We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Meloncino

Shop 259, Upper level | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 (0)21 419 5558
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $21
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Meloncino – Ristorante, Bar, Pizzeria ItalianoExperience authentic Italian cuisine in Cape TownMeloncino restaurant opened at the V&A Waterfront, bringing a genuine Italian flavour to our shores. The modern and stylish décor create an eclectic European vibe where one can sip cocktails and snack on canapés, nuts and olives. As someone suggested, “Close your eyes and you could be in Rome.” Open your eyes and you face the magnificent Table Mountain, as seen from the comfort of one of Meloncino’s white sofas. Expect home-made pasta with authentic Italian sauces, steaks and seafood from their charcoal grill, traditional wood-fired pizza and an extensive menu to choose from. In order to stay faithful to the original, various ingredients like cheese, coffee and wine are imported from Italy. Buon appetito!
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Meloncino – Ristorante, Bar, Pizzeria ItalianoExperience authentic Italian cuisine in Cape TownMeloncino restaurant opened at the V&A Waterfront, bringing a genuine Italian flavour to our shores. The modern and stylish décor create an eclectic European vibe where one can sip cocktails and snack on canapés, nuts and olives. As someone suggested, “Close your eyes and you could be in Rome.” Open your eyes and you face the magnificent Table Mountain, as seen from the comfort of one of Meloncino’s white sofas. Expect home-made pasta with authentic Italian sauces, steaks and seafood from their charcoal grill, traditional wood-fired pizza and an extensive menu to choose from. In order to stay faithful to the original, various ingredients like cheese, coffee and wine are imported from Italy. Buon appetito!
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    183
    90
    28
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 NEW

Had a nice dinner outdoors here under one of the heat lamps. They have blankets as well. The menu was quite extensive with lots of Italian basics. Service was friendly, but the kitchen was slow - we were starting to wonder if our entrees would ever appear. Food was good, but nothing special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newport Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 NEW via mobile

You should totally go here their food is to die for love their food. Go here. I would totally recommend going here they have quality food that you will enjoy and also love the view. I would go here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Definitely one of the best restaurants in the Waterfront. Real Italian food and excellent wine variety. The food is amazing, very well designed and the service great. In addition they have a terrace with a beautiful view on the V&A Waterfront. Well worth a visit!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I love Italian food but really only eat it on occasion. So when I go out for Italian it better be good. I ordered a pizza which was just amazing. Crispy and delicious! The only problem was that I had order envy of everyone in the restaurant. The smell is intoxicating. I have to go back and try it all.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We went to this restaurant for dinner at the recommendation of our concierge and were extremely disappointed. I will not say much about the food....it was average. With a party of 9, some food was better than others. One note, the pizza's are pretty good and large, so you may want to share. What set this place apart was the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montelupo Fiorentino
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We have tried several restaurants in the V&A Waterfront and this is one of the best. I think that sometimes never in Italy you can eat like this. Good pizza, pasta, meat and fish. Dishes are very well designed and big enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stunning restaurant where we enjoyed great service and great food. Highly recommend the focaccia - probably one of the best ever tasted. The view is simply spectacular and makes you proud to be South African with the beautiful Table Mountain clearly visible. My only concern was the price of the wines - very, very pricey for wines you can buy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

When I see review below about my favorite Italian restaurant I get really upset. This place is excellent food quality always spot on and the manager/owners are always around and available for a coffee and a chat. The fact that you can see. Tanya simply logged on to tripadvisor one day for the first time just to write rubbish below... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Oh my goodness. Forget every single good review you have ever read about this place and hear the truth! This place is SO overrated. The food was unbelievably bland and the service was just as mediocre. We were celebrating such a special occasion and what an absolute pity we wasted R4000 of our money on this place. My mussel dish... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Knysna, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We were suckered in to buying a recommended wine by a fast talking maître d'. Our fault I suppose as we did not ask for a wine list. Only when we got the bill did we see that our wine which was described as an "easy drinking South African red " had cost us R465. The food is indifferent and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cinzann0capet0wn, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this review

Dear Knysnagirl_12 Thank you for you review. We are disappointed to hear of your experience. Our policy is to only involve our sommelier at the customer's request. Furthermore, we insist that our that prices are fully disclosed on any recommendations. It seems, from your comments, that this was not the case. It also seems that you were not presented with... More

Travelers who viewed Meloncino also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Meloncino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meloncino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing