We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
41 Charnham Street, Hungerford RG17 0EL, England
+44 1488 682512
Website
Add hours for The Bear and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Bear was refurbished in November 2013 and has a fantatsic Restaurant...
The Bear was refurbished in November 2013 and has a fantatsic Restaurant and large Bar area. Food is served everyday 11am until 10pm.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 90 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 14
    Excellent
  • 17
    Very good
  • 14
    Average
  • 12
    Poor
  • 33
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    2.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Very disappointing indeed only saved by the marvellous company of our very best friends.

Welcomed by sulllen receptionist to a very cold reception area.The food was Luke warm to cold and my rump steak was I fear no such thing.Cod loins almost certainly frozen and were cold when served Bakewell tart also cold though said to be"as warm as chef could make it without it falling apart" So... read more

2 of 5 starsReviewed March 17, 2015
keithglenny
,
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Reservations
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015 NEW

We were back at The Bear again over the weekend but this time it was very special as we were celebrating our first wedding anniversary, very wonderful memories of being there 12 months ago. We were greeted with congratulation hugs from Roger and both he and the team made our stay so warm and welcoming. The staff were extremely busy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015 NEW

Three of us found ourselves in Hungerford one evening for the first time and were looking for somewhere to have a drink and a meal. The Bear was close and despite seeing some disappointingly negative reviews on TripAdvisor we decided to give it a try and didn't regret it. This isn't a fine-dining restaurant but the prices reflect that. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Bear, responded to this review

Hi Colin, Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased you enjoyed your meal with us and weren't put off by previous reviews. We hope you found a real ale that suited you and that if you are visiting Hungerford for a second time that you come and see us. Kind Regards Roger and Team Bear More 

Great Bookham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

This was one of the worst meals and restaurant experiences that I have ever had. The receptionist was rude and cheerless - we were quite obviously a nuisance. She is one of the most unpleasant and rude people we have ever come across. The restaurant and bar area was cold; the ladies was cold; but most unacceptable was the fact... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Bear, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are saddened that you did not enjoy your visit with us and also disappointed that you did not feel able to mention any problems whilst you were here to enable us to rectify them. More 

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Welcomed by sulllen receptionist to a very cold reception area.The food was Luke warm to cold and my rump steak was I fear no such thing.Cod loins almost certainly frozen and were cold when served Bakewell tart also cold though said to be"as warm as chef could make it without it falling apart" So disappointing when the hotel was such... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Bear, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, without which were are unable to improve our offer to our guests both regular (we have been open as an Old English Inn for 18 months) and the not so frequent (not in the last 10 years) The Bear has undergone 3 changes of ownership since your last visit and things are not necessarily how... More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Haven't been here for ages. It used to be a nice place to have a moderately decent lunch, not spectacular but okay. Went there yesterday and was truly horrified. The staff were friendly and helpful so couldn't fault them but the menu choice and the food when it arrived was quite disgusting. I haven't had such a revolting meal out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Bear, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are unable to improve our offer without feedback. It was a shame you were unable to bring any niggles to our attention whilst you were here. More 

Hungerford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Great spot in the middle of Hungerford town, decent selection of drinks, standard food, service a little disinterested though. It is never good to feel like an inconvenience. Will return and hope to feel a bit more wanted as it is quite close to us.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Bear, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed it, we have reiterated the importance of customer interaction with the waitresses concerned. More 

Milton under wychwood
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

We recently stayed for 2 nights at the Bear and found no evidence of the negative reviews relating to the staff. On arrival we were welcomed by Caroline who was friendly, efficient and helpful and gave an excellent first impression of the Hotel - a credit to the Bear! The room was warm and comfortable, breakfasts great and we enjoyed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Bear, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, Caroline is delighted to have been of help and we are all pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us. Kind Regards Team Bear More 

Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Well, many tables had empty glasses and bottles on, we found a suitable table,once cleared. Ordered three meals which were the same!. Started arrived with a waitress not wearing a smile, nearly losing the mushrooms. Main Course arrived in a timely fashion, but three different portion size's. We then cleared the table, set the dirty crockery on the bar, having... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Bear, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us here at The Bear, without your valuable feedback we cannot improve. Kind Regards Team Bear More 

Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Looking forward to a special Valentines meal but it was a big disappointment. Food was cold, service was slow and the quality of food was poor. It was a very full restaurant and it felt on the night that they just couldn't cope

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Bear, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, without which we are unable to improve our offer. We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit with us and hope to have a opportunity to rectify the situation soon., We take on board your comments and the relevant team members are working to improve their customer service skills. Kind Regards Team Bear More 

Reading, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

I struggle to understand why anyone would choose the Bear over the infinitely better John O'Gaunt across the road. The food is cheap but not great quality, the beer is poor, and the service is awful. The staff seem to think they are doing you a favour by giving your cutlery, napkins and condiments to accompany your meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Bear, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Bear and advertise the John O Gaunt all at the same time. More 

Travelers who viewed The Bear also viewed

Hungerford, Berkshire
 
Hungerford, Berkshire
Hungerford, Berkshire
 

Been to The Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 41 Charnham Street, Hungerford RG17 0EL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Hungerford
  • Phone Number: +44 1488 682512

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British

Description

The Bear was refurbished in November 2013 and has a fantatsic Restaurant and large Bar area. Food is served everyday 11am until 10pm.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bear staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?