We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Walnut Grove

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Bakery, Coffee Shop, Mediterranean, Café
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Sandton | Sandton City, Johannesburg, South Africa
0117836111
Website
Today
7:00 am - 6:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 7:00 am - 6:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: An exciting new eating concept in the heart of Sandton City. Come and dine...
An exciting new eating concept in the heart of Sandton City. Come and dine under the shade of our family tree and one of Africa's largest chandeliers.
read more
Good for:
Breakfast/Brunch
Dinner
Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 97 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 36
    Excellent
  • 39
    Very good
  • 11
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Best in Sandton City - slightly pricey and not enough veg options though

First up, let me state that this is one of my go to establishments in the Sandton City Mall. Sandton City can boast a lot of fine shops, yet finding a good restaurant is not as easy. For this specific reason, they are quite busy at most times. I have probably visited this place on no less than 10... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed February 3, 2015
Deepesh G
,
Johannesburg, South Africa
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Dinner
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

First up, let me state that this is one of my go to establishments in the Sandton City Mall. Sandton City can boast a lot of fine shops, yet finding a good restaurant is not as easy. For this specific reason, they are quite busy at most times. I have probably visited this place on no less than 10 times... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
West Sussex
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

I have been here a few times and know their salads are usually large and very tasty. This time I had a salmon sandwich which was substantial although I found it rather pricey, compared to other eateries in the centre, also the service this time took a lot longer. They have a great selection of cakes which are of all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pune
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

We stepped in to the Walnut Grove expecting a great experience. The logo and the winding stairs kind of give set your mind in a high gear of expectations. Unfortunately the fixed aspects of the place - décor, furniture etc were good, but the other aspects were bad - the table was not cleaned properly, had food and napkin bits... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ElleAth, Owner at Walnut Grove, responded to this review

We would like to firstly thank you for taking the time to write to us about your experience at Walnut Grove. We are grateful that you found our decor and style to be positive . However, we are concerned with your experience. Please could you email us directly to let us know what date and time your visited as we... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

Beautiful restuarant, with unique furniture and lighting. We had the fish and chips that was great, they were willing to swop side dishes that we did not like, even the rice. We also had the salmon and avo starter which was fresh, but the amount of cream cheese was a bit overwhelming. Service was okay, the only really bad aspect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ElleAth, Owner at Walnut Grove, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of our restaurant. We have taken your feedback on board in regards to the cream cheese on our salmon dish and hopefully improve on that in the future. In regards to your issues regarding children in the restaurant. We are a family run restaurant run by the same family... More 

Johannesburg
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

This used to be the most fuddy-duddy, tired restaurant in Sandton City but they had the most comfortable chairs to sink into after a full-day's shopping ;-). However, their recent make-over is sensational! Really great food, surprisingly adventurous. The many little surprises in décor and ambience continue to delight and I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ElleAth, Owner at Walnut Grove, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for the lovely review you wrote about our restaurant. We particularly like the fact that you have appreciated our make-over. We have taken great pride in pushing the look, feel and taste of restaurant to new dining levels. We look forward to hosting you in the future and continuing to impress you. Kind regards,... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

walnut grove in sandton city. the food is excellent and the portions good. however if ever you want quick and efficient service do not go there. the wait staff are poorly managed and you will find that you will wait ages for a table while it takes forever for the tables to be cleared away. there is a lack of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ElleAth, Owner at Walnut Grove, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We have taken your review very seriously and will be addressing any service related issues. As you can see from previous reviewers we have received some excellent reviews regarding our service. However, obviously, it has not been enough and this is not what we expect from our managers and waiters.... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

The food is good and the sweet stuff is delicious. However I'm a little disappointed that to change chips for the healthier option of a salad you have to pay. Other than that a very nice place that's open till about 11pm daily.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ElleAth, Owner at Walnut Grove, responded to this review

Thanks very much for getting in touch and leaving such positive remarks in regards to our establishment. We truly appreciate your feedback and will take it all on board especially the issue with the price of the side salad. Kind Regards, Team Walnut Grove More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Highly recommended to get out of the buzz of the Sandton shopping zombies and enjoy some good food and comfortable seating. Tramazzi and Panini are good choices for lunch; portions are generous. Cakes are fresh and should not be missed!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ElleAth, Owner at Walnut Grove, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review about us. We are thrilled you have enjoyed such a wide variety of food from our menu and we look forward to your visits in the future. All the best Team Walnut Grove More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

I recently stopped by Walnut Grove with my husband for a quick bite before going into a movie and had a horrible experience with the food! The nachos were dry, cold and hard. Tasteless! Trying to convey the message to the manager/owner was also a waste as you get a arrogant reply 'So don't eat here next time'. Shocking!

Was this review helpful? Yes
ElleAth, Owner at Walnut Grove, responded to this review

Good Morning, I was very disturbed to read your review on Tripadvisor and especially the customer experience you received from Management. I am astounded by this as you can see from previous reviewers we take our service very seriously and this sort of response is unacceptable, we would like to resend the correct people into training. I would therefore like... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

My husband and I had dinner at Walnut Grove on Saturday night and it was a huge let-down. The food was OK but the service was AWFUL. The food took longer than it should have to arrive and once it did arrive the waiter seemed to have disappeared off the face of the earth. We waiting with the dirty dishes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ElleAth, Owner at Walnut Grove, responded to this review

We are deeply concerned about the review that you have posted online. As you can see from previous reviews we pride ourselves on good service and a good experience and we would like to know more details regarding your encounter at our establishment. Could you please email us at hello@walnutgrove.co.za so that we can rectify these issues by sending certain... More 

Travelers who viewed Walnut Grove also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Walnut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Sandton | Sandton City, Johannesburg, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Johannesburg
  • Phone Number: 0117836111

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 10 - 20
  • Cuisine: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Mediterranean, Café

Description

An exciting new eating concept in the heart of Sandton City. Come and dine under the shade of our family tree and one of Africa's largest chandeliers.
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 am - 6:00 pm
Monday
7:00 am - 6:00 pm
Tuesday
7:00 am - 6:00 pm
Wednesday
7:00 am - 6:00 pm
Thursday
7:00 am - 6:00 pm
Friday
7:00 am - 6:00 pm
Saturday
7:00 am - 6:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Walnut Grove staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?