We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Grill

Certificate of Excellence
Barbecue, Hamburgers, Steakhouse, Grill
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Shop 155, Victoria Wharf | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central, South Africa
+27 21 421 9820
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Established in 1999, the City Grill is the oldest steakhouse in the V&A...
Established in 1999, the City Grill is the oldest steakhouse in the V&A Waterfront. We invite you to discover a truly South African experience… so gather family and friends for a feast of flavour at the City Grill! A place where food has substance, big appetites are essential and South Africa is the flavour of the month, every month!
read more
Good for:
Families with children
Large groups
Doing business
Local cuisine

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 465 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 223
    Excellent
  • 159
    Very good
  • 46
    Average
  • 19
    Poor
  • 18
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Best steak ever!!!

The menu here is full of choice and the staff are very attentive. The waiter was very patient and assisted with choice when asked. I had the fillet steak which was easily the best steak I've ever had. I think the elderly man at the table next to me agreed as he was making sex noises as he ate his... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed February 28, 2015
BobbyAK
via mobile
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Large groups
  • Doing business
  • Local cuisine
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

465 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015 NEW via mobile

The menu here is full of choice and the staff are very attentive. The waiter was very patient and assisted with choice when asked. I had the fillet steak which was easily the best steak I've ever had. I think the elderly man at the table next to me agreed as he was making sex noises as he ate his... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
barrynieuwoudtcg, Public Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this review

Hi Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are delighted to read that you had such a wonderful time at our restaurant. We look forward to seeing you back here in the near future. Kind Regards Barry More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015 via mobile

Table booked for 8pm. We arrived early. Table not yet ready. Ok, no problem. We ask the manager: can we have a drink and wait at the bar? His one word answer, without as much as a look at us : NO! We left and never came back. Seriously rude manager with attitude issues.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
barrynieuwoudtcg, Public Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking the time to write your review on this site. We sent you a direct message regarding this incident, as we required more information. We do not have a bar for customers to sit and wait for their tables. We have a service bar for the waiters. We apologize profusely for the misunderstanding, but I can... More 

Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Have visited this restaurant several times over the last few years. The food has always been fantastic, especially the range of wild game meat! However this time on 2 visits within a week the service has been below average, despite mentioning it to management on previous visits. Wether this is down to a busy time period 8-9.30 or not I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am extremely disappointed to hear that our service levels were not up to scratch. We take service very seriously and continuous in service training is done with our staff. I promise that we will address this with managers and waiters. There will not be a repeat of poor... More 

Kalmar, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Had a great time! Excellent food and service! Had the chicken skewer and it was the best chicken ever! I was there with my family and infant baby and we felt right at home!

Was this review helpful? Yes
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for this wonderful review. We are delighted that you had a pleasant experience. Kind Regards Barry More 

Guiseley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

Visited with touring companions on 30th Sept 2014 the place was packed but were found a table for six. The view overlooking the harbour was spectacular with the subdued lighting just right. The staff were friendly, welcoming and courteous and we were served with our drinks promptly. The food was very good and tasty when it arrived. The steaks were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for the wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience. Kind Regards Barry More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

Although the food is very nice and well presented, its a very busy restaurant so.... It takes some time for your food and drinks to arrive (my experience only) but its worth the wait. The bobotie is just awesome!!! Would order that every time! Wine is very good tasting. Atmosphere is very warm and friendly. A must.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for the wonderful review. We are happy that you enjoyed the Bobotie so much. Many thanks and we will pass this message onto the chef. Kind Regards Barry More 

Nuremberg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015 via mobile

we ate here on our first night in Cape Town. It was perfectly "ok" but really nothing more than that. That said, the steak was fine and the wine was very good value. Definitely couldn't complain at the bill, good value for money but not a "special" experience. Three stars about sums it up; definitely a solid reliable restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your honest response. We are disappointed to read that we didn't meet all your expectations. We have some wonderful reviews on this site and get huge compliments on a daily basis regarding the exceptional food and service at City Grill. We hope you will try us again in the near future. Hopefully we will then rock... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

The steaks and Ostrich were truly wonderful. The choice of wine were excellent as were the desserts also. The service was excellent as well. All topped off by the remarkable view of Table Mountain in the background.

Was this review helpful? Yes
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for the review. The ostrich is always a winner at City Grill. Thank you so much. Regards Barry More 

Herndon, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Our first dinner in Cape Town did not disappoint. The City Grill on Victoria Wharf is a class act. We had lamb chops and Ostrich Kabob with a delightful South African Pinotage. The service was prompt, polite and friendly. The food came in quick order, was warm and done as ordered and a manager was on hand to check to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this review

Hi Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We definitely care about every single guest at City Grill Steakhouse. We are very much a family restaurant and we try and ensure that all our guests have the best possible evening with us. Thank you for sharing your experience with other diners. We hope to see you again in the... More 

The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

We wanted to eat Kudu, but were somewhat dissappointed because the dish didn't actually have a lot of meat. Not like the steaks (where you know the amount of grams). Friendly service, nice location (at V& A waterfront harbour).

Was this review helpful? Yes
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are extremely disappointed that we couldn't wow you with our food. As you can see from the many reviews on this site, we generally do have the wow factor with our guests. We however appreciate your feedback on the Kudu and will investigate. Kind Regards Barry More 

Travelers who viewed City Grill also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Shop 155, Victoria Wharf | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 421 9820

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Barbecue, Hamburgers, Steakhouse, Grill

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine

Description

Established in 1999, the City Grill is the oldest steakhouse in the V&A Waterfront. We invite you to discover a truly South African experience… so gather family and friends for a feast of flavour at the City Grill! A place where food has substance, big appetites are essential and South Africa is the flavour of the month, every month!
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from City Grill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?