We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Khochu Kharcho

Sadovaya 39/41, St. Petersburg, Russia
8 812 310 32 36
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 7,670 restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
37 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    109
    58
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Good decor - particularly liked the tented /curtained seating areas at the back upstairs; and the loos were really lovely, too! Also very good food and wine - although not particularly cheap, it was the best we had in St.Petersburg.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were in St Petersburg for 4 days. We were advised to sample Georgian food at this restaurant. We went there for dinner and had a great evening. There was a group of us so we shared some of the dishes which were delicious. The service was excellent and the wait staff attentive. We thought the prices of the dishes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Possibly the worst place in the whole city. Poor standardized food and bad service. It's not authentic caucasian cousine at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ginza_Project, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Khochu Kharcho, responded to this review

Hello, I work in Service Department of Ginza Project. It is really disappointing that you didn't like our food. Our chief is an authentic Caucasian and all the recipes have been developed by big company of professional cooks. Most of our guests are satisfied both with our service and dishes. If only you could advise us on what was bad... More

San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This was best restaurant I went to while in St. Petersburg. Much better overall than couple other highly ranked restaurants I tried. Waiter was very friendly and helpful (and spoke English). The salad with smoked sturgeon was very fresh and good; my favorite was the eggplant dish-so much flavor and perfectly prepared. It was fun to sit near kitchen area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We did not left our hearts into Khochu Kharcho, there's plenty of more genuine Georgian restaurants in a city.. Some of us went back for a breakfast and were more satisfied.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

A huge restaurant quaintly furnished with memorabilia. Fortunately we were with a Russian friend so ordering was not a problem for us, I sensed it might have been though if she hadn't been with us. Everything we tried we enjoyed, we were in a group of 8 so selected a number of typical dishes to give us an overall idea... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

It's a huge space for a restaurant and it works 24 hours per day - very comfortable to match your different plans and schedules. I don't like the area - busy and noisy Sennaya square - but I like all restaurants managed by Ginza Project and wanted to try this one. The subject soup, kharcho, is very spicy - be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oslo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

After spending a week at an exhausting conference, me and some friends decided to treat ourselves to, what we thought would be, a good and relaxing lunch. We were met by a nice hostess that spoke very good english. Let it be said, there were maybe a couple of tables taken and a lot of waitresses were standing around. Lucky... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ginza_Project, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Khochu Kharcho, responded to this review

Hello, I am working as a guest relations manager in the Ginza Project group. The situation you described is really unacceptable for our restaurant and I promise to do my best - and find out who exactly was you “waitress from hell”. I’he informed the head restaurant manager about your review, but we extremely need to get some extra information... More

Helsinki
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Avoid this if you want to be sure that you do not get ripped off. We booked a table on New Year's eve for 10 people and it was no problem. My friend spoke excellent Russian. At this week when I tried to book table for my co-workers, for ten people, they said that I have to pay 40 000... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ginza_Project, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Khochu Kharcho, responded to this review

Hello! We are really sorry, that you have such impression from our restaurant. I want to insure you, that we have similar terms for all our guests - in doesn’t matter where are they from. I think, that you were misinformed. You have to pay deposit 40 000 rub - only if you need to have separate room reserved just... More

Bordeaux, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a very good resaturant located nearby Sadovaya Square, downtown.Two very good-looking girls welcome you, then you seat down in a confortable place, where you can see skilled cooks working on delicious dishes. Regarding the dishes, you have an huge choice between all kind of meats, salads, soups etc... Unfortunately, the service is too slow, as anywhere else in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Khochu Kharcho also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District

Been to Khochu Kharcho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khochu Kharcho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing