We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Poets Rest

Chapel Street, Slane, Ireland (Formerly The Poet's Rest)
+353 41 982 0738
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Slane
Price range: $6 - $30
Hours:
Sun 12:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Wed - Sat 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Cuisines: American, European, Asian fusion
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Established in 2011, The New Poet's Rest fuses classic and modern cuisine in a casual and contemporary setting. Newly refurbished in 2014 with revamped menus with all time favourites and new additions of our own invention, we have something for everyone. Whether it's a quiet night out for two, or a bigger occasion, we cater to all. Dietary requirements can be met also. Bookings or walk ins.
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Established in 2011, The New Poet's Rest fuses classic and modern cuisine in a casual and contemporary setting. Newly refurbished in 2014 with revamped menus with all time favourites and new additions of our own invention, we have something for everyone. Whether it's a quiet night out for two, or a bigger occasion, we cater to all. Dietary requirements can be met also. Bookings or walk ins.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    24
    10
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014 NEW

Good food and a warm welcome. Only one small issue, no mashed potato and no custard on the first night we visited (what's all that about). Didn't prevent us going back again though. We did arrive with no reservation and they coped really well with our party of 12. Cheers guys!

Was this review helpful? Yes
MattMcGGG, Manager at The Poets Rest, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to let us know how you got on. Apologies that you didn't have all your mash and custard needs met, can't imagine why... Our chefs have the biggest biceps from mashing spuds and whisking eggs for custard, so we can't understand why you went without, but we'll get to the bottom of it.... More

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Had a meal on Saturday night here the food and service is excellent I particularly like the way your steak is served on a hot stone so you get your steak just the way you like it, disappointed with the decor on the inside as the outside looks so quant it's called the forge so I think the entrance to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MattMcGGG, Manager at The Poets Rest, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review. We're delighted you enjoyed your steak on the stone, just one of the things we're famous for. Bit confused about the name "the forge"? Sorry to hear you didn't like the decor, we did refurbish in February this year and it's the first time it's been described as drab. Still, we take... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our meal here. The food was just fabulous and the service was excellent. The food was served hot and the wait wasn't bad at all. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and had plenty of time for the kids. Great menu, great kids menu too and great service. Cannot say enough about The Poets rest. Well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MattMcGGG, Manager at The Poets Rest, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for the kind words. Always great to hear when people have enjoyed it. Don't be a stranger! More

Oakland, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We had an excellent meal. Crab claws, stir fry, Calimari, pizza, and lamb - the diversity of the menu is impressive, if a bit odd. The dessert was the highlight - "Mississippi Mud Pie" really wasn't mud pie at all, but was a terrific hot chocolate fudge cake. It was terrific. The lemon merengue pie was also excellent. Certainly worth... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MattMcGGG, Manager at The Poets Rest, responded to this review

Hi Guys, I remember your visit, you were a pleasure to serve and we really appreciate this honest opinion and review, thank you so much. Here's hoping you come back if you're in Slane again in the future. Matt. More

Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I think these guys may have thought we were joking when we walked in and asked if they had a table for 23.....but they re-arranged part of the restaurant for us and I have to say both the food and the service was stunning. They really looked after us, and I was extremely pleasantly surprised at the bill. Great value,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MattMcGGG, Manager at The Poets Rest, responded to this review

Well, it's the welly brigade! Thanks so much for the kind words, we were a little surprised to get a party of 23 without a booking, but delighted we could accommodate you. We're also over the moon you were so happy with the food and service. Your party was a genuine delight to serve. We hope you come back soon.... More

Monaghan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Pleasantly surprised is what I can say about this place. The food was excellent and even though the place was busy the wait for our food was minimal. Friendly staff and nocturnal to watch the chefs preparing the food

Was this review helpful? Yes
MattMcGGG, Manager at The Poets Rest, responded to this review

HI, Thanks so much for your review, we're delighted you enjoyed your visit. More and more people are becoming pleasantly surprised by what we have to offer, which can only be a good thing! We look forward to seeing you back again soon, Matt and the team. More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Came across The Poet's Rest by sheer chance on the way home from a day out in Drogheda. It looked lovely from the outside and not even having time to look at any reviews we decided to take a chance. The inside was just as nice so we had a good feeling about it straight away. We were given menus... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MattMcGGG, Manager at The Poets Rest, responded to this review

Hi there, First of all, thank you for taking the time to review us. It's a great review and we're delighted that over all you were happy, more importantly happy enough to come back again soon. Interesting point you make about the lemon meringue, one that we've discussed in house after reading your review. It's honest reviews like this one... More

ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We regularly dine in The Poets Rest as the food is fabulous ,we just keep coming back! The restaurant is modern,spacious & classy .The staff are friendly & efficient, can't do enough for you .That's why we keep coming back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
MattMcGGG, Manager at The Poets Rest, responded to this review

Thanks for the great feedback, we always appreciate when happy customers leave recommendations for future customers. More than that thought, we're delighted you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to seeing you back really soon. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Having always liked eating in The Poet's Rest, it was no surprise that the food was great. They'd always impressed me with their quantity but most importantly their quality of the food being served. This visit was no different in the food department, the standard was amazing. The difference came in the form of management and decor. It is difficult... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MattMcGGG, Manager at The Poets Rest, responded to this review

Well there's a great review, will make sure I hang on to my new position! It's great to see the business from both sides, and even better to hear great feedback. We'll have your table ready for you on Wednesday! Matt More

Navan, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Had the pleasure of having dinner in the Poets Rest Slane this evening. Lovely service and above all lovely food. The restaurant is tastefully decorated, with plenty of space to cater for small or large groups. The service was excellent and as for the food second to none. Great value for early bird menu at 19.95 euro and generous portions.The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed The Poets Rest also viewed

 
Slane, County Meath
Slane, County Meath
 

Been to The Poets Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Poets Rest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing