We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 350 Kuching Restaurants

Lyn's Tandoori Restaurant

No. 7, Lot 267 | Jalan Song Thian Cheok, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
+60 82-234 934
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 350 Restaurants in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    63
    14
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cuxac d'Aude
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014 NEW

You're supposed to be a tandoori restaurant and you serve 'nan' that looks and tastes like limp Wonder Bread. Give me a break. Raita from hell. Really, really heavy and horrid mutton masala. Just awful. The chicken tandoori was only passable. And not cheap! Go to Delhi and take some cooking lessons!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We were the only ones around when dining. That being the case service was inattentive after the order having to draw attention to top up drinks but pleasant enough. The big let down was the food. Portions were small. Pappadam came with a chutney that seems to look like bottled chili sauce. The chicken tikka was about 6-8 bit size... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Poor food quality,and the Lassi gave me stomach upset. Nothing much about the setting. Mainly poor food quality, went there after reading the review but was disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Tandoori Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear mkdas18, Thank you for coming to our restaurant and took your valuable time to write a report using the free service TripAdvisor portal to discredit our restaurant's reputation which we painstakingly established for the past 20 years in a manner that every guest who visit our restaurant feel satisfied with our service and the quality of the food we... More 

Kuching, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

This is a small family run restaurant that all the locals know about & only a few tourists. Great service, good size meals, freshly cooked & served well. If you want a good meal in a 'western' style venue, air conditioned inside or a few tables outside then make the time to go to Lyn's.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Tandoori Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you, frendy61. Looking forward to serve you again during your next visit to our enchanting city, Kuching. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

My wife and I dined here late on a Saturday night, we were the only ones there and did not feel rushed to get out of there. The staff were very helpful in suggesting dishes, the food was great with good size servings, the beer was perfectly cold and the price was great...just what is needed from a restaurant.. Highly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Tandoori Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear DanielBris1982, Thank you Sir. You said it just in few short words 'just what is needed from a restaurant'. Thank you for your apt comment. Looking forward to your next visit to our ardent city, Kuching. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We visited the restaurant in June becacse of reading the good reviews. At first the menu was very very very big. The plates who ordered was without taste. We eaten in many indian restaurants and it was the worst .I wonder for the good reviews.

Was this review helpful? Yes
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Tandoori Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear γιοτα β, Thank you for coming to our restaurant and making your comment. You said you visited us in June but this is November, a lapse of nearly 6 months. I hope you would remember all the things you have gone through during your visit to Kuching to celebrate your wedding anniversary. It appears from the comment you wrote... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

We ate here twice during our stay in Kuching and sampled a variety of dishes. The menu is extensive - over 20 pages! We had two paneer dishes, tandoori chicken, fish tikka, and a very tasty vegetable dish with pineapple. I especially liked the paneer and potato dish. The owner did come to talk to us, but I did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Tandoori Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear M0selle, Thank you for visiting our restaurant in the forth week of October 2014 and giving our restaurant a good comment. Hope you will visit us in Kuching next and we will be delighted to serve you with our heart and mind. Thank you. More 

Riddells Creek, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Way overpriced, and the food is kind of insipid. I can't understand why people rate it. Probably the worst indian restaurant I've been to. Not that the food is "bad", it just is really boring.

Was this review helpful? Yes
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Tandoori Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Randall, Thank you for coming to our restaurant and making in a very inappropriate comments on our restaurant. Our restaurant has been in operation for the past 20 years and we only join TripAdvisor portal 5 years ago. Since then, we have 163 comments majority of them from expatriate communities from Europe, America, Australia, New Zealand, Indian sub-continents and... More 

Hebden Bridge
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Went here twice on our visit. Not huge portions, but good vegetarian choice and yummy sauces. Friendly and welcoming.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Tandoori Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear EandP873, Thank you for visiting our restaurant. We look forward to serve you again during your next visit to Kuching. Thank you for your apt comment. More 

mumbai
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Located in the centre and withing five minutes walk from the Hilton/Pullman, the quaility of "indian" food was average. The restaurant is run by an second generation Indian family who kept barging onto our table and did not let us talk- Instead he probed us and our origins with "expert" comments put in. The quality of the food was average... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Tandoori Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for patronising our restaurant while you were visiting Kuching. Your comment does not qualify for an intelligent reply. Based on our CCTV record, the restaurant owner/manager only been to your table once. It is a Malaysian custom to enquire where the guests were from and we don't see anything wrong such enquiry which we entertained to... More 

Travelers who viewed Lyn's Tandoori Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lyn's Tandoori Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyn's Tandoori Restaurant

Address: No. 7, Lot 267 | Jalan Song Thian Cheok, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number: +60 82-234 934
Location: Asia  >  Malaysia  >  Sarawak  >  Kuching
Cuisine: Indian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lyn's Tandoori Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?