We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
14 Edward Place, Ballito, South Africa
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 58 Restaurants in Ballito
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $40
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    58
    18
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015 via mobile

We came for the 'special' - Paella + free bottle of wine - and received not just GREAT tasting food, but a generous portion as well. The prices are very much in line with the rest of Ballito - quality costs a rand or two more!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

The food quite expensive and was average at best. The service wasn't the most attentive. Everyone at our table said they wouldn't return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durban, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

Waited over 1 hour for 5 pizzas,we were the first to arrive and other guests only trickled in half an hour thereafter!Pizza base is frozen,not freshly made.The "Three cheeses pizza" had cheddar cheese on it and in general all pizzas were greasy and tasteless.Cannot understand how this place can have such an high ranking!If you are a seafood restaurant as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trevor W, Owner at Al Pescatore, responded to this review

I am shocked to see your scathing write up. I have been in business for 25 years and have made pizzas since 1989. We have never, ever served a frozen pizza base. Never the less, I would love to change your opinion of my restaurant. Please contact me on 082 775 7771, so that I can invite you back to... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015 via mobile

If you have kids, go for the dog pizza...:) Very normal, fish ia not recomended, if i had just my nose I would call it an Indian Restaurant...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trevor W, Owner at Al Pescatore, responded to this review

I'm saddened by the fact that you didn't enjoy our Fresh line Fish.Pity you didn't talk to me. The lovely curry smells your nose picked up was my Hawaiian Dream ...It was a huge hit this season and we had lots of takers.If you ever in the aria ,please pop in and Ill personally look after you and make it... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

I have been dining at Al Pescatore for well over 8 years now, in fact Trevor in his most hospitable way - opened his venue to host my engagement party there several years ago! Al Pescatore is known for Trevor, his absolute love for his work, his patrons, his passion and his GREAT food prepared with "Extra Love" Apart from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Trevor W, Owner at Al Pescatore, responded to this review

WOW !!! What a great write up ! I miss our special times we used to have around the bar , and missed you guys so much when you emigrated . Its good to have you back and hope we can have a game of " Lie Dice " again one day :)) Thanks " 2 NINES AND A TEN... More 

Albury Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

We went for lunch on the 31st December. We tried sitting outside but it was a bit too windy so then moved inside which was no problem to owner and waitress. You still have a view from inside as well. They were very busy with all the holiday makers. They have a cocktail menu now as well and my sister... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Trevor W, Owner at Al Pescatore, responded to this review

A big thanks for your review ! Its so nice to see that there are people out there that understand the pressure we work under in high season. Its not easy , but we try to keep the standards high under the pressure of hundreds of people.We did a big push on cocktails this December and didn't realize what a... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Sadly i cannot review the cuisine.we went to al pescatore after a morning on the beach.on arrival the waitress was most accomodating and set us a table for ten on the deck.we ordered drinks and started to browse through the menu while the waitress and another friendly assistant shuffeld umbrellas around us.a few minutes later a gentlemen rudely approuched us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Trevor W, Owner at Al Pescatore, responded to this review

Sadly your story is not true ! You rearranged my restaurant , causing customers to leave because you had taken all the umbrellas around you.Common decency is to let everyone have a bit of shade.One question is how did you manage to give me a ratting when you never ate in my establishment ? Is it because you related to... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014 via mobile

Lovely owner who is present and attentive to his guests. Fresh amazing food, great setting! Would recommend it to all

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Trevor W, Owner at Al Pescatore, responded to this review

Thank you for your Kind words. I love what I do and I meet such interesting people every day.Always welcome. Regards Trevor More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

What a great place! We just wanted a quick lunch and popped in at this place. We were greeted by both the door lady and owner even though the restaurant were quite full. Orders were taken swiftly and service was warm and friendly. Menu is absolutely Italian! Great menu, many a bit pricey, but not over the top. Food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Trevor W, Owner at Al Pescatore, responded to this review

Thank you for the write up . I pride myself on what I put into my pastas and pizzas.Only fresh is acceptable. We also have such good seafood ! You have got to try it :) Thanks Trevor. More 

Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

Food was superb, we had Crab Cakes and Foccaccia for starters. Mains - Seafood platter was AMAZING - Also the line fish special, the calzone and the Alfredo all top quality. The owner was there checking up on all the tables. Highly recommend this restaurant. We cant wait to visit Ballito and eat there again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Trevor W, Owner at Al Pescatore, responded to this review

Thanks for your great input ! You've clearly listened to the specialtys and chosen some great ones.We love creating these meals and seeing our customers enjoying them.Look forward to seeing you next seson. Trevor More 

Travelers who viewed Al Pescatore also viewed

Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Al Pescatore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Pescatore

Address: 14 Edward Place, Ballito, South Africa
Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  KwaZulu-Natal  >  Ballito
Open Hours:
Sunday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 10 - 40

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Al Pescatore staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?