We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 71 Padstow Restaurants

St Petroc's Bistro

4 New Street, Padstow PL28 8EA, England
01841 532700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 71 Restaurants in Padstow
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Cuisines: Seafood, Brasserie, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    190
    124
    50
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014 NEW

This was an informal family meal with five children, three under six years. The venue was very nice and we all enjoyed our meal. However the children's menu was very disappointing, sausage and chips, fish and chips etc normal rubbish - come on Rick I'm sure you could do better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

This is a very nice restaurant, the food was very good but a pity that the service was so slow. It took half an hour for our starter to arrive and another half an hour or more for the main. We had to ask for the dessert menu which was not forthcoming despite us being the last customers. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jane R, Guest Relations Manager at St Petroc's Bistro, responded to this review

We are glad you will be visiting us again and that the staff were charming. We are sorry that the service was slow and that you weren’t offered a dessert menu. We have let the restaurant manager know, as we usually pride ourselves on good service, and we were obviously not up to our usual standard on this occasion. Please... More 

London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

Steaks are great, cooked perfectly and with sauces to match. Non-steak menu is limited but also very good. Note this is a hotel bistro, not any kind of alternative to Rick's Seafood Restaurant (where everything is first class always). Worth a visit and cheaper though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jane R, Guest Relations Manager at St Petroc's Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for recommending St Petroc’s Bistro and it is good to hear your steaks were perfectly cooked. We like to serve classic Bistro dishes at St Petroc’s and are pleased you enjoyed your meal with us. We are also very happy to know everything is always first class at The Seafood Restaurant! More 

Sherborne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Fabulous food, we had fish, but there was steak on the menu. The chef had written happy birthday in chocolate on a biscuit on my husbands dessert, very nice touch I hadn't realised they knew it was his birthday!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jane R, Guest Relations Manager at St Petroc's Bistro, responded to this review

Fabulous review! Thank you. We are so pleased your husband enjoyed his birthday at St Petroc’s Bistro. More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

The food was good but not as ggod as their Seafood Restaurant. I had the scallops to start with and I believe they were smaller than the ones we had in the Seafood Restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jane R, Guest Relations Manager at St Petroc's Bistro, responded to this review

We’re glad to hear the food at the Bistro was good but sorry if you were disappointed with the scallops and we’ll pass this feedback on to our Head Chef. More 

cornwall
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Superb value lunch and what a busy place it is, but the young team are excellent at their job and make you welcome. Nothing is too much trouble, seating and bar area comfortable . The menu is good bistro food with, as you would expect, lots of local produce.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jane R, Guest Relations Manager at St Petroc's Bistro, responded to this review

What a great review – we do appreciate your feedback. We always use local produce and good bistro food is what we strive to achieve. It’s lovely to hear the team took great care of you and made you so welcome – thank you. More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

We were disappointed with our visit to the Bistro. The food was OK but nothing special. However, my wife ordered the kidneys for a starter and you had to search extensively to find any and it was served on soggy toast! It is all very pretentious and formal, and while formality can be nice, it would also be nice to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jane R, Guest Relations Manager at St Petroc's Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback and we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We have shared your comments with our Head Chef regarding your wife’s starter and we apologise if you found the atmosphere too formal, the Bistro is generally a more informal environment but I am sorry if you did not find this to be the... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Went with friends in November. Staff ok but some were not very friendly and felt like they didn't want to be there. Both my husband and I are vegetarian and we could only have one choice with a minor change to one of them. I know it's mainly a seafood place but we want to enjoy a good meal too!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jane R, Guest Relations Manager at St Petroc's Bistro, responded to this review

We do apologise that your visit to the Bistro was only “OK” and that you found the service disappointing and the vegetarian options limited. We have shared your comments with our Head Chef and also our Restaurant Manager regarding the noise factor and we will look into this to see if there is any way we can make improvements. Thank... More 

Croydon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
599 reviews 599 reviews
325 restaurant reviews
1,041 helpful votes 1,041 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

it felt a bit like being fed rather than dining out, and service was slow if friendly. Two hours for a routine 3 course meal was too long. We felt the noisy kitchen could not cope with a less than full restaurant on a Monday night in December. the restaurant has no ambiance. has Rick Stein taken his eye off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jane R, Guest Relations Manager at St Petroc's Bistro, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear of your disappointing evening at the Bistro and we have informed our Restaurant Manager and Head Chef about this. If you would like to discuss this further please email feedback@rickstein.com. We pride ourselves on both the food and service we provide and apologise that we have let ourselves down on this occasion. More 

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

I have eating here for several years and it used to be a really pleasant alternative to the Seafood Restaurant as the dishes were quite varied and the quality was exceptional with the dishes correctly described on the menu but this time the menu said 'Rabbit with Chestnuts' when it arrived it was several bits of rabbit in a pile... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jane R, Guest Relations Manager at St Petroc's Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are pleased to hear you have been a regular customer for several years. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the food served and how it was described on the menu. Feedback is so very important to us and I have shared your comments with the Head Chef and Restaurant... More 

Travelers who viewed St Petroc's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to St Petroc's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Petroc's Bistro

Address: 4 New Street, Padstow PL28 8EA, England
Phone Number: 01841 532700
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Padstow
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm  6:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Monday 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm  6:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Tuesday 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm  6:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm  6:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Thursday 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm  6:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm  6:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm  6:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Cuisine: Seafood, Brasserie, Bistro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from St Petroc's Bistro staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?