We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The London Inn

$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Lanadwell Street, Padstow PL288AN, England
01841532554
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for The London Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 167 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 51
    Excellent
  • 54
    Very good
  • 26
    Average
  • 18
    Poor
  • 18
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Good burgers

We found it hard to find somewhere to eat in Padstow on a busy summer evening and really this wouldn't have been our first choice but we were getting hungry. The pub is old with low ceilings and fairly dark inside but is what you expect from this type of place. I ordered steak and ale pie with... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed August 17, 2015
trustingh
,
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015

Popped in for drink to avoid a passing shower and want a disappointment. Young girl behind bar seemed like she wanted to be anyway but there, a cheery welcome it certainly wasn't....then found out that several of ales were off as they'd run out of stock...weren't they expecting many people in middle of August!!! Place had a very tired appearance... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thelondoninn, Landlord at The London Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your compliments on our wonderful display of flowers and pleased we were handy for you to pop in out of rain. Yes we were expecting a lot of people during the middle of August and yes some of our Real Ales were settling as it was extremely busy the night before and our Brewery delivery was unavoidable... More 

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015

Called in for a pint for old time sake with my brother having visited many times over a period in excess of 40 years. Service shocking welcome zero. General cleanliness very poor. Lovely old pub being seriously let down by management and staff. 'Shape up or ship out'' is the phrase that comes to mind !

Was this review helpful? Yes
thelondoninn, Landlord at The London Inn, responded to this review

The Pub as I am sure you can appreciated has changed as indeed has Padstow over the last 40 years. We are now extremely busy with a lot more throughput as the years have gone on. The Pub is cleaned everyday and is pristine condition at opening time. But as mentioned before the throughput has increased to included large families,... More 

Yelverton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015

Great pub full of wonderful nautical kitsch. Good beer and cheerful service. Not tried the food but it looks good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
thelondoninn, Landlord at The London Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your compliments on our beer and service and pleased you found The London Inn interesting. If you visit us again hopefully you will have time to sample of our delightful dishes we have on our menu. More 

Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

Sadly the London in has lost a lot of what made it great. Poor service and expensive food and drinks. Clearly caught up the whole "Padstein" thing. £50 for 2 salads, 2 children's meals, 1 beer, one medium wine and 2 bottles of orange. We used to use it regularly, not any more

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thelondoninn, Landlord at The London Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you were disappointed with your experience at The London Inn in "Padstow" on this occasion. We are a family with three children so are very aware of our pricing structure. Our food prices are very competitive and we are not caught up with anyone's influence in the town. Our wet sales are determined by The Brewery and... More 

kent
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

This public house never lets us down, my family and I were staying in Padstow and have visited the London Inn before and food was great so we decided to visit again and was not disappointed. We were so pleased with the service and food that we actually went back another two times!! I had scallops which were cooked to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thelondoninn, Landlord at The London Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are really pleased you enjoyed our freshly prepared food and service and thank you for your comments regarding patience. Yes we are a Traditional Pub and very proud of that fact. Our produce is sourced as locally as possible. Our fish and crab is delivered fresh daily from St Ives. Our... More 

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

We found it hard to find somewhere to eat in Padstow on a busy summer evening and really this wouldn't have been our first choice but we were getting hungry. The pub is old with low ceilings and fairly dark inside but is what you expect from this type of place. I ordered steak and ale pie with mash and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thelondoninn, Landlord at The London Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting The London Inn. Yes there usually is a wait for food when it 's really busy so thank you for your patience. We are pleased you found our food tasty and you liked the fresh veggies but sorry you were disappointed with the mash. Great your group loved our burgers which are made on the premises... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

We were looking for fresh seafood for lunch and couldn't have found anything better. The 'mussels mania' was amazing!!! Mussels, crab, scallops and langoustines all in an amazing sauce. Highly recommended! If I was going to make an improvement to the dish it would be to add a large chunk of bread on the side to mop up the lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thelondoninn, Landlord at The London Inn, responded to this review

Great you enjoyed our Mussels Mania and that you highly recommend this dish of fabulous deliciousness with all fresh ingredients. Thank you for hint of a large chuck of bread - great stuff to mop up sauces that your really enjoying. More 

Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

We dropped in here for lunch while in Padstow. We ordered goujons and chips for our daughters which were OK, and my wife and i ordered sandwiches. Mine was ok, but my wifes had hard bread, but she didnt want to complain so ate them anyway, and they were expensive for what they were. Otherwise it seemed like a nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thelondoninn, Landlord at The London Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for calling into The London Inn for lunch. I am so sorry you found the sandwiches not to your liking and a shame you did not say anything at the time as we could have sorted this out for your wife. But thank you also for liking our pub. We hope you enjoyed your holiday. More 

London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

We have eaten there twice now. It is a smallish old style pub B&B. There appeared to be a shortage of staff the last time we visited as service was a bit slow. There is always a selection of fresh seafood available. We shared some salt & pepper squid which was ok; my partner had crab salad that she felt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thelondoninn, Landlord at The London Inn, responded to this review

Your comments were very welcomed. Yes there has been a shortage of staff this season and we apologise for any problems which this incurred to your visit. Thank you also for your observations on our food and very pleased you enjoyed your meals and our local beer and cider. Our aim is to serve good quality fresh fish cooked to... More 

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015 via mobile

While on a day trip to Padstow we tripped upon this quaint little pub for a spot of lunch, having been steined out ! we thought we would find something that didn't involve seafood we weren't disappointed, there was plenty of tables and even a sun terrace to choose from, we sat inside and grabbed a menu, considering we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thelondoninn, Landlord at The London Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for finding our prices reasonable and pleased you enjoyed our food also thank you for considering eating here again should you visit Padstow. Staffing has been a problem for us this season as with other places you mentioned in Cornwall. We hope you enjoyed your day trip to Padstow and thank you for calling... More 

Travelers who viewed The London Inn also viewed

 

Been to The London Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Lanadwell Street, Padstow PL288AN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Padstow
  • Phone Number: 01841532554

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 10 - 25
  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The London Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The London Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?