We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moyo

African, Family Fare
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Kirstenbosch National Botanical Gardens | Rhodes Drive, Newlands, South Africa
+27 21 762 9585
Website
Today
9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Acclaimed as one of the great botanical gardens of the world, this...
Acclaimed as one of the great botanical gardens of the world, this breath-taking backdrop of nature is now part of the warm, friendly and relaxed moyo African charm - beautiful vistas, Afro entertainment and cuisine composed of the best of African produce. Moyo Kirstenbosch is nestled inside Kirstenbosch National Botanical Gardens situated at the foot of one of the 7 wonders of the world. There is an entrance fee to visit the majestic garden.
read more
Good for:
Breakfast/Brunch
Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 78 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 12
    Excellent
  • 22
    Very good
  • 17
    Average
  • 11
    Poor
  • 16
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Look at the view

Mayo is set in the middle of the beautiful gardens of Kirstenbosch and it is a lovely looking restaurant with views to die for. The service was extremely good if a little intrusive. I don't want face painting over lunch - I'm not eight. The food is a poor runner up to the location and like much... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed February 24, 2015
60alexandra
,
London, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015 NEW

Mayo is set in the middle of the beautiful gardens of Kirstenbosch and it is a lovely looking restaurant with views to die for. The service was extremely good if a little intrusive. I don't want face painting over lunch - I'm not eight. The food is a poor runner up to the location and like much of what is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015 via mobile

The reviews for moyo in Kirstenbosch seem pretty binary - people love it or hate it. Our two experiences during our visits to the Botanical Gardens were both positive. The sandwiches, burgers and wraps were all well presented and tasty. The service was friendly and attentive. We would have no hesitation eating there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoyoAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at Moyo, responded to this review

Dear Martin Thank you for your positive review. While compliments are always appreciated, we also hope that you would tell us if we ever disappoint you. If you visit moyo Kirstenbosch again, please mail us at kirstenbosch@moyo.com the next time you visit us so that we may thank you personally. Thank you again for your kind comments and patronage. We... More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Kirstenbosch Gardens are beautiful, so we decided to book Moyos for a family reunion - party if 18. Beautiful location, great decor, average food - and let down by dishonest service staff! We enjoyed many beautiful meals and fantastic service at several restaurants during our stay in Cape Town and expected more from Moyo - it is on the higher... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Stafford
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

We really enjoyed our late light lunch here. The welcome was friendly and service efficient. We had the samosas, which were the best I have ever eaten, and the ostrich nachos, which was a huge plateful and delicious. The table outside had a beautiful view over the garden and it was a lovely ending to a perfect visit. Hopefully the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoyoAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at Moyo, responded to this review

Dear Wrinkly Thank you for the positive feedback.This type of thoughtful feedback is extremely helpful and important to us in delivering the highest levels of quality and service to our valuable customers.We sincerely appreciate your business and thank you again for taking the time in sharing your moyo experience with us. If you ever visit moyo again in the near... More 

Cheshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

Notice some bad reviews but we found it great. It wasn't busy and we were seated outside under a colourful gazebo overlooking the gardens which are one of the best we have been to. Chips were really good as was my salad and my wife's meal which came with the chips. We had two cocktails which were both lovely and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MoyoAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at Moyo, responded to this review

Dear Paul and Helen It is always great to get fan mail, particularly when it is as positive as your experience was. We strive every day to ensure our guests have a wonderful meal and a marvellous time at our restaurant and it is extremely encouraging for someone to tell us. Thank you so much for taking the time to... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

We are local and thought we would visit Moyo - kirstenbosch We ordered lunch and the food in general was terrible Our daughter had ordered a burger as she wanted something light.The burger arrived well presented but as stringy we thought they had mince rope or string along with the meats So much sinew in the burger patty - it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MoyoAdmin, Public Relations Manager at Moyo, responded to this review

Dear Urisha We want to sincerely apologise for the unpleasant food experience you had at our restaurant. Your comments were most concerning, but I want to thank you for bringing this to our attention. Without your feedback we are not able to improve. It is our highest priority to provide our guests with an exceptional dining experience and in this... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

Moyo at Kirstenbosch should be avoided at all costs. It is an experience that detracts from the wonderful experience of the Kirstenbosch Gardens. Visited during December with family from overseas. The hostess staff at the entrance made us wait for ages in a queue for a table in an empty restaurant. When we complained the staff where rude and surly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MoyoAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at Moyo, responded to this review

Dear NATO-SA We want to sincerely apologize for the unpleasant incident you had at our restaurant, your comments were most troubling. We would however like to thank you for bringing this to our attention, without your feedback we might never have known of it. It is our highest priority to provide our guests with an exceptional dining experience and in... More 

Grenoble, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

I didn't expect this restaurant to be so good! At first I thought this is going to be a mediocre one, placed at the entrance of the Kirstenbosch gardens! But to my surprise, it was one of the best EVER in my life! The staff were very helpful! Quick! and always around! The food was of excellent quality! we ordered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoyoAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at Moyo, responded to this review

Dear Ali_Food_Connaisseur It is always a thrill to get such positive feedback from our customers. We strive every day to ensure our guests have an unforgettable experience at our restaurant. Thank you so much for taking the time to share this with us,it means a lot to us and our staff. If you do visit us again please ask for... More 

UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

First off: Kirstenbosch is my happy place. I adore the gardens and would happily move into them to be a forest dweller if they would let me. Moyo is a brilliant addition. I've always loved the Kirstenbosch restaurant and I think Moyo is a perfect setting for breakfast, lunch or dinner (and definitely for a cocktail date). I went twice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoyoAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at Moyo, responded to this review

Dear heccaet Thank you so much for taking the time to share this wonderful feedback with us, it means so much to the entire team who work very hard to ensure that our customers have a great moyo experience. Next time you visit us, please ask for Carmen so that we can thank you for your compliments personally. We appreciate... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

I had breakfast at Moyo on Sunday morning - such a stunning setting in the gardens. We were greeted and seated promptly but then it took a long time to be served even though the restaurant was almost empty. The breakfast we ordered were great - well presented, tasty and value for money. The other detraction was the loud music... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MoyoAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at Moyo, responded to this review

Dear Tranchie-Tess We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us at moyo Kirstenbosch. Our team works really hard to make sure that our guests have a good experience, so thank you for sharing this with us. We will be sure to pass your compliments along to our chefs. Your commentary regarding the music has been taken into... More 

Travelers who viewed Moyo also viewed

Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Moyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Kirstenbosch National Botanical Gardens | Rhodes Drive, Newlands, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Newlands
  • Phone Number: +27 21 762 9585

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: African, Family Fare

Description

Acclaimed as one of the great botanical gardens of the world, this breath-taking backdrop of nature is now part of the warm, friendly and relaxed moyo African charm - beautiful vistas, Afro entertainment and cuisine composed of the best of African produce. Moyo Kirstenbosch is nestled inside Kirstenbosch National Botanical Gardens situated at the foot of one of the 7 wonders of the world. There is an entrance fee to visit the majestic garden.
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Moyo and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Moyo staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?