We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kirstenbosch National Botanical Gardens | Rhodes Drive, Newlands, South Africa
+27 21 762 9585
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 12 Restaurants in Newlands
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Cuisines: African, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Acclaimed as one of the great botanical gardens of the world, this breath-taking backdrop of nature is now part of the warm, friendly and relaxed moyo African charm - beautiful vistas, Afro entertainment and cuisine composed of the best of African produce. Moyo Kirstenbosch is nestled inside Kirstenbosch National Botanical Gardens situated at the foot of one of the 7 wonders of the world. There is an entrance fee to visit the majestic garden.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    21
    15
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

Moyo at Kirstenbosch should be avoided at all costs. It is an experience that detracts from the wonderful experience of the Kirstenbosch Gardens. Visited during December with family from overseas. The hostess staff at the entrance made us wait for ages in a queue for a table in an empty restaurant. When we complained the staff where rude and surly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoyoAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at Moyo, responded to this review

Dear NATO-SA We want to sincerely apologize for the unpleasant incident you had at our restaurant, your comments were most troubling. We would however like to thank you for bringing this to our attention, without your feedback we might never have known of it. It is our highest priority to provide our guests with an exceptional dining experience and in... More 

Grenoble, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

I didn't expect this restaurant to be so good! At first I thought this is going to be a mediocre one, placed at the entrance of the Kirstenbosch gardens! But to my surprise, it was one of the best EVER in my life! The staff were very helpful! Quick! and always around! The food was of excellent quality! we ordered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoyoAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at Moyo, responded to this review

Dear Ali_Food_Connaisseur It is always a thrill to get such positive feedback from our customers. We strive every day to ensure our guests have an unforgettable experience at our restaurant. Thank you so much for taking the time to share this with us,it means a lot to us and our staff. If you do visit us again please ask for... More 

UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

First off: Kirstenbosch is my happy place. I adore the gardens and would happily move into them to be a forest dweller if they would let me. Moyo is a brilliant addition. I've always loved the Kirstenbosch restaurant and I think Moyo is a perfect setting for breakfast, lunch or dinner (and definitely for a cocktail date). I went twice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoyoAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at Moyo, responded to this review

Dear heccaet Thank you so much for taking the time to share this wonderful feedback with us, it means so much to the entire team who work very hard to ensure that our customers have a great moyo experience. Next time you visit us, please ask for Carmen so that we can thank you for your compliments personally. We appreciate... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

I had breakfast at Moyo on Sunday morning - such a stunning setting in the gardens. We were greeted and seated promptly but then it took a long time to be served even though the restaurant was almost empty. The breakfast we ordered were great - well presented, tasty and value for money. The other detraction was the loud music... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoyoAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at Moyo, responded to this review

Dear Tranchie-Tess We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us at moyo Kirstenbosch. Our team works really hard to make sure that our guests have a good experience, so thank you for sharing this with us. We will be sure to pass your compliments along to our chefs. Your commentary regarding the music has been taken into... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

I love Moyo Restaurants but sadly the Kirstenbosch Gardens one does not come up to standard. The setting of course is beautiful, after all it is in the Botanical Gardens. We ordered the Moyo burgers. It looked good but had simply no taste. The roll was doughy and the lettuce leaf, yes leaf, was soggy. The patty had absolutely no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoyoAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at Moyo, responded to this review

Dear Lynn A Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your experience at our restaurant. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations and would like you to know that we value your comments and will take whatever steps are necessary to ensure that incidences such as this do not happen again in the future.... More 

Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014 via mobile

we visited this restaurant as we had gone to see the gardens,our table was delightfully overlooking the beautifully landscaped gardens.unfortunately the waiter kept getting most of our requests incorrectly,probably because he was under so much pressure seemed to be spread thinly.my husband's starter came at the same time with main course,we had no cutlery or serviettes at the table.i ordered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoyoAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at Moyo, responded to this review

Dear Paidamwoyo We want to sincerely apologize for the bad service that you experienced at our restaurant. Making our guests feel welcome and well cared for is our highest priority, so it is very disappointing to us that you did not experience the level of service and attention that our guests have come to expect. Thank you very much for... More 

Secunda, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 via mobile

Even when we arrived there as they were opening we could order main meals. Food was average, but the surroundings made up for this. Service....you need time on your hands.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

The worst dining experience ever! Food is so bad its inedible. I could not even recognise the ingredients, ok, except for the salad, which still had wet lettuce leaves. Service? I'm not sure one could even call it that. I spent the evening fighting to hold onto my drink. The waiter was determined to clear ALL the glasses - full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

An overseas guest, visiting Cape Town for the first time, had her card details cloned at Moyo in Kirstenbosch. The bank managed to pinpoint the exact location of where this happened and has refunded her the 1000 Pounds that had been fraudulently withdrawn. Be alert and mindful when paying with your card - never let it out of your sight!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brighton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

Just a warning to all visitors to Kirstenbosch, I had my card details stolen, card number and PIN, at Moyo restaurant in Kirstenbosch gardens. The waiter brought the card machine to the table and I used my card to pay for my items. On the first attempt, the transaction didn't work. the waiter made an excuse saying sometimes this happened... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Moyo also viewed

Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Moyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moyo

Address: Kirstenbosch National Botanical Gardens | Rhodes Drive, Newlands, South Africa
Phone Number: +27 21 762 9585
Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Newlands
Open Hours:
Sunday 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Monday 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Tuesday 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Wednesday 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Thursday 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Friday 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Saturday 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Cuisine: African, Family Fare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Moyo and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Moyo staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?