We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bank House

Certificate of Excellence
$$$
British, Contemporary, Brasserie
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Bank House Hotel, Bar & Brasserie | King's Staithe Square, King's Lynn, England
01553-66-04-92
Website
This restaurant is at Bank House Hotel
Add hours for The Bank House and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 172 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 59
    Excellent
  • 76
    Very good
  • 22
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Interesting menu-but not the largest choice

I just wanted to say I was quite concerned as to the level of service we were going to get,after reading the reviews.Six of us went on a Friday evening,it was fairly busy.We were greeted and served very well.The menu wasn't huge-a bit disappointing no chicken main course.Menu interesting,not too... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 6, 2015
Tracy705
,
norfolk
Good for:
  • Bar scene
  • Entertaining clients
  • Special occasions
  • Local cuisine
  • Families with children
  • Doing business
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

Went with a small group. I think they forgot about us - as some 35 minutes after arriving we had to ask for our orders to be taken. When the food did arrive it was excellent and-, for a city centre restaurant, well priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeannette G, Owner at The Bank House, responded to this review

Dear Busyaccountant Thank you for your review of your recent meal at Bank House. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food, which we take great pride in, and felt the pricing was right. I am very sorry to hear that you felt the quality of the service did not match that of the food. We normally pride... More 

norfolk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

I just wanted to say I was quite concerned as to the level of service we were going to get,after reading the reviews.Six of us went on a Friday evening,it was fairly busy.We were greeted and served very well.The menu wasn't huge-a bit disappointing no chicken main course.Menu interesting,not too fancy.We were very pleased with our main courses-my skinny burger... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KIng's Lynn
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

A sunny bank holiday, sat in the decking area with life passing us by. Whitney our waitress was pleasant and charming. We had a lovely meal which was tasty and with quick service. What a nice way to end a lovely day. Kings Lynn has so much to offer the visitor and you won't be disappointed by eating at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015 via mobile

I have been to the Bank House several times as it offers good value, a relaxed environment and good food. The mix of Designers' Guild furniture and light and airy rooms makes it one of the best looking restaurants in Lynn. It's conveniently located on the Quay too where you can often park for free in the evenings. On my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

We arrived here to meet clients on their recommendation as a good setting for this type of meeting. We wanted to make it informal and chat about things whilst having lunch. We arrived and found nowhere to park and decided to take a flyer by driving past the restaurant. We caught sight of a small blue P and happily this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

Me and my boyfriend popped in here on a Wednesday evening after a trip to the coast, we arrived at about 18:00 and we hadn't booked. Dinner didn't start until 18:30 so we sat and had a drink first. When we were seated we were the only ones in the restaurant but it soon filled up so I would recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Stopped off here for a Sunday evening meal during our Easter breakaway & have to say the food was very good, just a great shame the table service on the night was so so poor. Much in line with with other recent reviews!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeannette G, Owner at The Bank House, responded to this review

Dear FL Thank you for your review of your recent meal at Bank House. I am very sorry to hear that you did not feel the service was what it should have been. We normally pride ourselves on our friendly, welcoming and efficient staffing. Clearly on this occasion we slipped up. The situation on that evening has been looked in... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

My family and I decided to have afternoon tea on good friday. My family and I decided to have afternoon tea on good friday. The food was excellent! There was a good selection of sandwiches. The scones were delicious, as were the rest of the cakes. However, the service was terrible! I had to get up from the table on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeannette G, Owner at The Bank House, responded to this review

Dear Chloe Thank you for your review of the afternoon tea you had with your family. I am very sorry to hear that the service was so unsatisfactory. We normally pride ourselves at Bank House on courteous and efficient service, and our friendly, welcoming staff. It seems on this occasion that we failed badly, and did not meet our normal... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

The bank House over look the Customs House and river very nice on a sunny day. Sunday lunch all the food was cooked to our liking , the portions for starter and main course were generous but the sweet was very small. The price was acceptable and overall we enjoyed every thing , will return in the summer .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeannette G, Owner at The Bank House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us at Bank House, and hope you will come and join us again soon. Best wishes Jeannette More 

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

We attended a meal for a friends birthday, service was slow and nobody served the table with drinks, we had to go to the bar for drinks. Meal was overcooked and presentation on plate was dreadful. People within our party has to send meals back to be re-cooked. Over priced. Will not be visiting again in a hurry. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeannette G, Owner at The Bank House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your February visit to Bank House. We are always grateful to guests who take the time to write a review. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your visit. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food and the friendliness and efficiency of our service. Clearly on this occasion you did feel either came... More 

Travelers who viewed The Bank House also viewed

King's Lynn, Norfolk
King's Lynn, Norfolk
 
King's Lynn, Norfolk
 

Been to The Bank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Bank House Hotel, Bar & Brasserie | King's Staithe Square, King's Lynn, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  King's Lynn
  • Phone Number: 01553-66-04-92

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 16 - 47
  • Cuisine: British, Contemporary, Brasserie

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Bar scene, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Doing business

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bank House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?