We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 53 Paarl Restaurants

Bosman's Restaurant

Plantasie Street | Grande Roche Hotel, Paarl, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 53 Restaurants in Paarl
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    13
    9
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Fussy food, fussy service. We stayed at the Grande Roche and had high expectation for our dinner the night of arrival. The very limited menu would have been fairly priced had they delivered a meal with thoughtful, inventive dishes, well-made, and well-presented. But they didn't. So we went elsewhere the next night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Bosman's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the constructed feedback about your dining experience. At Bosman’s restaurant we serve an option of either a 3,4 or 6 course set menu alternatively we offer an A la Carte menu with 5 options for each course available as a 3 or 4 course. Our Head Chef changes the menu on regular basis to... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

We were a company of six that had the six course tasting menu together with Wines paired by the sommelier. We are quite spoiled when it comes to food and Wine, but this was something extra. Typically you will have two or three disappointments in a tasting menu, but not here. The Wines were great, three was even excellent (I’ve... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Bosman's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Jan, My team and I were delighted to read your review of Bosman’s Restaurant. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your pairing. It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories. We do hope that you return to us in the future. Kind regards, Anja Bosken General Manager More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

We had a excellent old years eve dinner at Bosman's with excellent service from our waiter JP. The GM, Miss Anja Bosken went out of her way to make the night special to everybody present. This is the place to book for next year already

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Bosman's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Fred, My team and I were delighted to read your review of Bosman’s Restaurant. It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories. We look forward to welcoming you back at the end of the year. Happy New Year. Kind regards, Anja Bosken General Manager More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

The food, service, and location of this restaurant are stunning! Paradise on earth! The flavours, the presentation of the food I cannot praise highly enough, and the service is impeccable. The staff is so friendly and we had fun making jokes at each other all the time. Add to this wonderful eating experience the view of the mountains while sitting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Bosman's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Geert, My team and I were delighted to read your review of Bosman’s Restaurant. It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories. We will pass your praise onto Jacques. May you return to us again in the future. Kind regards, Anja Bosken General Manager More 

Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

What an experience ! Bosman's has always been an excellent place, but in the past it was very difficult to make a reservation (see my previous report....) Apparently Bosman's has realized this and making a reservation was easy and simple. A beautiful view, pleasant staff and delicious food for a reasonable price. Well done, we'll certainly be back before we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Bosman's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, My team and I were delighted to read your review of Bosman’s Restaurant. It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories. We do hope you did get the chance to come back before you returned to Europe. Kind regards, Anja Bosken General Manager More 

Aberdeenshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

The food, service, and location of this restaurant are amazing! Should definitely have a Michelin star. The flavours, the presentation of the food I cannot praise highly enough, and the service is impeccable. Add to this wonderful eating experience the view of the mountains while sitting on the terrace and it is a truly memorable experience. Fantastic!

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Bosman's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Alice, My team and I were delighted to read your review of Bosman’s Restaurant. It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories. We do hope that to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Anja Bosken General Manager More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

Lovely location, and high class appearance. The place for that special occasion. Food was good, without being exceptional. Beautifully presented. One criticism, the quality of the service at the table was disappointing for a restaurant aiming at fine dining. No one was rude, but just lacked attention to detail. I would have come away with a much more positive attitude... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Bosman's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, My team and I were delighted to read your review of Bosman’s Restaurant. We would also like to thank you for your feedback on the lacking service and we will proceed to attend to this accordingly. We do hope that you return to Bosman's again in the future, to enjoy the full fine dinning experience. Kind regards,... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

Went for dinner with my wife for her birthday. When arrived, were asked if we want to sit outside on the terrace which was very tempting as it was a stunning evening. But unfortunately, it is also a smoking area?? That also explained the cigar aroma inside the restaurant area, where we decided to sit. Service started fine and attentive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

My wife and I went for dinner last week and the food was good. The service was not up to scratch. Had to ask for a menu when they wanted to take our order. I selected the wine pairing which was explained to me that the cost is steep and they usually do it for foreigners...I said I would like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kendal
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Onwaba greeted me with the news that Eskom had turned the lights off!Fortunately they were back on by 20.15. But do not worry the kitchen will still be able to cook excellent food.Alas the delightful Petro had taken the night off to go to church,maybe she was praying that the lights would come on!!! Onwaba though did give us a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Bosman's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Kendal, My team and I were delighted to read your review of the Bosman’s Restaurant. It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories. We do hope you return to us in the future as we would be delighted to welcome you back. Kind regards, Anja Bosken General Manager More 

Travelers who viewed Bosman's Restaurant also viewed

Paarl, Western Cape
Paarl, Western Cape
 

Been to Bosman's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosman's Restaurant

Address: Plantasie Street | Grande Roche Hotel, Paarl, South Africa
Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Paarl

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bosman's Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?