We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Balducci's

V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central, South Africa
+27 21 421 6002
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Italian ‘Simple and Fresh home cooked food made from scratch’ menu is extensive and service is attentive.Helpings are generous and specialties range from wood-fired Italian-styled gourmet pizzas to prime aged grainfed steaks, Mozambique shellfish, Balduccis carbonara and ostrich lasagne just to mention a few. A Gourmet Burger menu is also offered and includes the Balducci's inimitable 200g grainfed burger. Sushi fans, do try the adjacent award-winning Balducci’s Royal Sushi Bar. Nothing describes the Balducci's stand alone sushi bar better than the echoing words "quality, quality, quality".
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    146
    103
    46
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leyland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Balducci's was recommended to us by the Thompson rep at our hotel. There are lots of smart restaurants in the harbour area and the whole area has a great atmosphere. Balducci's has a real buzz about it and the food was very good quality. It was a little chilly in the evenings when we were in Capetown (May) so it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this review

Dear CandM1954, thank you for the review. We are currently busy with a huge renovation to our restaurant, and looking forward to you joining us again in the future, with a brand new look. Please let us know which hotel recommended us as we like to thank them personally too. Have a blessed weekend. Regards, Balducci's More

San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Some Cape Town friends had recommended Balducci's to us and it certainly lived up to their recommendation. Their steak special was very reasonably priced and served with a good selection of vegetables. Service wasn't that speedy but being on holiday it was not a problem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this review

Dear ZImboSD, thank you for your review. The sirloin promo for R80 is a fantastic deal. Glad you enjoyed it. We will investigate the service delay. Regards Balducci's More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

I had a weekend lunch at this restaurant and was a bit disappointed. Situated in one of Cape Towns top shopping malls this restaurant could up their game. The service and the food were average. I had butter chicken on pasta which had great taste but the pasta was smothered with sauce and hardly any chicken. It was unfortunate to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this review

Dear AGJJV, my apologies that you felt the experience was not what was expected. Please contact us via our website so we can investigate this further with you. Please note that we are closing for a re-build on Mon 30 June for about 6 weeks. Kind Regards, Balducci's More

Cape Town, SA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

One of my favourite spots in the Waterfront. Maybe on the expensive side but always good quality and service. Their service is also good, although at times a bit "stiff" or mechanical. However, I prefer that to a jovial chap that is never there when you look for him

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this review

Dear VPK-CT. Thank you for the posting and glad to hear that we are one of you favourite places in the V&A Waterfront. We will be under-going a re-build from Monday 30 June to approx 20 Aug. So when we re-open it will be to a brand new Stefan Anoni deisgn. See you soon, Balducci's More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

great service and lovely music made for a lovely atmosphere but don't order sushi, stick to the other sections of the menu or go to a sushi speciality restaurant if that is what you crave. We enjoyed the calamari and the steak

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this review

Dear Luckyme30, I am surprised to read that you did not like our sushi. We use only the freshest, never frozen imported Norwegian Salmon and fresh tuna for our sushi. We pride ourselves on the standard and quality we prepare. I am sorry that it was not to your liking. Feel free to contact us via our website to let... More

Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We were staying nearby, so we walked the V&A Waterfront and decided to give Balducci's a try.... The place was packed and everyone looked to be having a great time...... The place was clean and the staff friendly and efficient and on top of everything. Variety was the catchword for the menu.... as we had a variety of 'tastes' traveling... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this review

Dear ClemsonTiger1996, so glad to read that you sushi was excellent, the vide in the shop was great and that your party enjoyed themselves. We strive to create that experience each and every time. We hope that you will spread the word and try some of the other superb menu items. Kind Regards, Balducci's More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great food and great service! The starters, main dishes and even the desserts are good and the dishes are big. The cheesecake is highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this review

Dear Iyyar, thank you. We strive to ensure that every dish we prepare is only of the highest quality and standard, our service is professional and our restaurant is value for money. We look forward to your next visit. Regards, Balducci's More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I heard that this restaurant was pretty good. The service was great so no complaints about that. The food however was not good at all if you look at the prices. I ordered a carpaccio that looked more like a steak because it was quite thick. It barely had taste! Then I ordered some gnoccis that were also pretty average... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this review

Dear DianadPotse, thank you for informing us about the meals that you had. Our apologies that you were not satisfied. We will investigate this with the chef. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you that our food is of the highest quality and is the reason we have been here for 20 years, hence the... More

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

this is an average place which serves italian , sushi etc .... there are far better italian places in cape town .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this review

Dear Pranav A, thank you for your review. Look out for our new menu coming soon. Regards, Balducci's More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Lunch here. It is located in the shopping mall situated on the Waterfront. Not the best location and no view but the food more that make up for that. Excellent and very fresh Sashimi and a great wine list to compliment. Definately worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this review

Dear Richard J, thank you for your review. We use only fresh, never frozen, fish and pride ourselves on the our extensive winelist. Our sister restaurant, Belthazar (also in the V&A Waterfront) has an award winning winelist with over 600 wines, of which over 200 are by-the-glass. We look forward to your next visit with us. Kind Regards, Balducci's More

Travelers who viewed Balducci's also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Balducci's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balducci's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing