We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Local Grill

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
7th Avenue & 3rd Avenue, Parktown North, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
+27 11 880 1946
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon 6:00 pm - 10:00 am
Mon - Sat 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Tue - Fri 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sat 6:00 pm - 10:00 am
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Best Steakhouse in South Africa awarded by The Wolftrap steakhouse...
Best Steakhouse in South Africa awarded by The Wolftrap steakhouse championships. Offering kitchen tours and beef courses. Beef all aged on the premises and cut to order.
read more
Good for:
Entertaining clients
Reservations
Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 197 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 109
    Excellent
  • 59
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
The very best

I have visited the Local Grill over the past few years. It remains tops. We hosted international guests , they were blown away by the quality of meat great service and top quality wines that we enjoyed. Steve and his team do a great job , and it is made so much more pleasant by the individual... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed February 20, 2015
EONJoburg
,
Joburg
via mobile
Good for:
  • Entertaining clients
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joburg
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015 via mobile

I have visited the Local Grill over the past few years. It remains tops. We hosted international guests , they were blown away by the quality of meat great service and top quality wines that we enjoyed. Steve and his team do a great job , and it is made so much more pleasant by the individual visit to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your feedback. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

After my third visit, trying to understand why the restaurant is popular, I still fail to see the logic. The steaks are great (if not a tad pricey), as are the seasonal vegetables, but the service is painfully slow, unattentive and they do not have stock of items offered on the menu. No oysters was the start to our experience,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this review

Hi stuarthg, your review is constructive and appreciated and it upsets me to read this. Thank you. Poor, slow service is unacceptable and I apologise. We do daily training and respond to all feedback, good or bad. We are an owner run restaurant and spend a great deal of time trying to perfect our offering on all levels. I would... More 

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

On the steak corner, with various steak houses we enjoyed a good steak, with a tour through the freezer with an explanation on the meats of the house - interesting. Good vibe in the restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your much appreciated feedback. Regards from us all.... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

On 8 January we had dinner at the Local Grill, unfortunately it did not live up to the reviews. The food is totally overpriced, the meals are pricey and you pay extra for any sides, the service was apathetic and the food was very average. Better places in Johannesburg

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this review

joburger985 thank you for your feedback, we are working on the service but sides are included with mains, important that we make that clear and that our immediate exchange policy is our promise to deliver on your expectations, apologies for not exceeding yours. Regards Steve More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015 via mobile

Given the recent hype about the Local Grill, we decided to finally try it. Although there is a distinct lack of great restaurants in JHB, the one thing that we do well is a simple steak, and there are many reasonable options in the area. We therefore expected the Local Grill to be a cut above, deserving of its accolades.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this review

Dear PatBar2, Thank you for your constructive comments. Your feedback was the first piece of reality since I returned from my vacation. I am totally shocked by what was clearly not our usual service or product delivery. We have an immediate exchange policy and kitchen tours that are part of The Local Grill's firm commitment to delivering on your expectation.... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

I feel riped off and disappointed they got our orders wrong. If you dont know how to cook a steak google it and stay at home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this review

WOW, how does one respond to feedback like this? We do everything possible, including offering every diner a kitchen tour and ensuring that every table is check on by an owner or manager. Our immediate exchange policy that is our absolute commitment to delivering the best experience we can. If we did not deliver on this we sincerely apologise. At... More 

Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

Local Grill is situated in the wonderful restaurant district of Jo'burg, Parktown North. A lovely sidewalk restaurant with good service and a good wine list. The meat was actually quite average though and I was surprised by this as it holds the coveted title of SA's best steakhouse. I had the fillet, asked for it medium- it arrived overdone and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your feedback. Sincere apologies for not delivering on your expectations. We offer an immediate exchange policy that is our commitment to ensuring that every meal served is excellent. The tour of the kitchen is a further opportunity to demonstrate the effort we make to source the best beef in South Africa. The beef is then aged... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014 via mobile

If you're a dedicated carnivore this place is a must visit. Speak to management and take a tour of the back to find out more about what a real steak is about. Great business venue - they can give you a separate dining area for larger groups. Always a win with my foreign visitors. Unfortunately everything else, from service to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive comments and support. Regards Steve More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

Great restaurant! Excellent food! Super waiters and staff. The tour of the cooler room and explanation of all the different cuts etc was very informative and assisted us with choosing what we wanted and liked. You pay for all the greatness though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this review

Thank you. More 

Johanesburg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

Steve has a great and informed knowledge of meat. Been going to his many outlets for years and always enjoyed his food and service. Pity he doesn't accommodate smokers

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this review

Appreciate your comments and support. More 

Travelers who viewed The Local Grill also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Local Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 7th Avenue & 3rd Avenue, Parktown North, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Johannesburg
  • Phone Number: +27 11 880 1946

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 15 - 20
  • Cuisine: Steakhouse

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Entertaining clients

Description

Best Steakhouse in South Africa awarded by The Wolftrap steakhouse championships. Offering kitchen tours and beef courses. Beef all aged on the premises and cut to order.
Open Hours
Monday
6:00 pm - 10:00 am
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Local Grill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?