We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Local Grill

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
7th Avenue & 3rd Avenue, Parktown North, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
+27 11 880 1946
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon 6:00 pm - 10:00 am
Mon - Sat 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Tue - Fri 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sat 6:00 pm - 10:00 am
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Best Steakhouse in South Africa awarded by The Wolftrap steakhouse...
Best Steakhouse in South Africa awarded by The Wolftrap steakhouse championships. Offering kitchen tours and beef courses. Beef all aged on the premises and cut to order.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 214 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 115
    Excellent
  • 64
    Very good
  • 21
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Best in Town

There is no doubt that this superb restaurant continues to deliver both in great food and terrific service. Our family had an excellent time and were treated incredibly. It is refreshing that there are still restaurants who deliver that personal touch. Well Done guys and thank you for memorable... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed May 22, 2015
BradleyAllison
Good for:
  • Entertaining clients
Add Photo Write a Review

214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015 NEW

There is no doubt that this superb restaurant continues to deliver both in great food and terrific service. Our family had an excellent time and were treated incredibly. It is refreshing that there are still restaurants who deliver that personal touch. Well Done guys and thank you for memorable birthday

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

We went to the Local Grill with high expectations and were all disappointed both by the service and the food. The food took ages to be served. The quality of the steaks was poor and anything but enjoyable. No one came to ask us if we were happy with the food and service. I shall avoid this restaurant in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this review

Hi Harry, thank you for taking the time to write your review. I respond to all constructive feedback and as we are an owner run restaurant, offering kitchen tours to every table and do everything possible to see to every need of our customers, I am not sure how to respond to your complaint. We have comment slips in the... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Food sub-standard. Ice cold bone marrows. Sent them back - still ice cold. We ordered a 1kg to share taster platter. Meat over-cooked and much smaller than a 1kg.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this review

Hi Kim, Thank you for your comments which I'm sure are constructive. We have an immediate exchange policy which is our commitment to delivering on your expectation. Where we short delivered, I apologise and will use your review with our daily training sessions to make sure we improve on this sub standard experience. I sincerely hope you visit us again... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

I have eaten at the local grill twice and it has not disappointed. The chef is seriously into his meat and it shows! Great steak and I will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this review

Thank you Rory, remember our immediate exchange policy should we ever short deliver on you expectations. Regards all at The Local Grill More 

Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

What an incredible experience - the service was perfect, and the food was incredible. We got a tour of the kitchen and the meat locker, which was fascinating. We had to wait 15min beyond our booking time to get a table, but it is only a function of how popular this place is - and just for this incredibly minor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this review

Thank you Aaron, it was a pleasure serving you. Your review is truly appreciated. More 

Louis Trichardt, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Had an enjoyable evening out. The service was up to standard. The food was excellent! Only downside was unavailability of wine on list.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this review

The long hours seem effortless when reading positive feedback. Thank you More 

south africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

Had an excellent meal there a few nights ago. Manager was very friendly and professional. Steaks were in a class of their own and the chicken was also superb. The only small issue we had was that the sides came out 5 minutes after our steaks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this review

We appreciate your review, thank you. More 

Jnb
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

I am partial to a steak, but I am a philistine as well. I love the musky smell of well hung meat; I also am more than happy to cook a fresh one at home. I first encountered The Local Grill in Melville and have followed it to Parkton North ever since. The Local Grill is a steak house at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued feedback. More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Excellent meat hand picked by restaurant team. Very well cooked and delicious side dishes. Simple decor and nice terrace on the street. If you can ask for a tour of the meat fridge and different meat parts explanation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, compliments like this really make our long hours and hard work such a pleasure. More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

The Local Grill provides good service and has a fine wine list. The kitchen tour was very interesting. Unfortunately my 24 day dry aged Rib eye steak was probably the toughest piece of meat that I have had to deal with for a long time, considering the cost I am a bit disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this review

Our immediate exchange policy is our promise and commitment to deliver a truly memorable beef experience and we do everything possible to get feedback from every diner, before, during and after every meal. Had we been aware of the steak being tough it would have been exchanged immediately and any inconvenience would have been compensated for. The beef we serve... More 

Travelers who viewed The Local Grill also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Local Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 7th Avenue & 3rd Avenue, Parktown North, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Johannesburg
  • Phone Number: +27 11 880 1946

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 15 - 20
  • Cuisine: Steakhouse, Barbecue

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Entertaining clients

Description

Best Steakhouse in South Africa awarded by The Wolftrap steakhouse championships. Offering kitchen tours and beef courses. Beef all aged on the premises and cut to order.
Open Hours
Monday
6:00 pm - 10:00 am
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Local Grill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?