We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harp Bar and restaurant

74/7 Moo 1, Leabchaitalay Road | Thong Sala, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
+66 95 579 4762
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 202 Restaurants in Ko Phangan
Price range: $3 - $11
Hours:
Sun - Sat 8:00 am - 11:59 pm
Cuisines: Irish, Thai, Pub, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Irish Sports Bar very conveniently located at the end of Thong Sala ferry pier in Ko Phangan. After the ferry trip why not plan your stay on the island at the Harp Bar while you enjoy a warm welcome, free WiFi and a refreshing cold towel. Ask our friendly staff for free advice and the must see attractions on the island. We're the only bar on the island with a BIG SCREEN PROJECTOR to satisfy all your live sporting needs from every country. If it's not advertised just ask at the bar and we'll put it on - Free Advice - Free WiFi - Free cold towel on arrival - Free Pool & Darts - Big screen projector showing all live sports - Reliable, honest motorbike hire - Outdoor seating - Best Big Brekkie on the island - Hangover cure smoothies Motorbike rental - We pride ourselves on providing a honest rental service, which unfortunately is a rarity on Ko Phangan. Please, please check repair costs before hiring a motorbike from any rental shop. The Harp Bar - "Your home away from home"
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    9
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014 via mobile

After a very short but busy trip to the island with my family the harp was a lovely end to our stay needed good food in a hurry so not to miss boat and staff were very fast and efficient would recommend to friends without a doubt

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014 via mobile

We were delighted to see an Irish bar when leaving the island to get a decent Irish breakie. Staff were very rude got our order wrong several times. There was flies all over the bar, around our food when trying to eat. Fans instead of aircon which literally blew stuff of our table. Food was reasonably priced and tasty but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie S, General Manager at Harp Bar and restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Deirdre, Thank you for taking time to write a review on Harp Bar. We are disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the service at Harp Bar, as you can see by our Trip Advisor page, this is something that we do not experience often and all we can do is apologize for this and make sure... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Myself and my girlfriend wondered down here for an all Ireland final, met lots of people here, pool and darts is free! It's the only reasonably priced menu of seen in any irish bar! Jamie the English guy that looks irish was a good laugh and could not be more helpful with advice on the island. Definitely will be visiting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie S, General Manager at Harp Bar and restaurant, responded to this review

Daniel, Thank you for your honest review about Harp Bar. It was good to meet you and your girlfriend before the GAA Final and glad it was a good turn out where you got to meet other GAA fans. Glad you enjoyed your visit with us. We hope you had a safe trip mate, keep enjoying the travels. Take care,... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

So we docked in koh phangan 2 days into our Thailand trip, 35 degrees, no hotel booked, bags on our back. after a little walk from the pier we saw this lovely looking Irish Bar. To us Brits it was like waving a red rag at a bull, we were straight in there. First impressions, Friendly staff, very clean, pool... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jamie S, General Manager at Harp Bar and restaurant, responded to this review

Michael, WOW!! What a great review, and honest which is what we encourage. Glad we could help you guys with getting you relaxed and booked in to your hotel on the beach. I will also be introducing your Slush Puppy Stowford Press Cider this full moon, let's see what this is all about. I will be dropping you guys a... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

Arrived on the island hoping to catch a big game of Australian Rules Football. After an hour of walking around I happened on this little gem. Very relaxed atmosphere and the accommodating owner had my obscure game on ten minutes later. Highly recommended for fellow sports fans!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jamie S, General Manager at Harp Bar and restaurant, responded to this review

Will, Hey mate thanks for the kind review and glad you stumbled across us, and I am even more happy your team ended up in the top 4!! I hope you had a safe trip back mate. Thanks again. Jamie and The Harp Bar Team More

Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

How good is it to have a dedicated sports bar across from the pier in Tongsala!!!! All sports catered for and if your lucky you will get a 15% discount card....as if things aren't cheap enough!!! To bad the Crows lost they may have gotten my first 5 star rating!!!! See ya in november!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie S, General Manager at Harp Bar and restaurant, responded to this review

Steve, Hello Steve thanks for the review, I wish you had won though, would have got that 5th star!! We are quickly becoming a number 1 choice for customers in regards to sports. Glad we got AFL for you lad's. each week we have people coming in for Aussie Rules!! Hope you enjoyed the live music too. thanks, Jamie and... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We arrived at Ko Phangan in desperate need of a beverage and some WIFI, to look for accomodation. The staff were immense. 2 stood out in particular, Apple and Nyi. Both made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much bother. Definitely worth a visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Jamie S, General Manager at Harp Bar and restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Guys, It was great to see such a positive review about our team here, especially Nyi and Apple, who both received a bonus because of the impact they had on you our customers. I wish I had found out that you were from Cardiff, I lived and done a nightclub there for a couple of years. Thanks for drinking... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

As soon as we docked in Koh Phangan this lovely bar was staring right at us, so we thought it would be rude not to go in. We were welcomed by the friendliest of bar managers who was very up on his knowledge of the island and a great laugh. On some occasions he even joined us for a drink.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jamie S, General Manager at Harp Bar and restaurant, responded to this review

Michael, Thank you for your review, I am glad we could help you guys in settling in to the Island for a few days. I had to restock my gin after you boys left. I am also happy to see you found the Mukatar, easy to create back home for family and friends, I want to see pictures of you... More

uk
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

its not the first time i have visited this restaurant but its been a whil since my last visit , wow......what a difference this experience was , new decor , outdoor sitting area and brand new management......... and thats the biggest difference , a very warm and welcoming greeting from the manager jamie , friendly and smily staff and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jamie S, General Manager at Harp Bar and restaurant, responded to this review

Andy, Thank you for your honest review, it really has changed a lot since the old owners sold the building to us. We have improved not just the look, but also every aspect of the business and it's great that local businessman like yourself, who have their own successful resorts who offer the same level of service and décor notice... More

Rowley regis
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Absolutely the highlight of my Thailand trip so far, sometimes all you need is a person to take the time out to help show you the ropes on a trip! The manager here did just that! Complimentary maps given on arrival with great explanation of where's good to go on the island! Great drink prices and deals if you're partying!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Jamie S, General Manager at Harp Bar and restaurant, responded to this review

Phil, Thank you for the review, it was good to meet you and the lad's. It looked like you also had a good time in Samui with my recommendations. Top lad's, your facebook posts made me jealous of your time in Krabi to. Remember to give my mate a call about work back home mate, and when I come back... More

Travelers who viewed Harp Bar and restaurant also viewed

Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Harp Bar and restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harp Bar and restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing