We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Plaine St. Andre

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
+ Add cuisine
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
La Plaine St. Andre | Mahe, Mahe Island, Seychelles
+248 4 372 010
Website
Improve this listing
Today
9:00 am - 12:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Tue 9:00 am - 4:30 pm
Wed - Sat 9:00 am - 12:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Plantation House has been lovingly restored based on its original...
The Plantation House has been lovingly restored based on its original plans, and actually rests on its original foundations. The 200-year-old trees which line the Bilenbi Avenue are untouched and are on the site's original site plans. The property is also home to a beautiful garden from which our chefs proudly source their fresh herbs and spices. Takamaka Bay, our fabulously Seychellois rum, came to life in 2001 and was inspired by the D'Offay family recipe. It is used both in La Plaine St. Andre's bar and kitchen. By day, the grounds of La Plaine provide a tranquil setting for a day away from the beach - our petanque court pays tribute to our French heritage, our garden surrounding the historic ruins is a treasure trove for the nature-lover in you and our distillery is open to be explored from Mondays to Fridays. When the sun sets, the ambience of our restaurant changes dramatically; enjoy an intimate meal in our private dining room or on our softly lit terrace or an Al Fresco dinner under the stars.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 186 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 104
    Excellent
  • 54
    Very good
  • 15
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Great

One more time a La Plaine and as usual perfect. Nice restaurant , beautifull atmosphere best food . As starters we chosed octopus gratin: delicious . Main course , we ate a selection of three fresh grilled fishes : red snapper, job and captain 's . Great!

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 23, 2015
marimeri55
,
modena
Good for:
  • Romantic
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
modena
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

One more time a La Plaine and as usual perfect. Nice restaurant , beautifull atmosphere best food . As starters we chosed octopus gratin: delicious . Main course , we ate a selection of three fresh grilled fishes : red snapper, job and captain 's . Great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
FKMondon, General Manager at La Plaine St. Andre, responded to this review

Dear Marimeri55, thank you for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor, your positive comments and experience motivates our employees to continue to strive for service excellence. We look forward to your next visit. Warm regards from our team at LPSA! More 

France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015

We popped in here for a lunch after stocking up on Takamaka rum in their shop just next door. The cocktails here are fabulous and definitely the best we had in Seychelles. The menu is fairly varied but unfortunately they didn't have any octopus so I couldn't have the octopus and green papaya gratin (a reason by itself to return... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FKMondon, General Manager at La Plaine St. Andre, responded to this review

Dear Loobyloz83, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor, we are indeed motivated to share your feedback with our colleagues to continue to provide service excellence. We are sorry we could not offer the Octopus Gratin, an LPSA signature dish due to unavailability from our suppliers. We look forward to welcoming you once again to... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015

The gardens and ambience of this colonial building are lovely, We did the tour of the distillery and then had lunch - absolutely one of the best trips in Seychelles

Was this review helpful? Yes
FKMondon, General Manager at La Plaine St. Andre, responded to this review

Dear Sal R, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor, indeed we are grateful to receive such positive feedback which we shall share with our team members to further motivate them to provide service excellence. Trusting you had a safe journey home half way around the world to Suriname & looking forward to your next... More 

Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

First of all, wow and thank for this restaurant's employees and manager. We visited here the last night of our Mahe-trip and as we are Vegetarians/Vegans we were not at all satisfied with the restaurant-culture in Mahe. Thank god we visited here, it surely gave our faith back to the enjoyable dinner-experience. I called day before and made reservation by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aurelie E, General Manager at La Plaine St. Andre, responded to this review

Dear IImou, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure to see that our esteemed guests enjoyed their experience at our establishment. We continue to strive for service excellence and look forward to welcoming you to LPSA in the near future. With warm regards, Francis More 

Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

We visited the rum distillery, looked around, and had lunch at the La Plaine St. Andre restaurant. We had Caesar salad, which was good, and some cocktails (the non-alcoholic ones are good, too). The service was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aurelie E, General Manager at La Plaine St. Andre, responded to this review

Dear MK-1755, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are indeed most appreciative for your positive feedback and pleased to learn that your experience was an enjoyable one. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you to LPSA once again. With warm regards, Francis More 

Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015 via mobile

We'd booked for nine but fourteen decided to come... This was the start of a great night at La Plaine St Andre - also known as the restaurant attached to the takamaka distillery. Everyone really enjoyed the meal, fruit bat ravioli was an exotic favourite. The cocktails were divine, staff were friendly and helpful and a live jazz trio provided... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aurelie E, General Manager at La Plaine St. Andre, responded to this review

Dear KiwiSavannah, Thank you for the taking time the time to post a review. It was indeed a great pleasure to welcome you and your colleagues last week and to note that you had a wonderful time at LPSA. We indeed welcome customer reviews and feedback as we strive to provide service excellence to all our patrons. We look forward... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Did some research on Trip Advisor and selected the restaurant based on good reviews. Closing time for lunch is advertised as 5pm. We arrived at 4.20pm and were told that due to a large group shortly arriving, they would not be able to accommodate us. (just 2 of us) We explained that we had come out of our way (with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aurelie E, General Manager at La Plaine St. Andre, responded to this review

Dear Albator2014, Thank you for your review. I recall your visit on Tuesday as I personally greeted you at the restaurant entrance. It is regrettable that we could not be of service but as I clearly indicated we were expecting a large tour group at that time and furthermore part of the building was undergoing renovation work. You are absolutely... More 

Ostrava, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

Interesting to see. Free entrance to the ruins and garden of TAKAMAKA DESTILERY. Tour with expert commentary charged, and possibly rum tasting at the bar for cca.12euros. We recommend buy rum in local stores not buy in TAKAMAKA store, price is higher. At the airport, too expensive

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aurelie E, General Manager at La Plaine St. Andre, responded to this review

Dear AndreaB, Thank you for your recent review. In principle Takamaka retail prices are on a par with all our retail partners islandwide. However in view of your comments we will conduct a survey to determine if there is in fact price disparity elsewhere. We look forward to welcoming you again to our distillery. Kind regards, Francis Mondon More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015 via mobile

Went here for the day for a wedding. The staff were very friendly form start to finish. Had a nice chat with a couple of them in their smoking area which we crashed. The offered drinks at the start, then the cocktails after were great. The buffet was great and the rum tour was a lot of fun. After the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aurelie E, General Manager at La Plaine St. Andre, responded to this review

Dear Clo A, Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to post a review. We are indeed grateful for your feedback and continue to strive for service excellence. We look forward to the opportunity to be of service again and to be able to welcome you to LPSA in the very near future. With kind regards, Francis More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

Let's face it, I cannot say I ever met an unfriendly Seychellois so the staff being friendly does not add a lot of weight to this review. I was really looking forward to good creole food and a great experience after reading the reviews. Everything was fairly average. The setting and the food were both ok... nothing to get overly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aurelie E, General Manager at La Plaine St. Andre, responded to this review

Dear Suzanne L, Thank you for your review. It s regrettable to note that your experience was not to your expectation. Please note that we strive to provide a high level of food & service delivery. Your comments are well noted and have not been taken lightly. In general we have received excellent customer feedback and were recently awarded a... More 

Travelers who viewed La Plaine St. Andre also viewed

Mahe Island, Seychelles
Baie Lazare, Mahe Island
 
Victoria, Mahe Island
Mahe Island, Seychelles
 

Been to La Plaine St. Andre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: La Plaine St. Andre | Mahe, Mahe Island, Seychelles
  • Location: Africa  >  Seychelles  >  Mahe Island
  • Phone Number: +248 4 372 010

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 17 - 169

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romantic

Description

The Plantation House has been lovingly restored based on its original plans, and actually rests on its original foundations. The 200-year-old trees which line the Bilenbi Avenue are untouched and are on the site's original site plans. The property is also home to a beautiful garden from which our chefs proudly source their fresh herbs and spices. Takamaka Bay, our fabulously Seychellois rum, came to life in 2001 and was inspired by the D'Offay family recipe. It is used both in La Plaine St. Andre's bar and kitchen. By day, the grounds of La Plaine provide a tranquil setting for a day away from the beach - our petanque court pays tribute to our French heritage, our garden surrounding the historic ruins is a treasure trove for the nature-lover in you and our distillery is open to be explored from Mondays to Fridays. When the sun sets, the ambience of our restaurant changes dramatically; enjoy an intimate meal in our private dining room or on our softly lit terrace or an Al Fresco dinner under the stars.
Open Hours
Monday
9:00 am - 4:30 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 4:30 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 12:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 12:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 12:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 12:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from La Plaine St. Andre staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?