We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Shop 6162, Victoria Wharf | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 421 6002
Website
Today
8:00 am - 10:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 8:00 am - 10:30 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Balducci at the V & A Waterfront offers an unrivaled menu of simple...
Balducci at the V & A Waterfront offers an unrivaled menu of simple, everyday home cooked Italian dishes that reflect the most traditional elements of food and culinary styles. Our simple Italian home cooked food is prepared in a relaxed and restorative style, whilst at the same time being creative, traditional and affordable. Now also open for Breakfast from 8am-11:30am daily
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 458 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 194
    Excellent
  • 139
    Very good
  • 67
    Average
  • 31
    Poor
  • 27
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Great day time specials

Balducci has recently undergone an upgrade and is looking stunning. They have an extensive menu which now incorporates all types of asian food, not just sushi, as well as there regular salads, pasta's etc. If you eat before 6pm daily there are great value specials.

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 28, 2015
FMH1971
,
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Good for:
  • Doing business
  • Bar scene
  • Special occasions
  • Entertaining clients
Add Photo Write a Review

458 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015 NEW

Balducci has recently undergone an upgrade and is looking stunning. They have an extensive menu which now incorporates all types of asian food, not just sushi, as well as there regular salads, pasta's etc. If you eat before 6pm daily there are great value specials.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this review

Dear FMH1971, thanks for the kind words. Our R89 sirloin special is very popular, as well as our R59 pizza/pasta deal. Valid from 12noon-6pm daily. Our Asian Tapas Noodle & Sushi bar special of 50% OFF is available til end September, between the same times. See you soon again. Regards, Balducci More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015 NEW

We visited with colleagues for dinner May 2015. We enjoyed the food the place and the service. Great steaks (fillet ) very good duo of game, and well cooked calamari.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this review

Dear Brian, thank you for the review. We look forward to your next experience with us. Regards, Balducci More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

Lively and busy but fast service, decent food, good wine selection, a little overpriced but given the popular location in the V&A and well known name this is forgivable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this review

Dear JonB, thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We hope to see you soon again. Regards, Balducci More 

Cape Town
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Ordered Pork ribs and Asian Lamb chops, some time later a very sullen waiter informed us that they were out of Lamb so we decided to share the ribs. The ribs were covered in coagulating basting sauce, not very tender just AVERAGE & expensive. Not worth spending your money on shoddy, sullen service and very average food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this review

Dear Wazzi_007, my sincerest apologies for your experience. Please contact me on support@ slickrestaurants.com so we can investigate this. Kind Regards, Andrew - Balducci More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015 via mobile

Such a great burger. I wouldn't mind paying double the price!!!! Service is fantastic. Servers are obviously vigorously trained. 1st class

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this review

Dear Paul, thank you! That is good to hear. We have our own on-site butcher who prepares all our meats and burgers. Made from pure 100% matured fillet, rump and sirloin steaks, our burgers are juicy & tasty. Look forward to you joining us again soon for more. Regards, Balducci More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

We had Dinner here in December on holiday when the Waterfront was Over full and crowded! Its lovely inside, very fancy and sophisticated and clean! but the Service could really have been much better! I had one of the best pizzas ever, although really expensive, the pasta was good but very expensive and a bit disappointing in the quantity! Best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this review

Dear Buitelewemeisie, thank you for the review. We use the absolute best ingredients we can get, delivered freshly every day. We prepare everything on order - nothing is made and kept warm or frozen and reheated. We have been trading on the Waterfront for 18 years and for the quality we offer, we do not feel that it is exorbitantly... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

My husband and I used to be regulars at this restaurant and had some good experiences in the fairly distant past. But on Friday night we and a close friend were subjected to the most appalling restaurant experience any of us can recall having. If you're looking for friendly customer oriented service - don't look here. If you're looking for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this review

Dear GavinF66. My sincerest apologies for the experience that you had. This is most definitely not our standard, and we would like to investigate this further. Please contact us on support@slickrestaurants.com. Kind Regards, Andrew - Balducci More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

Would avoid like the plague service was terrible and the food was absolutely revolting and highly over priced. The manager was rude and refused to assist or make our stay bearable. Very disappointing!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this review

Dear Food4daSoul, my apologies. Please can you email me on support@slickrestaurants.com so that we can investigate this. If you have the bill, please scan and attach to the email so that we may expedite our looking into this experience. Regards, Andrew- Balducci More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015

My first visit since it's recent revamp to this prime positioned restaurant at the V&A Waterfront proved to re-afirm it's prestigious reputation as a consitently good an all round purveyor of cuisine..and one worth the visit. Their home made soups are tasty as are their well presented salads,,,for main courses we had grilled baby kingklip on the bone (spectacular) and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this review

Dear Foodfoondie18, thank you for visiting us and for the great review. We hope to see more of you in the coming months. Regards Balducci More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015

An upmarket restaurant in the heart of the V&A. Great atmosphere, good service and mouthwatering food. My husband enjoyed his steak that was prepared to perfection. I had a pasta dish that was absolutely delicious. Our compliments to the chef and we'll definitely recommend you to our friends/family visiting Cape Town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this review

Dear Moemamma, thank you for reviewing our restaurant on Trip Advisor. We look forward to you joining us again soon. Kind Regards, Balducci, More 

Travelers who viewed Balducci's also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Balducci's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Shop 6162, Victoria Wharf | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 421 6002

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 15 - 25
  • Cuisine: Italian, Pizza, Sushi, Asian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients

Description

Balducci at the V & A Waterfront offers an unrivaled menu of simple, everyday home cooked Italian dishes that reflect the most traditional elements of food and culinary styles. Our simple Italian home cooked food is prepared in a relaxed and restorative style, whilst at the same time being creative, traditional and affordable. Now also open for Breakfast from 8am-11:30am daily
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 10:30 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 10:30 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 10:30 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 10:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Balducci's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?