We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Michelangelos Piccolo Mondo

Certificate of Excellence
Italian, International, Mediterranean, Contemporary
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
135 West Street | Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton 2196, South Africa (Formerly Michelangelo's Piccolo Mondo)
+ 27 (0) 11 282 7000
Website
Add hours for Michelangelos Piccolo Mondo and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Coffee & Tea, Late Night, Reservations
Description: True to its name, the Piccolo Mondo really is “a world in one”, combined...
True to its name, the Piccolo Mondo really is “a world in one”, combined with superb food, excellent wine and a sophisticated ambience. The Piccolo Mondo instantly turns your visit into a distinctive culinary experience.Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served seven days a week in this magnificent restaurant, which overlooks the Nelson Mandela Square.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 225 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 141
    Excellent
  • 49
    Very good
  • 19
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
felt like a princess

loved the atmosphere, private waiter for the entire evening, taking care of every whim and need. a bit pricey, but worth every cent .

5 of 5 starsReviewed May 27, 2015
545Veronica
,
Johannesburg, South Africa
Good for:
  • Special occasions
  • Romantic
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 NEW

loved the atmosphere, private waiter for the entire evening, taking care of every whim and need. a bit pricey, but worth every cent .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015 NEW

I would like to thank Godfrey for outstanding service offered to my nephew and I on 15 May 2015. Thank you to the friendly staff as well, where upon our arrival just made the start of our breakfast experience so awesome. To Godfrey especially, who made us feel so welcome and more importantly made my nephew's day. It was my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, South Africa
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 NEW

We had breakfast there 3 mornings and enjoyed it thoroughly' Sefanelo looked after us and entertained us at another level. His positive attitude and effortless service was unparalleled! Thanks to Henry which we met the last morning! You two made it personal and a lovely experience. Compliments to the chef.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichaelCDW, Manager at Michelangelos Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review

Dear Heilavh, Our team are always more than delighted to read positive reviews and thank you so much for the wonderful comments. We pride ourselves on delivering personalized attention to our guests and always want to make you feel at home with us. I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to my team, we truly appreciate you... More 

Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015 NEW

Our experience was terrible. Forget the slow service.The food was really bad. From a bone in a quail dish to raw food and fish that tasted like paper; I'm not sure what's worse, the waiters lack of care or the chefs lack of skill. We were at the supposed number 3 on TripAdvisor last night; Signature, and we had the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichaelCDW, Manager at Michelangelos Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review

Dear Sandra M, We are truly saddened to hear your dining experience was not to your liking and this is certainly not the standard we adhere to as we strive for faultless service. I have taken your constructive feedback into consideration as it is only with such feedback we can continually improve on the service we offer our guests. I... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015 NEW

This is a beautiful hotel and a lovely restaurant. I stayed at the hotel so ended up having a wonderful full spread breakfast each morning. I did however also have a quick lunch here and enjoyed every single bit of it. The sandwiches or wraps ( you can put the filling of your choice in either ) are extremely filling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichaelCDW, Manager at Michelangelos Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review

Dear RoxanneBamboat, Thank you for your wonderful review of Piccolo Mondo restaurant, we are extremely happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future and please do let mdewet@legacyhotels.co.za know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us. Kind regards, Michael de... More 

Paris, France
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015 NEW

Went there with my colleague, the prices were expensive for South Africa (1500 ZAR for 2), but despite promising menu, the taste was average, very salty and peppery. I took a duck liver as a starter, and lamb as main course, with a creme brûlée as a dessert. It was ok, not worth the price. Good service though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichaelCDW, Manager at Michelangelos Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review

Dear Auditor_g-s, We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your visit. We hope to welcome you back soon to extend the true experience that is expected from Piccolo Mondo Restaurant. Please would you be so kind as to email mdewet@legacyhotels.co.za on your next visit so that I can ensure it is a memorable one. Kind regards,... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

This visit was to relax with a friend over a meal and chat around. We got there and to our surprise our booking had been cancelled without our knowledge. They managed a table, evening wasn't all that busy though. They made us feel welcomed and special. They have loads for a meat eater but just mushrooms for a vegetarian in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichaelCDW, Manager at Michelangelos Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review

Dear Rekha K, Our team are always more than delighted to read positive reviews and thank you so much for the wonderful comments. We pride ourselves on delivering personalized attention to our guests and always want to make you feel at home with us. I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to my team, we truly appreciate... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

Delicious warm bread while waiting for my main dish. Unexpected complementary surprise appetiser of beef carpaccio with jelly,..very tasty. I order beef slices with pesto pasta and roasted tomatoes - awesome !

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichaelCDW, Manager at Michelangelos Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review

Dear Rom928, Thank you for your wonderful review of Piccolo Mondo restaurant, we are extremely happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future and please do let mdewet@legacyhotels.co.za know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us. Kind regards, Michael de... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

I booked on 08 May to have breakfast at Piccolo Mondo on Mothers Day. We got to the restaurant and got told that there was no booking under my name. After a bit of waiting we were told there was a table for us but it was just no written down in the bookings. Breakfast was buffet and since we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichaelCDW, Manager at Michelangelos Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review

Dear Nishi775, Thank you for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your visit. We are happy to hear you had a wonderful morning with us and hope to welcome you back again very soon to experience more of our signature events. On your next visit please do let mdewet@legacyhotels.co.za know... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

A group of girfriends met up for High Tea and we loved the Lindt High Tea. The array of savoury and sweet options was amazing and the service from our waiter, Prince, was attentive yet unobtrusive. Excellent value for money. We look forward to visiting again soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichaelCDW, Manager at Michelangelos Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review

Dear Rhiannon975, Our team are always more than delighted to read positive reviews and thank you so much for the wonderful comments. We pride ourselves on delivering personalized attention to our guests. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your High tea with us and on your next visit please do let mdewet@legacyhotels.co.za know as we would love to make you... More 

Travelers who viewed Michelangelos Piccolo Mondo also viewed

Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Michelangelos Piccolo Mondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 135 West Street | Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton 2196, South Africa (Formerly Michelangelo's Piccolo Mondo)
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Sandton
  • Phone Number: + 27 (0) 11 282 7000

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Italian, International, Mediterranean, Contemporary

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions, Romantic

Description

True to its name, the Piccolo Mondo really is “a world in one”, combined with superb food, excellent wine and a sophisticated ambience. The Piccolo Mondo instantly turns your visit into a distinctive culinary experience.Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served seven days a week in this magnificent restaurant, which overlooks the Nelson Mandela Square.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Michelangelos Piccolo Mondo staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?