We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 71 Padstow Restaurants

Rick Stein's Cafe

10 Middle Street, Padstow PL28 8AP, England
+44 (0)1841 532700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 71 Restaurants in Padstow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $52 - $55
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood, Spanish, Café
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    180
    116
    41
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014 NEW via mobile

Simply delightful. I went here solo when in Cornwall for work. I was made to feel very welcome and the cafe had a mixed clientele of families, friends and couples. I was there for lunch so went for one of the specials, modules frites. It was beautiful. Fresh, tastey, and warming on a chilly December afternoon. I had it with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sherborne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

Great cafe, quite cosy. Excellent food, amazing starter of Pad Thai noodles with king prawns, great steak for main course, and lovely desserts (not too big) but very tasty!! Would definetly eat there again and again. I would say booking was essential.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jane R, Guest Relations Manager at Rick Stein's Cafe, responded to this review

What great compliments - thank you. We are so happy you would come back and dine with us again and again! We do appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back again. More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

The restaurant was extremely busy as it is festival week. Service was too slow and the door was constantly left open so all in the party were cold. However, the staff were lovely and the food was excellent apart from the Pondicherry cod curry that was far too hot for the cod. Will come again when not so busy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jane R, Guest Relations Manager at Rick Stein's Cafe, responded to this review

We’re glad to know you will be coming back. Padstow was, as you say, exceptionally busy during the Christmas Festival weekend and I am sorry if this impacted our service levels and you found it a little slow. We have let the Café Manager know your comments about the temperature in the restaurant and our Head Chef regarding the spiciness... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

We stayed in one of the tree rooms they have at the café and it was very nice. Super clean sheets and duvet and the room was very clean. However, I think one of the rooms may be very small, so make sure you get the right one! We did not have lunch or dinner in the restaurant but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jane R, Guest Relations Manager at Rick Stein's Cafe, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the café and we will pass your kind comments on to the housekeeping team. We’re glad you thought there was a good choice on the breakfast menu and that it was value for money. We hope you will visit us again in the future. More 

Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

We enjoyed a set menu - three course lunch in September this year. The venue, food, service, wine was all of the highest standard. It was well worth the wait to get a table. We can still taste the Salt and Pepper prawns - Yum! Compared to many places we visited during our five weeks in the UK, the set... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jane R, Guest Relations Manager at Rick Stein's Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We’re very happy that food and service was of the highest standard and you thought the set menu was good value. It’s good to hear it was a memorable experience for all the right reasons! More 

guildford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

We decided to try the Indian Takeaway on Thursday night - we had the dog with us so dining in was not an option and we thought the menu sounded interesting. The lady ( manager?) who I spoke to when ordering was most helpful and explained the dishes to me on the phone - eg how hot they are. When... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jane R, Guest Relations Manager at Rick Stein's Cafe, responded to this review

Deliciously different dinner – thank you! We’re delighted you enjoyed your takeaway curry from the café and that it surpassed your expectations. It is a shame you don’t live nearer and can’t visit every week! We do allow dogs at our pub The Cornish Arms so it could be an option for you another time. More 

Paignton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

On a trip to Padstow last Friday we decided to go into Rick Steins Cafe for a coffee and a cake. There was only one other table in at the time and four members of staff. Upon entering we took a table and a member of staff came over to welcome us and inform us that the coffee menu was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jane R, Guest Relations Manager at Rick Stein's Cafe, responded to this review

It is very disappointing to read of your recent experience at the Café and is far below the greeting we would expect customers to receive. We have shared this feedback with our Café Manager and please accept our sincere apologies. We very much appreciate your feedback and will look into the matter further. Please email feedback@rickstein.com if you would like... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014 via mobile

So, it's Friday night in winter, and we haven't pre-booked for dinner. We are from Australia, and to be honest Padstow isn't that busy. walked around town and saw the Cafe and thought it looked nice and casual. sign on the door said opens at 6, we were 15 mins early, although several staff were sitting inside chatting with their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jane R, Guest Relations Manager at Rick Stein's Cafe, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear you weren’t offered a table at our café and please accept our sincere apologies. We have advised our Café Manager of the difficulties you encountered and if you would like to discuss this further please do contact us by email at feedback@rickstein.com More 

Deal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

Having visited the cafe before we were keen to try Thursday curry night and we weren't disappointed. The food was beautifully cooked and presented, could find no fault with it. The only downside was the waiter who had no knowledge of the menu and had to ask the chefs any questions we had, there is only 3 main dishes so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jane R, Guest Relations Manager at Rick Stein's Cafe, responded to this review

Rick will be delighted that you enjoyed our curry night at Stein’s Café and that we met your expectations. We are sorry if the waiter wasn’t able to answer your questions – staff training is high on our list of priorities so we will be looking again at this with the team but we are so glad you found the... More 

bucks
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

An atmospheric place to eat, service was good but we were squashed together like sardines with strangers. OK if you are outgoing and not deaf. The food was well cooked and tasty, however I have tasted much better fish and chips and eaten larger portions for less money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jane R, Guest Relations Manager at Rick Stein's Cafe, responded to this review

It’s good to hear the food was good but I am sorry you felt the table spacing was too close and too noisy. We have shared your feedback with our Café Manager who will look to see if any improvements can be made to the seating arrangements. Thank you. More 

Travelers who viewed Rick Stein's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Rick Stein's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rick Stein's Cafe

Address: 10 Middle Street, Padstow PL28 8AP, England
Phone Number: +44 (0)1841 532700
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Padstow
Average Prices: USD 52 - 55
Cuisine: Indian, Seafood, Spanish, Café

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rick Stein's Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?