We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Thatch

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Main Street, Killeagh, Ireland
+3532495116
Add hours for The Old Thatch and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Lovely authentic thatched Irish pub, serving quality, local, bistro type...
Lovely authentic thatched Irish pub, serving quality, local, bistro type food at affordable prices
read more
Good for:
Families with children
Local cuisine
Dining on a budget

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 93 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 56
    Excellent
  • 22
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
A good place to eat

Good food, friendly and attentive staff always willing to please...a visit to The Old Thatch is a must if passing through the village of Killeagh

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 1, 2015
John H
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Local cuisine
  • Dining on a budget
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 NEW

Good food, friendly and attentive staff always willing to please...a visit to The Old Thatch is a must if passing through the village of Killeagh

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015 NEW

After passing the old thatch so many times while working. I eventually had the opportunity to call on one of my days off, and glad I did. As a truck driver we tend to look for quality at a reasonable price. Me and my wife started with chowder, and we were both very pleased. Our main course was beef, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015 NEW

Had a family lunch recently and must say really enjoyed it.The service was very good on a busy day,starters and mains were really good. If I had to pick a fault and this is with most restaurants the deserts are a little bit on the expensive side.I will go back again though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kilmacthomas, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015 NEW

Went for a lovely walk in the woods near this pub and as we had already eaten lunch elsewhere we decided to go for deserts in The Old Thatch. The pub was very busy as it seemed all the restaurant tables were laid out for a team who had been playing a local match.The Staff attending the tables were very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
County Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015 NEW

As I regularly travel between these two cities I called, yet again, to the Thatch in Killeagh for dinner on my way home yesterday. What I got was what I always get. A beautiful meal,(plenty of choice) at a reasonable price, served by friendly and efficient staff, in a lovely, atmospheric thatched country pub.Its just under a 2 hour drive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015 NEW

Was just in The Old Thatch for dinner, gorgeous steak, very pleasant staff and lovely atmosphere. My children were very happy with their food too. Will definetly be back :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Just back from an awful experience in the Old Thatch in Killeagh, despite being there on a number of occasions as the food "used to be" cheap, cheerful, and there was always nice, helpful and professional staff! Oh how this has certainly changed, as I left feeling sick in the stomach with the terrible low standard of food and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
DeclanCork, Owner at The Old Thatch, responded to this review

The most important thing to me as a restaurant owner is repeat business. It is the life blood of my business. Without it, we simply don't have a business. We don't always get it right, but my staff and myself try our hardest to bring about this situation. But every now and then (thankfully very rarely) we get a customer... More 

Cork, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Stopped here for lunch last week and was very disappointed . I ordered a Ham sandwich- ham was like rubber and the butter early was to cold to spread so they just lumped on a big dollop in the middle . My partner had the seafood chowder - but it was mostly just dill we both left here feeling hungry... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DeclanCork, Owner at The Old Thatch, responded to this review

I'm sorry we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion. I'm particularly disappointed that you had an issue with the seafood chowder as it is one of the items on our menu that we are most complimented on. It's freshly made to order for each customer and one of our most popular items but obviously it wasn't... More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

I recently visited this pub for lunch during a day walk from Castlemartyr Resort where I was staying which is located about 6km via Mogeely off the main road to Killeagh. The pub is open for lunch at 12.00pm (in winter) The food, staff and black beer was very nice. There is also a scenic bush walk track running along... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DeclanCork, Owner at The Old Thatch, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the kind words. We're delighted that you enjoyed your visit. More 

Cork, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Stopped here for lunch the other day and really enjoyed the food here. I had homemade Chicken Goujons with Salad chips and a sweet chilli dip. A fine portion of chicken and very well presnted.The others with me had the Irish Stew and the homemade burger and were very pleased also. Yhe only very small disapointment was no onions with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeclanCork, Owner at The Old Thatch, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. I will pass your comments on to the staff. Don't forget to ask for onions the next time, we will be glad to oblige. More 

Travelers who viewed The Old Thatch also viewed

 
Midleton, County Cork
 

Been to The Old Thatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Main Street, Killeagh, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Munster  >  County Cork  >  Killeagh
  • Phone Number: +3532495116

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 7 - 31
  • Cuisine: Irish

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget

Description

Lovely authentic thatched Irish pub, serving quality, local, bistro type food at affordable prices

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Thatch staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?