We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
75/1 m.6., Beach Front | Klong Nin Beach, Ko Lanta, Thailand
75 662549
Website
Add hours for Roi Thai and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Good for:
Families with children
Romance
Local cuisine
Special occasions

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 165 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 69
    Excellent
  • 47
    Very good
  • 20
    Average
  • 14
    Poor
  • 15
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Great food; amazing view; not so great service

The food was the best we had in Koh Lanta during our 5 days there. We had their pineapple fried rice, tom yum koong, calamari and pork with basil leaves. It was right next to the beach and the view was amazing, but not unlike most restaurants in Koh Lanta. The service however, was rather... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed December 12, 2014
Audreytham
,
Singapore, null, Singapore
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Romance
  • Local cuisine
  • Special occasions
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

We had a cooking class at Roi Thai with Toy. He was the best teacher ever :D Our courses were Spring rolls, Red Curry sauce with chicken and TomYam-Soup. So pretty good set of the traditional thai foods. And they did get you from the hotel. ...And also get us back as well ;) 5/5 - no doubt.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015 via mobile

We took 3 different classes. Hard work with chopping and mortar ;-) Amazing flavours! I will not shop bought curry paste again. Great teacher, lots of fun and laughter. The best activity of our holiday and skills to take home. Not for freaky eaters ;-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haemeenlinna, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015 via mobile

We visited at Roi Thai at beginning of our holiday and the restaurant was on beach side but the meal was bad. Chicken which we both ate was like old and cold. Still that meal was the most expensive and still the worst of our holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MyRoiThai, General Manager at Roi Thai, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your invaluable feedback. We apologize for the bad experience whilst dining with us. Our goal is to offer our guests the best quality of food and service available on the Island. We are sorry that your dish was not to your liking. We would have happily replaced your dish, if we had known about... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015 via mobile

When you want a nice dinner with your girl-friend at the beach any place at Koh Lanta would be great.though not Roi Thai :(( we've chosen a nice crab and a squid which was 300 gram alone (not that small,you can imagine) and we were promised some potato served with them. We've waited almost 50 minutes for a plate (do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MyRoiThai, General Manager at Roi Thai, responded to this review

Dear Victoria, Thank you for your invaluable feedback. We would like to apologize in advance for the unpleasant experience, whilst dining with us. As for Squids, they normally loose great deal of weight once cleaned and barbequed, and a 300 gram of squid may look much smaller after being prepared. We do sell a large number of Crabs on a... More 

Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our cooking class and would highly recommend this for other couples and families. The instructor was great, entertaining and knowledgeable about Thai cooking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

Compared to almost all other meals we have eaten in thailand the food here was bland and nothing special ( maybe they have toned down the spice to suit tourists ???? Service was terrible . I defiantly would not eat here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MyRoiThai, General Manager at Roi Thai, responded to this review

Dear Liliwenzel, Thank you very much for your feedback. We do apologize in advance for the shortcomings you have experienced. We try our best to continuously improve the quality of our food and services, and your feedback would certainly help us in the process. Sometimes, due to large number of customers during high season, we may fail to maintain the... More 

Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

Nice beach side restaurant that we chose because of the attached cooking school. Passion fruit juice was really good, salads had fresh ingredients but could've been lot spicier. Friendly service and nice view.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

The food was the best we had in Koh Lanta during our 5 days there. We had their pineapple fried rice, tom yum koong, calamari and pork with basil leaves. It was right next to the beach and the view was amazing, but not unlike most restaurants in Koh Lanta. The service however, was rather disappointing. Lady that took our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Had the best Pad Thai ever here. Service a bit slow and some small problems to understand the order in english but food quality is absolutely top

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

We too were fooled by the crowds. The satay chicken was inedible. The sauce was terrible. We complained twice but they still added it to the bill. The other dishes were mediocre and quite disappointing and very expensive. Yes it is on the beachfront but that's all it has going for it. Never again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Roi Thai also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Roi Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 75/1 m.6., Beach Front | Klong Nin Beach, Ko Lanta, Thailand
  • Location: Asia  >  Thailand  >  Krabi Province  >  Ko Lanta
  • Phone Number: 75 662549

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Thai

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Roi Thai staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?