queue to order our food and wait for coffee, holding up the line further. Having got our coffee back to the table and tried it, we going it was the worst coffee ever, full of grit and really bitter. Our food came... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nicola s, Owner at Mocha Cafe & Diner, responded to this review

We are disappointed you had a poor experience at the mocha cafe. The mocha uses a very good blend of filter coffee and an equally good espresso blend. At the weekend. we use teenage staff to support our full time employees as I believe most catering establishments do. I am dissapointed that you were directed to the back of the... More

Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Yesterday, a Saturday lunchtime as everywhere else was busy with a long wait we gave this cafe a try for a quick bite to eat. They have a varied menu & the all day breakfast seemed their speciality & favourite. Although they were very busy too, with plenty of seating we found a table to ourselves immediately and received our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stopped here after a bike ride to refuel and cool down. The Jersey Mr Whippy-style ice cream hit the spot. It was really smooth and cream. They offer milkshakes which were very popular and they come in many interesting flavours. Definitely worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

As a regular customer I can honestly say that standards are maintained and this wasn't a one off visit. All of our family choose this place first if we want to eat any item that contains bacon. Have it how you want and served with what you want with no fuss. Staff are lovely and cheerful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saffron Walden, UK
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Mocha's service is first rate and the coffee is excellent. An excellent place for breakfast. A wide range of breakfast and snack options and very good ice-cream milk shakes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diss, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Its my husbands breakfast place of choice and has been for over 15years. They serve lovely breakfasts and have many options. The milkshakes are the best around so even if we don't have food there we frequently pop in for a takeaway milkshake.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
london
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Mocha is a hidden cafe in Saffron Walden offering a very varied menu with plenty of seating. It's 100 yards from Costa Coffee but they charge half as much money for the same thing. The atmosphere is cosy, the staff are friendly and the service is very good. They do a great fry up and do a roaring trade most... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Been swimming, want a bacon bap and a mug of tea? This is the place to go for traditional British food, in a pleasant, clean setting, well-cooked at reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Mocha Cafe & Diner also viewed

Saffron Walden, Essex
Saffron Walden, Essex
 
Saffron Walden, Essex
Saffron Walden, Essex
 

Been to Mocha Cafe & Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mocha Cafe & Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing