We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
41 Charnham Street, Hungerford RG17 0EL, England
+44 1488 682512
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for The Bear and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Bear was refurbished in November 2013 and has a fantatsic Restaurant...
The Bear was refurbished in November 2013 and has a fantatsic Restaurant and large Bar area. Food is served everyday 11am until 10pm.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 96 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 14
    Excellent
  • 18
    Very good
  • 15
    Average
  • 15
    Poor
  • 34
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    2.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Burnt, Cheap and nasty quality Children's Burger meal.

Thought I would give this place another go as had previously had a poor quality meal there with family and this visit was no different. I took my Son for lunch as it was local and not very busy compared with other places in the area on a Saturday lunchtime, We ordered a children's Big Cheesy... read more

2 of 5 starsReviewed April 19, 2015
Adam M
,
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015 NEW via mobile

Went for a bar meal wuth our two children. My husband's fush and chips came out very crispy and dry. We complained they then bought out his replacement meal but myself and children had finished ours! They did send a large piece of fish, but sadly had just refried his original chips. The fish was tasteless. My husband refused to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hungerford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015 NEW

Thought I would give this place another go as had previously had a poor quality meal there with family and this visit was no different. I took my Son for lunch as it was local and not very busy compared with other places in the area on a Saturday lunchtime, We ordered a children's Big Cheesy Burger from the Kids... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Bear, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, our Under 7's Kids menu is currently under review, parking is only charged Mon-Fri 11-5. This is £2.50 which is then redeemed against purchases of £10 or more. Kind Regards Team Bear More 

Marlborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

I'd only been back to the Bear once before since Greene King became the latest owner and had heard mixed reviews so a business meeting over lunch seemed like a great opportunity to make up my own mind. I'd not parked there last time so discovering it would cost £2.50 to pay and display in an understandably near empty car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Bear, responded to this review

Thank you for your thorough review of the car park. Kind Regards Team Bear More 

Marlborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

The food here's not at all bad - a good choice, reasonably quality and not expensive. The problem was the wait. It took 1/2 hour for our starter to arrive (just bread and oil!). It took 2 hours to complete our family lunch - if this was a 5 star restaurant that would be acceptable but it isn't even close.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Bear, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are sorry we did not match your expectations on this visit. Your feedback is valuable to us in order to coach the team both Kitchen and Waiting staff in the importance of quality and speed and as such , there have been some communication and procedural changes as a result... More 

Tavistock, Devon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

I don't want to want to waste time on this review, but the menu we were given was stuck together with the remains of the previous customer's drink, the table was filthy and the food lacked any sort of care and attention. We won't be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, brand at The Bear, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, with out such feedback we are unable to improve our offer More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Whilst staying in Hungerford we visited The Bear through the day to get a general overview of the premises. Bar staff were friendly and the menu looked good. We later returned for an evening meal. So glad we did, the meal was lovely, piping hot. Waitress polite and friendly. Loved the historical pictures and the general atmosphere. Would recommend. Just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Bear, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit with us. Kind Regards Team Bear More 

Berkshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

We were back at The Bear again over the weekend but this time it was very special as we were celebrating our first wedding anniversary, very wonderful memories of being there 12 months ago. We were greeted with congratulation hugs from Roger and both he and the team made our stay so warm and welcoming. The staff were extremely busy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Bear, responded to this review

Hi Julie and Matt, Thank you for allowing us to share your first wedding anniversary with us here, we were delighted to see you back and enjoyed every minute of your stay, we just need to be mindful of the Tequila Rose when we next see you....... Kind Regards Roger and Team Bear More 

Bath
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Three of us found ourselves in Hungerford one evening for the first time and were looking for somewhere to have a drink and a meal. The Bear was close and despite seeing some disappointingly negative reviews on TripAdvisor we decided to give it a try and didn't regret it. This isn't a fine-dining restaurant but the prices reflect that. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Bear, responded to this review

Hi Colin, Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased you enjoyed your meal with us and weren't put off by previous reviews. We hope you found a real ale that suited you and that if you are visiting Hungerford for a second time that you come and see us. Kind Regards Roger and Team Bear More 

Great Bookham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

This was one of the worst meals and restaurant experiences that I have ever had. The receptionist was rude and cheerless - we were quite obviously a nuisance. She is one of the most unpleasant and rude people we have ever come across. The restaurant and bar area was cold; the ladies was cold; but most unacceptable was the fact... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Bear, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are saddened that you did not enjoy your visit with us and also disappointed that you did not feel able to mention any problems whilst you were here to enable us to rectify them. More 

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Welcomed by sulllen receptionist to a very cold reception area.The food was Luke warm to cold and my rump steak was I fear no such thing.Cod loins almost certainly frozen and were cold when served Bakewell tart also cold though said to be"as warm as chef could make it without it falling apart" So disappointing when the hotel was such... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Bear, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, without which were are unable to improve our offer to our guests both regular (we have been open as an Old English Inn for 18 months) and the not so frequent (not in the last 10 years) The Bear has undergone 3 changes of ownership since your last visit and things are not necessarily how... More 

Travelers who viewed The Bear also viewed

Hungerford, Berkshire
 
Hungerford, Berkshire
Hungerford, Berkshire
 

Been to The Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 41 Charnham Street, Hungerford RG17 0EL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Hungerford
  • Phone Number: +44 1488 682512

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British

Description

The Bear was refurbished in November 2013 and has a fantatsic Restaurant and large Bar area. Food is served everyday 11am until 10pm.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bear staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?