We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 119 Eureka Springs Restaurants

The Squid and Whale Pub & Grill - CLOSED

10 Center St, Eureka Springs, AR 72632-3302
479-253-7147
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Got a photo?
Add it.
CLOSED
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Nestled in a cave-like setting between Spring and Center Streets in Eureka Springs, the Squid and Whale Pub has fast become NW Arkansas' favorite place to be. Live music, late night pub-grub, outstanding food and drink. It's Piratical!

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    18
    8
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedarville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This was one of our favorite Eureka Springs hangouts. We were very disappointed when we went there this time and found that it has closed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joyce_and_Tony, Owner at The Squid and Whale Pub & Grill, responded to this review

I doubt if you are any more disappointed than we were to find out we had to leave. I had posted our closure on this site, our website, and FB on March 29. Hope you can find another town/venue where you can enjoy yourselves! More

Saint Joe, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a charming little multilevel bar with food. The decor is great with lots of interesting pirate paraphenalia on the walls and ceiling. The staff is friendly and attentive. The prices are reasonable with a good selection of food and drink of all kinds. They have live music frequently and the place really jams. When in Eureka Springs, Arkansas,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is where the locals go to hang out. It was a lot of fun and the music was really good. Go early for the rum punch!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nixa, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I went to Eureka Springs for our anniversary back in May. It was the first time we had been there together and we happened to stumble upon your establishment. We immediately fell in love with the atmosphere and the friendliness of the staff ( who seemed to be enjoying their selves as they worked. One gentleman even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

OMG! After a long day of shopping we decided to stop in for a quick bite and thought maybe we'd have some seafood. There were 4 people in our group and we went down the stairs from the upper street and really enjoyed the atmosphere. It took 15 minutes for the waitress to come over and even check on us.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Joyce_and_Tony, Owner at The Squid and Whale Pub & Grill, responded to this review

I normally just don't bother to respond to comments such as yours but this really is unfair. You admittedly are the type of people who would steal by walking out on your bill, and you take the time to write your one and only review on Trip Advisor to tell everyone how horrible you thought our place was, after you... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Went in for drinks, wanted to order food but the kitchen wasn't open yet. HORRIBLE service, we basically felt like a burden on the bartender who was the only person working. We tabbed out after 30 minutes and as soon as we paid, she went outside to smoke with some older man that had been talking to her at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joyce_and_Tony, Owner at The Squid and Whale Pub & Grill, responded to this review

Hi, sorry for your disappointment on not being able to get food. We are just now switching to our Fall/Winter hours and I know it will be confusing for a bit... As far as the bartender not paying attention to you, please contact me so that I know what day you were working so that I can resolve that matter.... More

Wichita, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I felt like I had been transported back into the 1970s hippie scene. I wouldn't have felt comfortable there in the late hours of the day - I'm just too old for that kinda thing anymore.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tecumseh, OK
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a cool place in Eureka Spring, Arkansas. It reminds you of being in the Caribbean. Relaxed atmosphere. My son said let's go to the pirate place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Horrible service here. Granted it was mid-afternoon, but we had to go to the bar just to get our water glasses re-filled, not to mention another cocktail. Another table was having the same problem. The food was just mediocre...especially the big bucket. Fried mushrooms were decent. Would not go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aldrich, Missouri, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I know bringing kids into a pub sounds bad but it was an early dinner before the pub crowd started to come in. i found the service to be great the food was awesome had crab legs and clams they were cheap and excellent.Also had a drink called Pirate Punch. it was great also. its a shame i have heard... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joyce_and_Tony, Owner at The Squid and Whale Pub & Grill, responded to this review

Hi, glad you had a great time and enjoyed your food and experience! Don't worry about us selling, as every business in Eureka or elsewhere is for sale. More

Travelers who viewed The Squid and Whale Pub & Grill also viewed

 

Do you own or manage The Squid and Whale Pub & Grill?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing