We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bosman's Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
+ Add cuisine
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Plantasie Street | Grande Roche Hotel, Paarl, South Africa
Website
Add hours for Bosman's Restaurant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Good for:
Romance
Doing business
Special occasions

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 122 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 88
    Excellent
  • 15
    Very good
  • 11
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Foodie friendly yet caters for kids

I was pleasantly surprised to find a place with a menu catering to foodies yet has a dedicated child friendly menu. Service was slow (although I think that is probably "Cape Town in general") Food fantastic

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 2, 2015
69LNG69
,
Johannesburg, South Africa
Good for:
  • Romance
  • Doing business
  • Special occasions
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015 NEW

I was pleasantly surprised to find a place with a menu catering to foodies yet has a dedicated child friendly menu. Service was slow (although I think that is probably "Cape Town in general") Food fantastic

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linkoping, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015 NEW

You'll have a hard time to find a better place in South Africa. The service is as good as it gets, they'll make you feel very special. The setting is astonishing, over looking the valley and vineyards. The menu is professional and the food exquisite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Bosman's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Carl, Thank you for your kind words about Bosman's restaurant. We have passed on your message onto our team as it is always nice to receive good feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Bosman's In the near future. Kind Regards Anja Bosken General Manager More 

Cape Town
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

We decided to escape the bleakness of load shedding by treating ourselves to a "presumed" 5 star experience at a place we were familiar with. Unfortunately the service and food quality have waned in the last few years. The mediocre experience started on arrival at the hotel security gate where the guard was impolite and unfriendly, things did not improve... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Bosman's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Bosman’s Restaurant. We truly regret your dissatisfactory experience. This is definitely not the impression we wish to give our guests and I would like to assure you that our restaurant management were fully informed of your comments in an effort to try and ensure that this does not happen... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Our hotel booking at the Grand Roche Hotel included a reservation at Bosman's. At breakfast we asked for a window table for dinner and at this point the manager pointed out that the booking should not have been allowed as the restaurant was closed due to wedding, but she would not cancel the booking of hotel guests. The result was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Bosman's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Paul, We were delighted to read your review of Bosman’s restaurant and we would like to thank you for your kind words. We are also very proud of our staff. It is our passion to ensure that guests enjoy their full experience and this cannot be done without our reliable team. We look forward to welcoming you back one... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

We had my husband's 50th Birthday meal at Bosman's with his parents. I had a high expectation because I dined here 20 years ago. The restaurant did not disappoint!! The food was excellent, the wine superb, and the service fantastic. We had drinks on the terrace overlooking the view while the sun sets and then had dinner inside. This is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Bosman's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Elmarie, My team and I were delighted to read your review of Bosman’s Restaurant. It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories. We do hope that we get to welcome you back in the near future, perhaps on your husbands 51st birthday? Kind regards, Anja Bosken General Manager More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

First of all a massive thank you to Onwaba for making this such an amazing experience. You were truly fabulous! When we decided to visit this lovely hotel and restaurant last October we were truly amazed by the experience and service. After a lovely afternoon of wine tasting at nearby Nederburg we started of with a G&T before dinner, as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Bosman's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Stefan, Thank you again for your very kind words. We will pass your message onto Onwaba and her staff. We look forward to your next visit and welcoming you back. Kind regards Anja Bosken General Manager More 

Beijing
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Fussy food, fussy service. We stayed at the Grande Roche and had high expectation for our dinner the night of arrival. The very limited menu would have been fairly priced had they delivered a meal with thoughtful, inventive dishes, well-made, and well-presented. But they didn't. So we went elsewhere the next night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Bosman's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the constructed feedback about your dining experience. At Bosman’s restaurant we serve an option of either a 3,4 or 6 course set menu alternatively we offer an A la Carte menu with 5 options for each course available as a 3 or 4 course. Our Head Chef changes the menu on regular basis to... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

We were a company of six that had the six course tasting menu together with Wines paired by the sommelier. We are quite spoiled when it comes to food and Wine, but this was something extra. Typically you will have two or three disappointments in a tasting menu, but not here. The Wines were great, three was even excellent (I’ve... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Bosman's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Jan, My team and I were delighted to read your review of Bosman’s Restaurant. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your pairing. It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories. We do hope that you return to us in the future. Kind regards, Anja Bosken General Manager More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

We had a excellent old years eve dinner at Bosman's with excellent service from our waiter JP. The GM, Miss Anja Bosken went out of her way to make the night special to everybody present. This is the place to book for next year already

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Bosman's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Fred, My team and I were delighted to read your review of Bosman’s Restaurant. It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories. We look forward to welcoming you back at the end of the year. Happy New Year. Kind regards, Anja Bosken General Manager More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

The food, service, and location of this restaurant are stunning! Paradise on earth! The flavours, the presentation of the food I cannot praise highly enough, and the service is impeccable. The staff is so friendly and we had fun making jokes at each other all the time. Add to this wonderful eating experience the view of the mountains while sitting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Bosman's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Geert, My team and I were delighted to read your review of Bosman’s Restaurant. It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories. We will pass your praise onto Jacques. May you return to us again in the future. Kind regards, Anja Bosken General Manager More 

Travelers who viewed Bosman's Restaurant also viewed

Paarl, Western Cape
Paarl, Western Cape
 

Been to Bosman's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Plantasie Street | Grande Roche Hotel, Paarl, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Paarl

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bosman's Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Bosman's Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?