We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 430 Georgetown Restaurants

China House

153-155 Lebuh Pantai, Georgetown, Penang Island, Malaysia
+60 4-263 7299
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 430 Restaurants in Georgetown
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian, Asian fusion
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    145
    57
    31
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014 NEW

Called in for for coffee & cake and had the BEST carrot cake I have ever eaten and also a very generous slice. My wife had the banana cake and hers was the same. The chocolate milkshake was excellent. If I'm in Penang again It's a must to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
dhaka
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014 NEW

you can not call it a restaurant. it is a kind of back packers/students cafe with a few upgrades.the decoration is a lot of all kind of everything. the menu is ok and the desert buffet looked good. cutlery and crockery mixed styles. no room temperature red wine available only chilled so decided to take the white house wine. this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014 NEW

Great western and oriental food. Wines are excellent as are the beers. If you have already dined why don't have a cake and a beverage: cakes are scrumptious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

I heard a lot about this place, so perhaps my expectations were on the high side. Service was a bit slow and the place looked a bit run down and the air inside was a bit musky. Price was on the high side too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Love the place and ambiance. Went for second visit and the cakes taste as the first time I came few months back. Nice location for quick photographs with friends. Service a little slow unfortunately.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
408 reviews 408 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
333 helpful votes 333 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

We visited for live music on 2 nights (Sat was best) and lunch once. Enjoyed our time here. Owned by an Aussie eccentric who has really made this a great hangout - amazing cakes, great food and good live music.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Georgetown, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Not sure if this place has been reviewed to death yet :). I have always wanted to try this out since I have been told that their deserts are good. It took me a while to finally get to this place but this time around I did make it. Well! what was my first impression? The entire place is extremely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Like many we went to China Cafe because friends raved about it, and upon entering the cafe the first impression was positive. But then it went downhill. First the service was appallingly slow, the cakes were so-so (not awful but not fantastic either), but what really took the cake (pun intended) was the fact that the staff actually carted the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
acg1960, Owner at China House, responded to this review

Thankyou for your honest comments, and we are very sorry you had a bad experience when you visited ChinaHouse, and that you had to face the garbage that generally is taken out the back of the property. I would love to make it up to you. if you would allow me to buy you a coffee and cake I am... More

KL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014 via mobile

I've heard both friends saying this is the place for desert, so I grab them to join in for my first attempt. I personally like the restoration work and function of the place, it has many different part to visit (gallery, restaurant, pub...) So, we ordered their signature Tiramisu and another Fleur de sel. I like the Tiramisu's coating very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
acg1960, Owner at China House, responded to this review

Thankyou for your honest comments. When we set our drinks and cakes prices we make sure we are competitive for the market of penang, and we feel that this is the case. We are also making sure we use the best ingredients in our cakes and drinks. We are sorry you find us expensive More

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Chine house looks nice. The decoration is attractive. It is a massive place with restaurant, whiskey room, library, art gallery, cafe, ...The selection of cake looks great but I do not have a sweet tooth. we went for lunch and the restaurant was quiet. The waiters and waitress never greeted us. We took our table and a very unpleasant waiter... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
acg1960, Owner at China House, responded to this review

Thankyou for giving us your honest comments. It is a shame that i didnt personally get to see you and apologise on the day for your bad experience. Do let me know if you will give us another try at a later date. I am sure we will be able to make up for an experience that has marred your... More

Travelers who viewed China House also viewed

Georgetown, Penang Island
Georgetown, Penang Island
 
Georgetown, Penang Island
Georgetown, Penang Island
 

Been to China House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Do you own or manage China House?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing