We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 175 Stellenbosch Restaurants

UMAMI Restaurant - CLOSED

Black Horse Centre, Cnr Mark and Dorp Street, Stellenbosch, South Africa
+27 (0)21 8875204
Website
Improve this listing
CLOSED
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Fusion
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    15
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This restaurant has been closed for a while now. Yet people are still reviewing it. Are these people reviewing it paid to? How can you review a restaurants food that has been closed for months?

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
Tsitsikamma National Park, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The food here is really great and well presented. It makes for a great evening out with friends. Absolutely LOVE the sushi.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is closed, what a shame, used to be super, great food and service. Will miss it a great deal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Umami doesn't exist anymore. Umami was a great business when it came to food, service and ambiance, but is wasn't busy enough. I wish you the best Toerie, the restaurant was fantastic and I really enjoyed every evening we spended there. Maybe again in the future?

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The place is very simple and the environment is amazing. The food tastes very good (one of the best I had in my vacation trip in South Africa) and the waiter was very kind. He gave us lots of maps and suggestions about the winelands that helped a lot when exploring the place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Umami offers a pleasant warm welcome on each visit. The menu changes seasonally and only the freshest ingredients are utilised in their preparation. A choice of either ala carte or a five course tasting menu makes Umami the perfect choice for any occasion. Special lunch menu for those quick business meetings at great prices. Save space for desert!

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Ate at Umami last weekend and was pleasantly surprised. Excellent food and good wines served by knowledgable staff. Small menu only downside. Cozy atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had booked a table for 9. Some days later we received an email that they did not have room for us anymore. Very disappointing as we liked umami from last time. We suspect they let us down since we had children with us.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toerie, Owner at UMAMI Restaurant, responded to this review

Marta made the booking for the 1st of June via e-mail on the 22nd of May, to which I confirmed. I only realized the next day that we previously made a booking for 27 guests a week prior to her booking, which meant that we were fully booked. The big group's booking was never written down because I know the... More 

Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The food was good. This is a small place with few tables. That is good. The atmosphere is nice. We brought with us small children one evening, and this is actually not a good place for that. And the children's menu is not to great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

i'm delayed in writing this, but remember my meal perfectly - it was very memorable. i had a tasting menu- each dish was amazing, absolutely brilliant! Wine pairings excellent. I highly recommend the tasting menu, as Chef's always choose best. Everything we ordered was incredible, especially The Beet Risotto. The service was by far the Best we have experienced in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed UMAMI Restaurant also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Additional Information about UMAMI Restaurant

Address: Black Horse Centre, Cnr Mark and Dorp Street, Stellenbosch, South Africa
Phone Number: +27 (0)21 8875204
Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Stellenbosch
Average Prices: USD 25 - 100
Cuisine: Fusion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from UMAMI Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?