We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 43 West End Restaurants

Sundowners

Half Moon Bay Beach, West End 00001, Honduras
1-305-720-2705
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 43 Restaurants in West End
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Bar
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    123
    24
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

at night, busy/animated. Small but super comfortable beach area. Great Sunset location! They serve food as well (good burgers)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aurora, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

A good gin-and-tonic is a challenge to find in the bars on West Bay: the remedy is Sundowners! Large! Lots of gin! Real tonic water. Limes! Just perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

The beer is cheap, there is high energy, anything goes. This spot became our happy hour spot to venture to nightly. It was unpretentious and had quite the interesting crowd. It was sometimes difficult to get a drink. Overall, don't expect 5-star...this is a dive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Although The bar is small, its always crowded comparing to other bars. Great place to hangout, drink couple of beers while enjoying the sunset.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

This is cliche, yes, but the pina coladas are amazing. I think they were $5 and HUGE. They had in the range of 3-4 shots of rum in them..making 2 all that was necessary for me! The food was good, typical bar food, but well-prepared. It will get crowded, but what can you expect from a is a popular place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

I heard so much about Sundowners before we went to Roatan and we were excited to see what all the fuss was about. It was disappointing it didn't live up to the hype. It does have a great view of the sunset. However, the bartenders there were probably the rudest people I met the whole time I was on vacation.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Loaferoatan, Owner at Sundowners, responded to this review

Hi: I'm Aaron the owner of Sundowner's. Can you tell me what day you visited the bar please? I've had a couple other complaints about one of my bartenders and if it's the same one, it's strike three. We try and create a welcoming atmosphere and I'm happy you've pointed out a major problem that needs my full attention. Thanks... More 

Chesterfield, VA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Our first night on the island with friends and we stopped at Sundowners for drinks. Because we were starving from the flight, we also ordered fish sandwiches all around. They were fantastic! Great view and nice people. Loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

We stopped by for drinks a few times after the suggestion of our dive master.This was exactly as promised,cold beer,great view and PLENTY of ex-pats. If you are looking for a local vibe this bar is not for you.If you want to talk to ex-pats about island life or other tourists about their travels ..bingo.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paris, France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Basicalyl this place gets a good review for its geographic placement - the view as the sun goes down across the bay is spectacular!! Watching this whilst sipping a huge frozen cocktail is definately a great way to end your day of busy scuba diving / snorkeling / sunbathing!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Halifax
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

This place was a rip off. I went there on the advice of a friend, and regret it. One drink cost $5 the first time I ordered it then $10 not 20 minutes later for the same drink! There wasn't enough seating, and the service was very slow. I would not go back, as I could buy a beer at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Loaferoatan, Owner at Sundowners, responded to this review

Hi: Thanks for taking the time to write your honest review. I am sorry about your bad experience. It seems the bartender made an error in charging you. I wish you had corrected her. We do not have a drink that cost $10. Regarding the seating: I believe you were there on a Sunday. The Canadian Navy was in town... More 

Travelers who viewed Sundowners also viewed

 

Been to Sundowners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundowners

Address: Half Moon Bay Beach, West End 00001, Honduras
Phone Number: 1-305-720-2705
Location: Central America  >  Honduras  >  Bay Islands  >  Roatan  >  West End
Average Prices: USD 0 - 10
Cuisine: Bar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sundowners staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?