We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

King Coconut

11 Porutota Rd | Ethukala, Negombo, Sri Lanka
(031) 227 8043
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 74 restaurants in Negombo
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
71 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    66
    67
    38
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 NEW

Food in this restaurant came in big dishes. I tried fried shrimp with rice. But shrimps were so small. Taste was OK. Nice view... because this restaurant locate very close to the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We ordered the seafood platter which included lobster, jumbo prawns, prawns, fish and calamari. All the seafood was overcooked and tough which was a shame. Had 3 power cuts while in the restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sawan P, Director of Sales at King Coconut, responded to this review

Hi there, We always strive for excellence in food and service. As for the power cut , the whole Negombo town experienced a power cut, and we switched on to our generators ASAP. Sorry for the mishap as it is not in our control. About the food, we would have appreciated you giving feedback right before the payment of bill.... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Food and drink was good but no atmosphere at all and service was a bit hit and miss. Overall, good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sawan P, Director of Sales at King Coconut, responded to this review

Our goal of making good food to good people is met :-) thank you enjoying our signature dishes. We have instructed our staff to have extra care always about our guests! Will hope to see you soon More

San Diego
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Seafood platter here is generous. I ordered battered prawns but they were not were not fresh. Anywhere that does not have soap in the toilets, which the staff are also using gets my lowest vote. The place is tatty with a view of the beach across wasteland, litter and roaming dogs. Needs cleaning and repairing. Probably was trendy 30 years... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sawan P, Director of Sales at King Coconut, responded to this review

We are so happy to have you and we are glad that you took off valuable time to write about us. We strive for excellence in both food and service. We will look into your complaint and we have already actioned to solve it too. Thank you for pointing out to us and we hope to see you soon with... More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I did visit it twice.first time it took them too long to prepare the food.the second time they handed over the menu and no one was there to take the order, me and my partner waited a straight 30 minutes we gaveup and left due to the horrifying service we recieved.its a shame as i love the seafood rice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sawan P, Director of Sales at King Coconut, responded to this review

We appreciate your time taken for your valuable review. However we have nearly a dozen of service staff and i strongly believe that they are very vigilant in their service. However we do apologies if you had any bad experience More

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Nice location on the beach and on the main strip of restaurants and bars in Negambo, The food is good and they have a good selection of Western and Eastern dishes on the menu. However, the restaurant is not in the best shape and the Service isn't very professional. The wait staff are not well presented and seem to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sawan P, Director of Sales at King Coconut, responded to this review

Welcome to Sri Lanka and we hope you enjoyed your stay! Especially dinning with us. We are happy that you enjoyed our food. We strive to keep the venue spec clean as possible but since its the beach area where most of the local and international tourists comes to the area where our business is. There might be some areas... More

Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My girlfriend and I recently ate here during our two days in Negombo. I had the chicken curry and was completely blown away by how delicious it was. It was almost like a thali set. They gave me rice, chicken curry, coconut sambal, dal, and some awesome pineapple dish that I can't remember the name of. Along with that, their... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sawan P, Director of Sales at King Coconut, responded to this review

Glad you love it!!! We have a new Sri Lankan menu coming soon - looking forward to see you again More

Negombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

King Coconut has been a firm favourite with locals for years. They love it for the fresh seafood and reasonable prices. it's not the best looking restaurant but the seafood is delicious. I really enjoy the Chilli crab and Chill prawn dishes with rice served up with a cold beer. It's a beech front restaurant that gets very busy especially... More

Review collected in partnership with YourSingapore.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sawan P, Director of Sales at King Coconut, responded to this review

Glad you love our sea food selection we are adding more to our range. let us know when you visit us soon More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

A Good pizza....... and I loved it..... an awesome source...... simply maxxa............i should b a regular lolzzzzz

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sawan P, Director of Sales at King Coconut, responded to this review

Thank you so much hope you are enjoying our FIFA season with us as well More

Male
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

First time we went there November 2013, but again were back May 2014 duing our stay in Negombo. Restaraunt is very popular with locals and tourists as well - always full !!. Pizza, salads are very big and tasty! Last time they had live traditional music. In the evening they put tables outside right on the sand - very nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sawan P, Director of Sales at King Coconut, responded to this review

Thank you soo much We are upgrading our menu again you are in for a surprise More

Travelers who viewed King Coconut also viewed

Negombo, Western Province
Negombo, Western Province
 
Negombo, Western Province
Negombo, Western Province
 
Negombo, Western Province
Negombo, Western Province
 
Negombo, Western Province
Negombo, Western Province
 
Negombo, Western Province

Been to King Coconut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Coconut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing