We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rick Stein's Cafe

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
10 Middle Street, Padstow PL28 8AP, England
+44 (0)1841 532700
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Rick Stein's Cafe and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 760 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 360
    Excellent
  • 195
    Very good
  • 124
    Average
  • 43
    Poor
  • 38
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Great breakfasts

We stayed here see my review! The breakfasts were lovely full English or try the granola with fruit and yogurt it is fabulous. Homemade bread and marmalade delicious

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 22, 2015
dianepb
,
Chester, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
Add Photo Write a Review

760 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wrightington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015 NEW

First time diners at the cafe, and we have to say it was a perfect meal. Fish cake starter, hake main, and choc pud desert. Absolute bliss. Great value for money too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015 NEW

We stayed here see my review! The breakfasts were lovely full English or try the granola with fruit and yogurt it is fabulous. Homemade bread and marmalade delicious

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rushden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
558 reviews 558 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
481 helpful votes 481 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015 NEW via mobile

Do not get me wrong...the staff were a very decent and helpful lot but our food was of a very average offering. It was quite nice....us both having the breakfast which consisted of all the normal stuff including black pudding which was very nice.As for the cafe itself it was quite sweet internally. Done it once.....that will do.visited 21st April... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Visited Rick Steins Cafe for dinner this week during a short break in Padstow. Booked a 6.30pm as I was taking my 5 year old with me. The food was good and the waitress looking after us also efficient and friendly, However, there was a man in a suit who I presume was the manager who greeted every table and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
marlow,england
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015 via mobile

lovely atmosphere and pleasant service in this cosy restaurant but we have visited several times over the years and the menu doesn't seem to change that much, especially the desserts , change the sunken chocolate cake or improve it! the masala mussels had a great flavour but the mussels themselves were split in the shells, not sure if that's normal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

We stayed in Thrift room. Tiny but well equipped above the restaurant. Plenty of stairs to climb. Breakfasts and evening meals were delicious and included in this special break package. Car parking in quay car park to be paid and hotel check in at Rick Steins Seafood Restaurant. Staff helpful, and night porter helped with our early departure due to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burton-on-Trent
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

We didn't know if we'd get in as we hadn't booked. The waitress told us to return a little later and they could accommodate us. Table booked! Food was excellent as expected, friendly service too from a young team of staff with a great sense of humour. We would recommend to anyone, and will visit again ourselves.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ireland
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Me and wife when to Rick Stein's Cafe. We were looking forward in dining there as we had a good experience there 5 years ago. As there was no tables inside we got take to a table out side. We sat there for a good 15 minutes before the waiter even bothered to come to take our order as we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jane R, Guest Relations Manager at Rick Stein's Cafe, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear of your disappointing experience at our café and please accept our apologies. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss this further and if you would like to do so please email feedback@rickstein.com quoting reference number CF1004. Thank you. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Pleasant staff, good food and central location. The menu has a good selection and is reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jane R, Guest Relations Manager at Rick Stein's Cafe, responded to this review

It’s great to hear you had an enjoyable meal and thought the menu was varied and well priced – thank you. More 

Bicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

2 April 2015 We were eating at Rick Stein's. Expectations were high for a really tasty, but simple dinner. We started with bruschetta which was swimming in a pool of olive. Not a very appetising. We followed this with the mussels and squid. The mussels were tiny, I wouldn't have put them on the menu if this was the best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jane R, Guest Relations Manager at Rick Stein's Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we apologise that we did not meet your expectations and were disappointed with the portion sizes. We pride ourselves on the high standard of both food and service we offer and would welcome the opportunity to discuss this further if you would care to do so , please email feedback@rickstein.com quoting reference number CF1003.... More 

Travelers who viewed Rick Stein's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Rick Stein's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 10 Middle Street, Padstow PL28 8AP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Padstow
  • Phone Number: +44 (0)1841 532700

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 50 - 53
  • Cuisine: Indian, Coffee Shop, Seafood, Spanish

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Rick Stein's Cafe and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Thame, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rick Stein's Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?