We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

King Coconut

11 Porutota Rd | Ethukala, Negombo, Sri Lanka
(031) 227 8043
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 75 Restaurants in Negombo
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
74 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    67
    70
    39
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jomtien
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 NEW

My first visit pleasantly surprised me and I had to visit another couple of times just to make sure! The food was reliable good and at reasonable prices. Staff friendly and service good, although best to get in early as there can be large table bookings.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 NEW

Very bad service......................never go there again ......... Car parking full..dinosauro food............

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 NEW

Had good dinner while there is calypso music from background which is a live band. They serve large portions. Best to choose a corner table if you are a couple. Finally they have a specious car park which is great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I have heard all good things about this placre. So I tried this place today. There were only two waiters serving. One person was friendly and happy. He is the small made person. The other person was grumpy and never friendly. Unfortunately I was served by the grumpy person. But other person also checked on my needs. The personal customer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This restaurant has very good choice of food including sea food. the portions are big and price is reasonable. The only thing is that design is not luxury, but still everything looks very clean and nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Food in this restaurant came in big dishes. I tried fried shrimp with rice. But shrimps were so small. Taste was OK. Nice view... because this restaurant locate very close to the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We ordered the seafood platter which included lobster, jumbo prawns, prawns, fish and calamari. All the seafood was overcooked and tough which was a shame. Had 3 power cuts while in the restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sawan P, Director of Sales at King Coconut, responded to this review

Hi there, We always strive for excellence in food and service. As for the power cut , the whole Negombo town experienced a power cut, and we switched on to our generators ASAP. Sorry for the mishap as it is not in our control. About the food, we would have appreciated you giving feedback right before the payment of bill.... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Food and drink was good but no atmosphere at all and service was a bit hit and miss. Overall, good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sawan P, Director of Sales at King Coconut, responded to this review

Our goal of making good food to good people is met :-) thank you enjoying our signature dishes. We have instructed our staff to have extra care always about our guests! Will hope to see you soon More

San Diego
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Seafood platter here is generous. I ordered battered prawns but they were not were not fresh. Anywhere that does not have soap in the toilets, which the staff are also using gets my lowest vote. The place is tatty with a view of the beach across wasteland, litter and roaming dogs. Needs cleaning and repairing. Probably was trendy 30 years... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sawan P, Director of Sales at King Coconut, responded to this review

We are so happy to have you and we are glad that you took off valuable time to write about us. We strive for excellence in both food and service. We will look into your complaint and we have already actioned to solve it too. Thank you for pointing out to us and we hope to see you soon with... More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I did visit it twice.first time it took them too long to prepare the food.the second time they handed over the menu and no one was there to take the order, me and my partner waited a straight 30 minutes we gaveup and left due to the horrifying service we recieved.its a shame as i love the seafood rice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sawan P, Director of Sales at King Coconut, responded to this review

We appreciate your time taken for your valuable review. However we have nearly a dozen of service staff and i strongly believe that they are very vigilant in their service. However we do apologies if you had any bad experience More

Travelers who viewed King Coconut also viewed

Negombo, Western Province
Negombo, Western Province
 
Negombo, Western Province
Negombo, Western Province
 

Been to King Coconut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Coconut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing