We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 734 Johannesburg Restaurants

Walnut Grove

Sandton | Sandton City, Johannesburg, South Africa
0117836111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 734 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $20
Hours:
Sun - Sat 7:00 am - 6:00 pm
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Mediterranean, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: An exciting new eating concept in the heart of Sandton City. Come and dine under the shade of our family tree and one of Africa's largest chandeliers.

Hotels travelers are raving about...

Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    28
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014 NEW

great restaurant in middle of santon city shopping centre. loads to choose from on the menu... the supreme burger was gorgeous....with tomato relish just perfect. I was a littlevdisappointed that they use frozen chips. The cakes looked amazinv but main course was so filling I just didnt have any room left over. milkshake was thick and creamy with a white... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014 NEW

Beautifully served salad and cakes. Lovely atmosphere and tasty food, I would visit this place again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Some say that you can tell a lot about a place by the look of their restroom- and the Walnut Grove's ladies' room is exquisite!! I usually find pleasure in new and unique things which is represented by the Walnut Grove's location and through its interior decor and atmosphere. Their range of sweet treats are attractive to the eye and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

What a lovely place, i often visit with my Girlfriend and bring family on the occasional Sunday. They never disappoint, management / Owners are always available. I could not help read the previous comment on Rats and must comment on this the Food court has a serious issue, on many occasions i have seeing them run around and unfortunately there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ElleAth, Owner at Walnut Grove, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your wonderful comments and for helping us try to resolve some issues with previous reviewers. Your support is greatly appreciated and we look forward to having you back with us again soon. More

Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Was here for a catch up with a friend. She saw a rat running across the entire floor, took some food under the table and we both saw the rat running back up to the other side of the restaurant. When we called the manager he shrugged and said since they are next to the food court there's nothing to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ElleAth, Owner at Walnut Grove, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review. We are absolutely horrified to hear what happened to you as we strive for excellent customer experiences. As the previous comments suggest unfortunately this is a problem that is happening in the Sandton City Food Court. We are working really hard with them to try make sure the... More

jhb
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

By entering the walnut grove you feel the ambiance, the buzz the atmosphere, the waiters, the entire place is simply amazing.. The cakes upon the entrance, the menu so unique, the service very attentive, my Family and i had sticky finger board which was so yummy my son was licking his fingers, my daughter had a alice of Rainbow cake... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ElleAth, Owner at Walnut Grove, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your incredible review. It is reviews like this that make us strive to do our very best every day. We hope you will visit us again soon and we look forward to keeping up the good service and experience. More

Krugersdorp, South Africa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

We had a family outing and were at the Sandton convention centre and decided to have lunch at Walnut Grove afterwards. Although very busy we did not wait long for our burgers to arrive. These were big portions and we ended up taking our rainbow cake (for dessert) home. The cake was freshly prepared and immediately catches the eye when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ElleAth, Owner at Walnut Grove, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed our Rainbow Cake and look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best Team Walnut Grove More

Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

So I used to come here quite frequently and my last visit will be just that. The last. So the service was terrible and we were the only people in the restaurant. I orders the scones and a bran muffin. The scones were as hard as rock, there were egg shells and hair in my muffin. And to make matters... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ElleAth, Owner at Walnut Grove, responded to this review

Good Morning from the Walnut Grove Team, We are so sorry to hear about your bad experience at Walnut Grove. This is not something we are accustomed to and take these allegations very seriously. If you could please email us on hello@walnutgrove.co.za we would very much like to find out who the manager was that 'assisted' you that evening as... More

Blantyre, Malawi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014 via mobile

Have being coming here since Sandton was built. Walnut grove has changed ownership 2 or 3 times at least and each time we are a little more disappointed. The location is great but everything else is average.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ElleAth, Owner at Walnut Grove, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are very sorry that you feel we have lost our 'charm'. This is still the same family-owned business which has been owned by our family for the last 25 years so I am not sure why you have suggested a change of ownership when it hasn't been.... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

We had dinner there with our two young sons. • Great location within Sandton City • My vegetable soup was incredible. Full of tasty, chunky vegetables. • The children’s burgers are way too small. • Their lamb chops were nothing to write home about and way too pricey! • The service was fair. • Some of their meals are overpriced... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ElleAth, Owner at Walnut Grove, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review. We take all your feedback on board and will try and improve where we need to so that hopefully we can impress you the next time you visit us. With thanks Team Walnut Grove More

Travelers who viewed Walnut Grove also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Walnut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing