We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Grill

Shop 155, Victoria Wharf | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central, South Africa
+27(0)21 4219820
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hours:
Sun 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Mon - Thu 10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Fri 2:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sat 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Cuisines: Barbecue, Hamburgers, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Established in 1999, the City Grill is the oldest steakhouse in the V&A Waterfront. We invite you to discover a truly South African experience… so gather family and friends for a feast of flavour at the City Grill! A place where food has substance, big appetites are essential and South Africa is the flavour of the month, every month!
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    132
    35
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 NEW

Food was ok, but nothing that makes you want to rush out there again considering the price (due to premium location) Good wine and drinks list

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reading
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014 NEW via mobile

Whilst holidaying in Cape Town we decided on the City Grill on the basis that they serve ostrich as a speciality... And I love ostrich fillet! However, because their ostrich is delivered vacuum-sealed, swimming in marinade the natural taste and even structure is obliterated. Think ordering tuna steak and getting a fish cake!!!! The management tried to make amends by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this review

Hi Madam Thank you for taking the time to write your review and raise your comments on the Ostrich. As I believe everyone has a different palate and maybe the ostrich wasn't to your liking, but it is one of our most popular dishes on the menu and we get raving reviews about it on a daily basis. It is... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 NEW via mobile

The reception was great. The service exceptional. The food was out of this world. Great South African cuisine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014 NEW

So I was greeted by this Micky fella. He was splendid and helped me decide on what to order. I grabbed me a Steak Diane. And let me tell you folks. I am an Afrikaans boytjie that grew up with meat. I ate biltong before I drank my mother's milk. With that said. That Diane thing was like an explosion... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
england
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014 via mobile

We were overwhelmed by the number of food place at the Waterfront and this place was sold to us due to the chunky animal patterned blankets provided to guests when evening dinning. They were amazing and really did keep us cosy from the breezy evenings. We shared a prawn starter which was delicious, can't go wrong with seafood here. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this review

Hi Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are absolutely delighted to read that you had such a great experience with us. We value our customers and all feedback is wonderful, positive or negative. Thank you and we hope to see you back again soon. Regards Barry More

Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

The food was very interesting, real South African style - ostrich fillet - and delicious. My husband had a seafood entree that he loved.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for the wonderful review. We are delighted that you had a pleasant experience at our restaurant. We hope to see you back soon. Kind Regards Barry More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us by a family we met on our travels. It is located at the Victoria mall at the V&A Waterfront. As the name suggests, its menu consists mainly of meat dishes. The steak was delicious and was cooked to perfection. The staff were very efficient and there was a lovely atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this review

Hi We are delighted to read that your steak was done to perfection. This is music to my ears! Thank you for the wonderful review and we hope to see you back here soon. Regards Barry More

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I was terribly disappointed by the General Manager, Barry, who completely disregarded & disrespected me as a customer when I'd calmly made a request during my seating at the restaurant. He responded aggressively and loudly, telling me to "settle my bill and go" whilst none of the other City Grill staff who were present did anything to resolve the matter... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this review

Dear madam I would like to thank you for writing your comments, I do however feel that the record should be set straight: Please take note that you requested to order a meal from a neighboring restaurant and when you were told that this would not be possible, you started to argue with the managers within the restaurant about this.... More

Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Being winter time, we ate inside and the setting is fairly simple. But the food was really nice, and the service on par. I visited with friends who live nearby and their recommendation was great

Was this review helpful? Yes
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for the wonderful review. Kind Regards Barry More

Weybridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This was my second visit to the City Grill in a couple of months. The reason for returning was because the first visit was so memorable so my colleague and I had made a conscious decision to return. The steaks are just brilliant and the service is impeccable so I would recommend this restaurant as a definite visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed City Grill also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing