We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 115 Sandton Restaurants

Michelangelos Piccolo Mondo

135 West Street | Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton 2196, South Africa (Formerly Michelangelo's Piccolo Mondo)
+ 27 (0) 11 282 7000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 115 Restaurants in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: True to its name, the Piccolo Mondo really is “a world in one”, combined with superb food, excellent wine and a sophisticated ambience. The Piccolo Mondo instantly turns your visit into a distinctive culinary experience.Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served seven days a week in this magnificent restaurant, which overlooks the Nelson Mandela Square.

Hotels travelers are raving about...

Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    27
    14
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014 NEW

Had the displeasure of dining here during restaurant week. The service was OK (not special but adequate) however the food was abysmal. Shrimp ravioli to start was really tiny and so bland we were all trying to recall from the menu what was meant to be in inside. Main was "mushroom risotto" this was the most disgusting risotto i have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014 NEW

I wasn't very impressed when I first visited this restaurant a while ago, but everyone raved about it, so we decided to try again for Restaurant week. I like the atmosphere. It's a sophisticated looking restaurant. The staff are friendly and cheerful. That's where it ends- this restaurant is totally let down by it's food which was bland and unimaginative.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichaelCDW, Manager at Michelangelos Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review

Dear SashSA, Thank you for taking the time to write a constructive review of your recent experience at the Michelangelo hotel and Piccolo Mondo restaurant as it is the only way we can improve. On behalf of my entire team and I, we would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the disappointment that you experienced on your last... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014 NEW

Great place..food amazing.. The best I have had....the waiter Aubery was perfect.Had the beef meal and was juicy and tender.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichaelCDW, Manager at Michelangelos Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review

Dear Gabzomwa, Thank you for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your visit. We are happy to hear you had a wonderful evening with us and hope to welcome you back again very soon to experience more of our signature experiences. On your next visit please do let mdewet@legacyhotels.co.za know... More

North Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

We had a very late breakfast of you could call it lunch. The buffet choices were very good and the menu was good. The service was a little slow, but since we were not in a hurry it didn't matter.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MichaelCDW, Manager at Michelangelos Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review

Dear Garth P, Our team are always more than delighted to read positive reviews and thank you so much for the wonderful comments. We pride ourselves on delivering personalized attention to our guests and always want to make you feel at home with us. On your next visit please do let mdewet@legacyhotels.co.za know as we would love to make you... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Went for High Tea for a friend's birthday. The restaurant is beautiful and the staff are very polite and helpful. The food was fantastic, was a little disappointed that some of the desserts weren't replenished. Still will visit again with a smaller group of people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichaelCDW, Manager at Michelangelos Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review

Dear AndzLSA, Thank you for your lovely review of our High Tea and we are delighted to hear that you and your friends had a wonderful Birthday with us. Our employees are dedicated to our guests and this is apparent in their personalised and attentive service which has earned them this splendid review. I hope to welcome you back again... More

Kimberley
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

I wanted close friends of mine to experience the Michael Angelo High Tea experience as I had experienced a few times before. I chose a Saturday afternoon to go with them and celebrate my birthday. Unfortunately there were a few other ladies that had the same idea. It felt cramped and there were queues to wait in line to get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MichaelCDW, Manager at Michelangelos Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review

Dear AngelaBruhin, We are truly saddened to read this review and that your experience at Piccolo Mondo Restaurant was not what you expected it to be. To read that you did not receive the service we pride ourselves on delivering during your visit has lead to a full investigation into the matter and we will be sure to handle this... More

Gauteng
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

The service and food at the Piccolo Mondo at the Michelangelo Hotel is outstanding and the chef deserves an award. The waiters were extremely helpful and friendly and the Sommelier very knowledgeable. I have been before for breakfast and the breakfast is also outstanding. I can certainly recommend this when you visit Sandton.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichaelCDW, Manager at Michelangelos Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review

Dear Brendenoord, We cannot even begin to thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review for future travellers. We are thrilled to hear that you received the very best service during your stay. Our staff love to go out of their way to make your Piccolo Mondo experience one you will not soon forget and reading... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014 via mobile

Thanks for the good service especially for the staffs Thabang and Mark. Everything is well organized and pleasing. Well done.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichaelCDW, Manager at Michelangelos Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review

Dear Maruthie, Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. Our Chefs and entire team are happy that they could exceed your expectations of your dining experience, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards, Restaurant Manager, Michael de Wet More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Beautiful venue,our waiter Patience a gem of a person and food tasty well presented and the Creme Brûlée a visual delight!!Next time I will bring my wife...Be blessed and keep up the excellent work

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichaelCDW, Manager at Michelangelos Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review

JohanAntoinette R, Thank you for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are happy to hear you had a wonderful journey with us and hope to welcome you back again very soon to experience more of our signature dishes. Kind regards, Restaurant Manager, Michael de Wet More

Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

We celebrated our anniversary at Piccolo Mondo and were treated to an excellent meal and service. The staff went out of their way and placed rose petals on our table, surprised us with special treats from the kitchen and were friendly and attentive at all times.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichaelCDW, Manager at Michelangelos Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review

Dear DaveStuart, Thank you for your wonderful review of Piccolo Mondo at the Michelangelo Hotel, and thank you for joining us on such a special occasion. Our dedicated team of chefs pride themselves on creating the ultimate experience in dining, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed every moment. Kind regards, Restaurant Manager, Michael de Wet More

Travelers who viewed Michelangelos Piccolo Mondo also viewed

Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Michelangelos Piccolo Mondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelos Piccolo Mondo

Address: 135 West Street | Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton 2196, South Africa (Formerly Michelangelo's Piccolo Mondo)
Phone Number: + 27 (0) 11 282 7000
Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Sandton
Cuisine: Italian, Mediterranean, Contemporary, International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing