We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Roundhouse Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
French, Contemporary
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Kloof Road, The Glen | Camps Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
+27 21 438 4347
Website
Today
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sat 6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Steeped in over 300 years of history, the former guard house, tea room...
Steeped in over 300 years of history, the former guard house, tea room, hotel and the hunting lodge of Lord Charles Somerset has been elegantly restored with the charm and sophistication of the Grand Old Cape. The style of cuisine at The Roundhouse is uncomplicated, contemporary French, inspired by seasonal ingredients and paired with one of the finest boutique wine collections in South Africa. South African born, PJ Vadas combines his worldly culinary skills with influences from the Cape to create an exquisite four course menu.
read more
Good for:
Romance
Large groups
Doing business
Special occasions
Entertaining clients

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 416 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 233
    Excellent
  • 98
    Very good
  • 38
    Average
  • 22
    Poor
  • 25
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
A joke

Seems some people are lucky. We went a year ago and it was a very pleasant experience, this time hopeless. On arrival at 4.30 pm we were asked if we had booked. We hadn't. Told they were full, although only one other table was occupied. Then said we could sit at the far end of the garden. As... read more

1 of 5 starsReviewed February 27, 2015
Patricia C
,
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Romance
  • Large groups
  • Doing business
  • Special occasions
  • Entertaining clients
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

416 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015 NEW

Seems some people are lucky. We went a year ago and it was a very pleasant experience, this time hopeless. On arrival at 4.30 pm we were asked if we had booked. We hadn't. Told they were full, although only one other table was occupied. Then said we could sit at the far end of the garden. As soon as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

A truly fabulous restaurant! We came in on the off chance and were given a warm welcome. I would rate this restaurant as one of the very best in South Africa. Each course was beautifully prepared and every mouthful delicious. The lamb and beef tongue together with the Kingclip are gourmet award winners. The peach soufflé was unique in appearance... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Took 25 min for wine to arrive, Then waiter left, without removing the cork...After request to please open the bottle, it took another 10 minutes for waiter to arrive with bottle opener.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bexley
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

A fine dining experience set in a colonial building half way down a mountain road towards camps bay beach. As there is a lot of high end eateries in Cape Town, came here on a recommendation, due to it's unusual setting and views. A reservation only establishment where you give your first name so they can print your name on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manila
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

My wife and I were excited to try this restaurant given all the rave reviews from many blogs and lists on where to eat in Cape Town. After all, this restaurant presented something very unique...picnics and lunch on what seemed to be a well manicured garden with a view on many pictures online as were researching more about them. Unfortunately... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Roundhouse_Team, Manager at The Roundhouse Restaurant, responded to this review

Good day and thank you for the time taken to inform us of your experience. It is certainly not the way we intend for our guests to experience The Rumbullion. We have taken all your points into consideration and will be doing a full debrief on with the team. Please advise us on what you have ordered on the day,... More 

Grand Cayman
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

The food was hearty and delicious - perfect after our hike up Lion's Head. Great location and perfect weather, we had an incredible view of Camp's Bay. Great family spot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Esher, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

This restaurant classifies itself as fine dining and the food and service we had from our waiter certainly confirmed that. Unfortunately we had to summon one of six waiters who were doing nothing but standing and looking at us when my daughter arrived to join us for a drink on the terrace (there was only one other couple there), not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

We reserved at a specific time for dinner, but the sunset that can be seen over the ocean from the lawn was too beautiful to go into the restaurant. The staff was happy to serve us drinks and canapes on the law instead. After the sun set, we were treated to the best meal we had in over a week... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

The Roundhouse was recommended to us by the owners of the Guest House we stayed. They made the booking well in advance of our stay which was a very wise move.... The place is small and always fully booked. We were having dinner with local friends of ours. They had not been for a very long time due to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

I took my wife Vickie to the Roundhouse for her 40th Birthday, I requested a vegan menu. The food menu was typed out for us and presented beautifully, the food was simply out of this world and the staff serving us were brilliant. The roundhouse made the evening into a truly memorable experience and would most certainly recommend any vegan... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Roundhouse Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to The Roundhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Kloof Road, The Glen | Camps Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 438 4347

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: French, Contemporary

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients

Description

Steeped in over 300 years of history, the former guard house, tea room, hotel and the hunting lodge of Lord Charles Somerset has been elegantly restored with the charm and sophistication of the Grand Old Cape. The style of cuisine at The Roundhouse is uncomplicated, contemporary French, inspired by seasonal ingredients and paired with one of the finest boutique wine collections in South Africa. South African born, PJ Vadas combines his worldly culinary skills with influences from the Cape to create an exquisite four course menu.
Open Hours
Tuesday
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Thursday
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Roundhouse Restaurant and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Roundhouse Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?