We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kahiltna Bistro

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Talkteena Spur Rd, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Add hours for Kahiltna Bistro and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 74 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 30
    Excellent
  • 21
    Very good
  • 12
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
tasty fish- but smallish portions

Nice place. My wife and I both got the fish and chips-very tasty but smallish portions on the fish-which I found more often than not in Alaska. For the price I would think two medium pieces of fish (breaded cod) would have been better- it's not like they don't have fish in Alaska.

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 29, 2015
Robin C
,
Fern Creek, Kentucky
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fern Creek, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 NEW

Nice place. My wife and I both got the fish and chips-very tasty but smallish portions on the fish-which I found more often than not in Alaska. For the price I would think two medium pieces of fish (breaded cod) would have been better- it's not like they don't have fish in Alaska.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WNC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015 NEW

Ate dinner here while on vacation. The lack of customers should have been a big red flag but it was raining and the restaurant was within walking distance to our hotel. All the meals of our party were less than satisfactory but the disinterest of our waitress made the meal even less enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

Wonderful outdoor restaurant. Watched trains go by. Staff attentive and food and beer great. Would eat there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sun City West
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

There's a nice outdoor patio and the food is good, the portions are ample, and the prices are reasonable. The crab cakes were lightly breaded and nicely spiced. The hamburger was meaty and perfectly done; the fries were excellent. They have Alaskan Amber and don't mind if you sit and sip and enjoy your time there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kansas City
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Some locals recommend this place. Our salad was missing a key ingredient that the chef neglected to inform our waitress. Overloading it with dressing made it worse. The salmon was good however the filet mignon was terrible because of the fat and gristle not normal found in a filet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kathleen h, Owner at Kahiltna Bistro, responded to this review

We are sorry you had a bad experience. We try to make sure that our customers know beforehand if we have run out of a certain product. We do have a policy about meals not cooked to your taste – you are always welcome to return them to the kitchen and have them redone or order something else. The fillet... More 

Baytown, Texas
Level Contributor
351 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

After sitting and waiting for 20 minutes to give an order, an eternity for our drinks to arrive, and being patient with a waitress that had no clue of what she was doing, our oysters arrived and were the nastiest, sickening oyster I have ever seen. I have eaten oysters all over the country and they taste different but all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kathleen h, Owner at Kahiltna Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We apologize for the bad experience you had. We pride ourselves on our products - long-term relationships with our suppliers coupled with vigilance regarding food delivery and preparation help to ensure that our food is fresh and tastes good. Any doubts about the food can be freely addressed with a manager... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

I Admit I only want to eat Alaskan seafood on this trip. This place delivered the goods. Quieter than the other places full of tourists but close enough to walk. The scallops were so good I had them twice. Crab cakes and crab sandwich both delicious and the fish tacos really tasty. Don't miss this

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Waynesburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Stopped for a quick lunch - stayed for a while. Outdoor patio was shaded and nice. Good food - chicken curry was excellent. Good beer and good service

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Spicer, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

Would have liked a little more flavor. This restaurant is recommended by locals, so I think we just hit on an off day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shanxi, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

This place is kind of geared towards tour bus people I think. Food was good enough and atmosphere is like a "regular" bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Kahiltna Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Kahiltna Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahiltna Bistro

Address: Talkteena Spur Rd, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Location: United States  >  Alaska (AK)  >  Talkeetna
Cuisine: American

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Talkteena Spur Rd, Talkeetna, AK 99676
  • Location: United States  >  Alaska (AK)  >  Talkeetna

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: American

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kahiltna Bistro staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?