We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 335 Kuching Restaurants

Lyn's Tandoori Restaurant

No. 7, Lot 267 | Jalan Song Thian Cheok, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
+60 82-234 934
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 335 Restaurants in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    62
    12
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

The food here is no doubt very good. I would recommend the Kerala fish or chicken. Be aware that poppadoms will come out once you order but you will be charged for them. Wine was good and very reasonable. A good meal and excellent service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Tandoori Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Mego Mego M, Thank you for visiting our restaurant and writing a reasonably good comment. "Wine was good and very reasonable. A good meal and excellent service" Sir, what else you want from a restaurant. Hope to serve you when you visit us next. Keep on commenting on outlet you visited. Thank you. More

Hatfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

To reiterate many others, the food here is consistently good. The waiting staff are excellent, friendly and efficient without being intrusive. We saw the owner, but thankfully were not accosted by him!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Tandoori Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Ray, Thank you for coming to our restaurant and writing a good comment. I'm glad you enjoyed our food and the service. My only regret was that I did not had the opportunity to chat with you which I very much enjoy doing so with all my guests. Hope to see you next time when you are in Kuching.... More

Banting, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We were impressed by this restaurant on several levels. One a very fair price for a bottle of wine, RM70 for a wine we paid RM60 for in a super market. Two the service, not the fastest but professional, and the inattentiveness of the owner. The Kedai Bindi, exquisite. I am not surprised that the recipe is a secret. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Tandoori Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Twitchyjim, Thank you for your suggestion to improve our operation. We have been in this business for the past 20 years and we still could take good suggestion for improvement from ardent customers like you all. Hope to see you again to serve you with your suggestion. We will keep the wine price affordable to you. Thank you. More

Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The food was ok, although on the more expensive side (just as their drinks). Shame it was only lukewarm and the portions were not the biggest. The staff was very attentive and friendly, just get rid of setting food on the table guests didn't order (but still have to pay for). I know it is clearly written on the menu,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Tandoori Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear JKFD of Belgium (the seat of power of European Union) I thought people from Belgium are bunch of jovial people because we had many people from Belgium, Denmark, other Scandinavian countries, Poland, Italy, Czechoslovakia, plus all the Schengen countries. I never realised that people live in Belgium who are not so open minded and do not understand a joke... More

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We went here as my daughter had seen it when we were passing by, and we weren't disappointed, there were lots of choices to choose from, the only thing that the vindaloo beef my husband had did not taste as great as a usual vindaloo tastes, but every else was great, would definitely go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Tandoori Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Aussie Guru, We appreciate you and your family patronising our restaurant, I think it was on 6 August. We regret the Beef Vindaloo was not up to your mark. We take note of the shortcomings and you can be rest assured your next visit it would be a likeable and explosive Beef Vindaloo if ordered. Hope to see you... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Because this place was around the corner of our hotel and our guide recommended it (although he did not like Indian food :-) ), we gave it a try. What a great choice! Very friendly staff. We had chicken tandoori, okra and naam which where all great!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Tandoori Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Alex, Thank you for visiting our restaurant during your short stay in Kuching and we are glad that you enjoyed our food and hospitality and looking forward to serve you during your next visit. Thank you. More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Wanted to have a decent curry and we really fancied the look and menu of this place as it was obviously well maintained, clean and cared for even though it was shut. Unfortunately for us it was the week after Eid and so it was shut for two nights but on our last night in Ku Ching it was open... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Tandoori Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Gragger, Thank you Sir. Looking forward to serve you again when you visit Kuching next. More

Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I went with my friend and the first problem was the atmosphere, it felt like I was sitting in a wedding rather than a restaurant, the menu had lots of vegetarian options but the food took FOREVER, when it finally came, the soup wasn't great, the rice was too little, the main dish was ok but overall it wasn't worth... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Tandoori Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear SebaNajd, I was away on leave in Penang Island. If I had known you had written this embarrassing comment, I would have looked for you in Penang and personally apologised for your embarrassment experience during your visit to our restaurant in the 4th week of July. Because you have been wearing jingle's day jingle here, jingle all over the... More

Adelaide Hills, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We found this restaurant from Lonely Planet and TripAdvisor so thought we'd give it a go. It was a nice change from the noodle cuisine of the last 2 weeks and such great flavour to the dishes we tried. They have an extensive range of Vego options as well as plenty of great meat-based meals. We were welcomed and engaged... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Tandoori Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Aussie, Thank you for visiting our restaurant and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our freshly cooked food as well as the great conversation with the owner of the restaurant. We hope you will visit us again. There will always be subject matters to talk about that happens in the world. We are very happy to receive... More

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I am writing this review after my 3rd visit to the restaurant. My 1st visit (in 2012) turned out great. Portions were big and the food taste great! However, things started going downhill from there. Portions got smaller and the quality of the food deteriorated. I only decided to write this review after being deeply disappointed with my third visit.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Tandoori Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear borneowarrior, You claimed that you came to our restaurant 3 times. "The first time was in 2012. During that visit, everything was great, plenty of rice and beef in the briyani, the taste was superb"; but you did not made any comment in the TripAdvisor pertaining to that feel good visit to our restaurant. So, therefore I feel you... More

Travelers who viewed Lyn's Tandoori Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lyn's Tandoori Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Do you own or manage Lyn's Tandoori Restaurant?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing