We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Museum Inn

Certificate of Excellence
+ Add cuisine
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Nr Blandford Forum, Farnham DT11 8DE, England
+44 1725 516261
Website
Add hours for The Museum Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Good for:
Families with children
Romance
Large groups
Local cuisine
Special occasions
Entertaining clients
Breakfast/Brunch
Lunch
Dinner
Reservations
Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 114 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 52
    Excellent
  • 27
    Very good
  • 17
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Good quality and prices to match

Visited two nights in a row and made to feel very welcome by the bar staff. We were recommended to book on the second night as they said trade can be unpredictable particularly during the week, when they sometimes find themselves very busy. The food was excellent quality and portion sizes... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed February 23, 2015
lifeandsoul
,
England
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Romance
  • Large groups
  • Local cuisine
  • Special occasions
  • Entertaining clients
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015 NEW

Visited two nights in a row and made to feel very welcome by the bar staff. We were recommended to book on the second night as they said trade can be unpredictable particularly during the week, when they sometimes find themselves very busy. The food was excellent quality and portion sizes ideal. Not a cheap night out and you are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Great overall nothing bad to say usually so giving 5* had one bad meal but everyone else's were mostly good but won't be having burger again! Bring back the 3 way lamb please!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

We were welcomed in to this lovely pub and a table to accommodate us was found for us as it was packed. A good sign for a good pub that provides quality food and service ........ but a cost! This is the second time we have had a meal over the last twelve months. My wife had a Sunday Roast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dorset, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Tempted away to other local eateries and having been really disappointed, I am always relieved to go back to The Museum for lemonade battered squid and Pork belly. Thank you team, once again, for good, quality, plentiful fare!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

We arrived after a long lovely walk , we were places in a separate room as there was 10 of us which was great ... Service was not! Very slow when the food came out I had roast lamb , I had to wait a further 10 minutes for my vegetables. Pudding was hard and chewy it was sticky toffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dorset
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

I'm sorry to say I was disappointed with my meal a couple of weeks ago. My husband and I were dining with friends and I was looking forward to it having experienced a delicious meal many years ago. The group all ordered different meals except myself and husband ordered chicken Kiev. The chicken was very small accompanied by a bucket... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Museum2014, General Manager at The Museum Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review although if you had raised your issues at the time my team would have done all they could to ensure you did not leave feeling the way you did- even if you had said something away form the rest of the group my team would have reacted with discreetness. All... More 

Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Persuaded the family to enjoy a 'pub supper' whilst dropping our daughter back to school on Sunday evening. Had heard good things about this place but probably won't go again. I ordered the butternut squash soup which was more mousse than soup (bread never arrived with this) and the squid greasy. The pigeon and partridge were overlooked and the steak... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Museum2014, General Manager at The Museum Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we were very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy all aspects of the food served. It was very surprising to read about the squid as this is one of our biggest sellers and the most popular dish on our menu. We have never received any complaints about... More 

Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Living locally, five of us popped in on Saturday evening to check out The Museum on a cold January night. We bought drinks at an empty bar, perused some menus and seeing nearby 5 tables empty with no reserved signs, we took our seats and started to choose food. Someone popped in to make up another table but said nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Museum2014, General Manager at The Museum Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review and I am so sorry that you were spoken to the way you were- completely unacceptable and after investigation the person in question has been given a written warning. It is most definitely not the service one would expect from us and all I can do is apologise on her behalf. Although the Pub... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

My boyfriend took me there to celebrate new year. We stayed from 31st of December to 2nd January. The new management is very good.Christine is very friendly. Felt like we were home. 31st night we hit the pub. And then Disco. Wow what an amazing night. We met very interesting people there. The breakfast was really good. And they have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Museum2014, General Manager at The Museum Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing a review- It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are so glad you had a great time! We look forward to seeing you both again in the future Regards Christina and all the team! More 

Ferndown, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015 via mobile

met up with family who live in Wiltshire so as we live in west moors the museum inn was a halfway point. A very nicely decorated inn, but so expensive, £16.50 for a roast which with very little veg and only 3 potatoes is expensive, also the drinks are more like night club prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Museum2014, General Manager at The Museum Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I apologise if you felt your meal was not substantial enough to justify the price charged. As advertised on the menu we only use locally sourced, organic produce and this is therefore reflected in the price charged. We would only want our guests to leave feeling that their meal... More 

Travelers who viewed The Museum Inn also viewed

 
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
Wimborne Saint Giles, Dorset
 

Been to The Museum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Nr Blandford Forum, Farnham DT11 8DE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Farnham
  • Phone Number: +44 1725 516261

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Museum Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?