We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Cho Can Tho | Hai Ba Trung, Can Tho 65000, Vietnam
0710 381 5616
Website
Today
6:00 am - 11:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 6:00 am - 11:30 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 195 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 32
    Excellent
  • 81
    Very good
  • 45
    Average
  • 27
    Poor
  • 10
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Lovely location, friendly staff but too many of them.

We only ordered drinks here as we decided it was not for us, and the prices were ok for the location. What put us off where how many staff there seemed to be all watching us and waiting for us to need something. There were few diners here although it was lunchtime, and we were all conscious of eyes... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed May 19, 2015
JoLeicester
,
leicester
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Large groups
  • Local cuisine
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015 NEW

Excellent ambience along the riverfront, wide choice of Vietnamese and Western Cuisine. Super fast and friendly service, delicious food and colourful drinks. Great Value for Money .we paid less than $50 for a 3 course meal for three, with mocktails.

Was this review helpful? Yes
leicester
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015 NEW

We only ordered drinks here as we decided it was not for us, and the prices were ok for the location. What put us off where how many staff there seemed to be all watching us and waiting for us to need something. There were few diners here although it was lunchtime, and we were all conscious of eyes following... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Benoit P, Owner at Sao Hom, responded to this review

Dear Jo, Thanks for the heads-up. I'll pass the word to the team. It sometimes takes a bit of tuning to get the attention of the team to the right level: sometimes not enough, and as You say, sometimes too much. At the beginning of the rainy season, which is also our low season as you saw, we also have... More 

Cao Lanh, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

Every was delicious, the staff was friendly! Worth a try!! The view from the restaurant was beautiful as well, just by the river, we could feel the fresh air from the river blowing to the land.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Orange, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

Mekong river specialities in the river side market hall, overlooking the river and it's activity. Watch the local fisherman, river feries, boat traffic and enjoy the varied cuisine in an attractive dining area. The staff was very helpful and the food was well prepared.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Benoit P, Owner at Sao Hom, responded to this review

Dear John, Thanks for your appreciation, This is what we work for. I shall share it with the team right away. Take care, Benoit More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

Had dinner here with friends, food was great service was prompt, the only complaint I have was the food did not Arrive on time mid of the party had completed their dinner when's the last plate of food arrived

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

While travelling on the Mekong from Vietnam and Cambodia this was one of many restaurants we ate at. As a vegetarian and hungry travelers we were well catered for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

We chose this restaurant for our evening meal (party of 5) after spending the afternoon in Can Tho sightseeing. The location of the restaurant is perfect - overlooking the water and the busy river. Waiters were polite, efficient and helpful. The food on this occasion was of a high standard, tasty and beautifully prepared. Would recommend !

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015 via mobile

There was problem with our tour company when we arrived in HCM City and we were assigned a German speaking guide that did not speak English. We had to wait a couple hours for a nice English speaking guide to leave his family Tet celebration to intervene in our emergent language issue. The tour company felt so bad that they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Foods are delicious! Waiters were polite and helpful with our inquiries. The setting is quite romantic and beautiful with dim lightings beside the river. However, the table I was assigned to was a little too dark for me to read the menu and look at the foods that were being served to me properly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Madeira, Portugal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

the food was awful, we did not even finish it. The price is higher than anywhere, probably the worse we ate in Vietnam. the view is however wonderful, the place is fine too. if you like being amongst foreigners you might like this place, just don't go for a good dinner, probably perfect for a drink.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Benoit P, Owner at Sao Hom, responded to this review

Dear madam, Sorry you did not find what you were looking for. Indeed our cuisine is safe and a bit tuned for westerners and it makes the place touristy, so if you shun foreigners, you may have a bad experience, a especially at the peak of the season. I hope you found better experiences elsewhere, Benoit More 

Travelers who viewed Sao Hom also viewed

Can Tho, Mekong Delta
Can Tho, Mekong Delta
 
Can Tho, Mekong Delta
 

Been to Sao Hom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Cho Can Tho | Hai Ba Trung, Can Tho 65000, Vietnam
  • Location: Asia  >  Vietnam  >  Mekong Delta  >  Can Tho
  • Phone Number: 0710 381 5616

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 4 - 20
  • Cuisine: French, Vegetarian, Vietnamese

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
6:00 am - 11:30 pm
Monday
6:00 am - 11:30 pm
Tuesday
6:00 am - 11:30 pm
Wednesday
6:00 am - 11:30 pm
Thursday
6:00 am - 11:30 pm
Friday
6:00 am - 11:30 pm
Saturday
6:00 am - 11:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sao Hom staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?