We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 846 Cape Town Central Restaurants

Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar

Shop 153, Lower Level Victoria Wharf | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central, South Africa
+27 21 421 3753
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $12 - $45
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Welcome to Belthazar, a veritable theatre of fine food and wine on the cutting-edge of "shoppertainment". A multi-purpose restaurant, grill, wine bar and gourmet home accessory shop, Belthazar brings a chic new concept in the culinary arts to Cape Town.Belthazar is the realization of a lifelong passion for wine shared by the Belthazar team. Their vision was to create the largest "wine by the glass" wine bar in the world. Experienced sommeliers expertly serve up to 250 of the Cape's finest wines by the glass and advise customers on a wine-list of up to 600 fine wines and sought-after rare vintages.Indulge your palate. Belthazar is so much more than good food and wine. Indulge in the best - from the world's finest wine glasses and revolutionary wine technology to the slick service, superb aged Karan beef, export quality Mozambican shellfish and the freshest South African seafood. We invite you to indulge in the grand finale - a platter of boutique South African cheeses perfectly paired with a selection of Cape port wines...
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    271
    125
    84
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 NEW

This is a steak house right? Med/Rare Fillet served Med/Well, Veggie side served cold, Waiter disappeared once he set the plates down, asked for water refill when the food was delivered...Water arrived with the check. The place wasn't busy...should have been my first clue. Most expensive meal of the weekend and far and away the worst.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 NEW via mobile

Just finished my second visit to Belthazar. I decide that as my last meal in South Africa I didn't want to gamble, so I went back. I think that says it all. Regarding the meat it is perfect, definitely on the top of my list when it comes to beef. I ask for recommendation when it comes to wine paired... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Texel, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015 NEW

Recommended by friends we saved this restaurant for the last night. Great steaks even for part time vegetarians and good sauces! Service was fine, not very personal, and it took a while before dinner was served. But very busy, lots of people there. Good, personal and quick advise from wine advisor Cornelia.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Balatonalmadi, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015 NEW

We had great dinner there and found a very good wine list in the restaurant. The steak was excellent. great choice for a night out at the Waterfront.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nuremberg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015 NEW via mobile

No complaints about the food itself, my fillet steak was cooked nicely and had lots of flavour. The let-down was the service. "Brusque" would be a nice way of putting it. Rude and rushed would probably be more accurate. Such a shame as our experience in other Cape Town restaurants was that waiting staff were extremely friendly and attentive. Great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this review

Dear Matt1973x, thank you for your feedback. If you have a copy of your bill, I would really appreciate you letting me know who your waiter/service was as I would like to investigate why you were rushed, as this is definitely not our standard at Belthazar. Please contact me on support@ slickrestaurants.com, using you TripAdvisor username as the subject line.... More 

Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015 NEW

We ate our last meal in Cape Town at this restuarant with great expectation as it was well rated in tripadvisor. We were disappointed and angry when we left. First, we ordered the Kingklip with sides of spinach and mashed potato. The Kingklip was pretty good. The lemon butter sauce was cold, the potatoes were marginal, the bread disappointing, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this review

Dear CWHoughton, my sincerest apologies that you felt mislead by the waiter. I can assure you that is not the case and the waiter clearly didn't explain the wine prices correctly. All our wine prices are listed on the WineTimes list for guests to choose and make a decision themselves based on what they would like to spend on wines.... More 

Pretoria
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015 NEW

Good food, excellent service with some excellent views over the waterfront and Table Mountain. The waitress was excellent is making time to make sure our Grandson got his food first so we could relax and enjoy the evening. A downside for some maybe the noise coming from activities at the amphitheatre near by, but this just adds to the ambiance... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this review

Dear Karrst, thank you for your review and we are looking forward to you joining us again soon for another great dining experience. Kind Regards, Belthazar More 

Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015 NEW via mobile

We ate here last night. We were early (6pm) but the service and space between course was just right. We have a great waitress, who took the time to notice, for example, that I had taken the lemon out of my water; my second glass of water came with no lemon. She also recommended a lovely bottle of wine that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this review

Dear Anna, thank you for your feedback and review. My apologies that your meat was overcooked, as this is not what we offer at Belthazar. We hope that you will dine with us again soon. Regards, Andrew - Belthazar More 

Springs, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

This was our 2nd visit to the Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar, but most certainly the last! Our order was Kingklip and a T-Bone Steak with side veggies. Our order was brought to our table without the side veggies. After asking 4 different waiters to follow up on our side order, the veggies finally arrived almost 15 minutes later, needless... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this review

Dear Maxine, my sincerest apologies for the level of service that you received, as this is most definitely not our standard, as can be read in many of the reviews. If you have your bill, please scan and email it to us on support@ slickrestaurants.com, or if you do not have it, please mail us the time and date you... More 

Leeds
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Went the evening of Monday 15th December. The food was excellent and the service was first class we were looked after by a young lady with longish dark hair whose name I have unfortunately currently lost. She couldn't do enough for us, very helpful and attentive. A nice touch was that we even got to meet the restaurant manager who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this review

Dear Floyd, thank you for your review of Belthazar. We hope that you will visit us again soon. Regards, Belthazar More 

Travelers who viewed Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar

Address: Shop 153, Lower Level Victoria Wharf | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central, South Africa
Phone Number: +27 21 421 3753
Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Monday 12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Tuesday 12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Thursday 12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Friday 12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Average Prices: USD 12 - 45
Cuisine: Seafood, Steakhouse, Wine Bar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?