We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

King Coconut

11 Porutota Rd | Ethukala, Negombo, Sri Lanka
(031) 227 8043
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 75 Restaurants in Negombo
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
79 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    72
    39
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seeduwa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014 NEW

Their food is superb. Restaurant is located facing the beach, so can request the to arrange tables in the garden as well. Friendly staff. Again their highlight is the food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 NEW

always they greet you with a smile. food here tastes great. my favorite is their pizza! Its always value for money and definetly more cheese than those big names out there. love the beach ambience

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kathmandu, Nepal
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 NEW

Visited here as I notice this is famous among people. A sea food restaurant but mostly in local style. I had prawn curry which was delicious but the size was very small. The restaurant had a nice atmoshphere and centre of attraction. Costwise this was okay but not really worthy. However, I still recommend to give a try.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

I went there to have dinner with my girlfriend to celebrate our anniversary. As i reserved a table earlier we got a place closer to the beach. The service was excellent so was food. But i felt that the value for money is not acceptable. If the prices are reasonable than that they will get more attraction from locals.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sawan P, Director of Sales at King Coconut, responded to this review

we are happy that you found our place to have good service. We worked very hard on increasing the value of our service levels and we are happy that there are customers who notice it. Regarding the price I believe we are still good in our pricing compared to others in the area, also the quality of food has always... More

colombo
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

This is adisgusting dirty place.old dirty plastic furniture. Not higenic at all. All good comments are fake and insider dealings. Expect disappointment if you ignore my comments.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sawan P, Director of Sales at King Coconut, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us and for your review – however we do not agree with your comment as we have strict house keeping standards. We also checked wit our manager and there was no formal complaint made on the day More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We were suggested by our driver to have dinner at this place. Lovely atmosphere, lovely staff members and amazing food!!! Out of 12 days spent in Sri lanka we had dinner there 6-7 times. The first time we went to King Coconut we were served by Udaya, probably the best waiter you could possibly find. Smart, funny and professional, he... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sawan P, Director of Sales at King Coconut, responded to this review

thank you so much for the kind words we are looking forward to see you again and your reviews!!!!!!!!!!!!! More

Jomtien
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

My first visit pleasantly surprised me and I had to visit another couple of times just to make sure! The food was reliable good and at reasonable prices. Staff friendly and service good, although best to get in early as there can be large table bookings.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sawan P, Director of Sales at King Coconut, responded to this review

we are happy that you had a super experience we promise to keep up our good work hoping to see you soon More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Very bad service......................never go there again ......... Car parking full..dinosauro food............

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Had good dinner while there is calypso music from background which is a live band. They serve large portions. Best to choose a corner table if you are a couple. Finally they have a specious car park which is great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I have heard all good things about this placre. So I tried this place today. There were only two waiters serving. One person was friendly and happy. He is the small made person. The other person was grumpy and never friendly. Unfortunately I was served by the grumpy person. But other person also checked on my needs. The personal customer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed King Coconut also viewed

Negombo, Western Province
Negombo, Western Province
 
Negombo, Western Province
Negombo, Western Province
 

Been to King Coconut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Coconut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing