We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mocha Cafe & Diner

11 Central Arcade | Town Centre, Saffron Walden CB10 1ER, England
01799 523 695
Improve this listing
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cuisines: British
Most recent review
- Sep 18, 2014
Restaurant details
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014 NEW

paid this place a visit for the first time , had a milkshakes for £2.70 really tasty followed by a full english . good value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes
mochacafe, Owner at Mocha Cafe & Diner, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, at the Mocha Cafe we use real dairy ice cream mix which produces thick creamy shakes. Next time your in why not try one of our premium flavours, Banoffe is one of the most popular. More

stansted montfitchett
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014 NEW

wow, what more can one say when the chef actually trys to fulfill a desire for an Aussie Hamburger, by running upstairs to see if he can find any beetroot...sadly no to beetroot, but they do pineapple, and this is better...of course this is my taste in burgers, others have their favourites, and a big choice on the menu board... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mochacafe, Owner at Mocha Cafe & Diner, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The Mocha Cafe will always try to accommodate requests and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Mocha is an overpriced greasy spoon that serves all day breakfasts drippy in fryer fat. Poor veggie options most of which seem to have been tainted the with bacon coming out of the kitchen. Nearly £8 for a decent sized English breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mochacafe, Owner at Mocha Cafe & Diner, responded to this review

The Mocha Cafe & Diner has been trading in Saffron Walden for over 40 years and is family owned. We serve good quality cooked to order food at reasonable prices. The Mocha Cafe breakfast menu starts at £3.60 and rises to £7.60 and includes toast or bread and butter and Mon - Fri Tea or fresh filter coffee is also... More

Winchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

I have lived in and around Saffron Walden my entire life and the Mocha has, and always will be, one of my favourite places to go! The employees are always glad to see you and provide excellent customer service at all times. I am away at university now, but every time I come home I enjoy going to the Mocha... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mochacafe, Owner at Mocha Cafe & Diner, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review the Mocha Cafe. We are happy you choose to use us when in town and look forward to serving you again soon. More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Visited here this Saturday. Ordered 3 hot chocolates, two mochas and an apple juice. Had to order from counter as no table service. When the order was ready I asked for a tray and was told ( by a surly employee), there were no trays due to Health and Safety!! What?? How come McDonalds give you a tray and virtually... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nicola s, Owner at Mocha Cafe & Diner, responded to this review

hello, We pride ourselves on our customer service and first class quick service and excellent quality food. We have traded in Saffron Walden for over 40 years. We have a strong staff team who are all trained to the highest standards. We have never and will never provide table service or give out trays to transport hot drinks from counter... More

Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a great little cafe that serves up lovely food... you order at the counter and they serve your food to the table. I can highly recommend the strawberry milkshake! YUM!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nicola s, Owner at Mocha Cafe & Diner, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review The Mocha Cafe & Diner, we are pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and very much look forward to welcoming you again soon :) Maybe you would be tempted by our "Thick shake of the week" which change weekly and have cream and sprinkles added for FREE !! More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

A small cafe/restaurant which is really busy. Get yourself a table and then you queue to order your food and also pay up front. Whilst you do this the food is cooking and will arrive quickly once you are seated. I recommend the breakfast which at £6.95 is reasonable and well presented

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nicola s, Owner at Mocha Cafe & Diner, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review the Mocha Cafe, we are pleased you enjoyed your experience and look forward to seeing you again soon. More

UK
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is one of your basic old fashioned cafés, the food here is reasonably priced and good quality. The ice cream sundaes have very nice ice cream. On a side note be careful if you leave the table to order desert or an extra drink as If its half drunk the staff can get a little over enthusiastic and clear... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hertfordshire, england
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

I went here last weekend mainly as everywhere else was busy, we had to wait in a long queue to order our food and wait for coffee, holding up the line further. Having got our coffee back to the table and tried it, we going it was the worst coffee ever, full of grit and really bitter. Our food came... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nicola s, Owner at Mocha Cafe & Diner, responded to this review

We are disappointed you had a poor experience at the mocha cafe. The mocha uses a very good blend of filter coffee and an equally good espresso blend. At the weekend. we use teenage staff to support our full time employees as I believe most catering establishments do. I am dissapointed that you were directed to the back of the... More

Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Yesterday, a Saturday lunchtime as everywhere else was busy with a long wait we gave this cafe a try for a quick bite to eat. They have a varied menu & the all day breakfast seemed their speciality & favourite. Although they were very busy too, with plenty of seating we found a table to ourselves immediately and received our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Mocha Cafe & Diner also viewed

Saffron Walden, Essex
Saffron Walden, Essex
 

Been to Mocha Cafe & Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mocha Cafe & Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing