We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mermaid Restaurant

Vaddy, Opposite Whispering Palms Beach Resort, Candolim, Bardez, India
+91 98 22 155205
Update restaurant details
Ranked #17 of 151 restaurants in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
9 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    117
    32
    15
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 NEW

Lovely atmosphere, friendly staff, great food, the kingfish was great.good menu choice. The owners wife is Swedish and made a real effort to make you feel welcome, even looking after small children so the parents could enjoy their meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 NEW

Opposite the Whispering Palms hotel is the Mermaid restaurant which was recommended to us by friends in the Osborne. So good that we went back 2 day later for another meal. The fillet steaks were thick, tender & cooked to perfection & the Mermaid special, fish in a prawn sauce on a bed of spinach was very tasty with no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Very comprehensive menu, with dishes to suit all tastes. Exceptionally good for diners with European preferences, and are sick of curries!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The food wasn't necessarily bad, just ok. But the menu is bizarre. It features Indian main courses but they don't do naan, chapatti or roti. I had a chilly chicken dish which was listing under 'Indian' but it was actually Chinese. It came with an English-style vegetable medley, chips, Indian-style salad and some garlic bread!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

On our first visit all went quite well. Our friend had a curry & me & the OH had chicken Cafeal. The chicken was very tender but my only complaint were the very small portions of rice,chips & no veg at all just a couple of pieces of cucumber & carrot. I think they need to address this issue it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
katarina21, Owner at Mermaid Restaurant, responded to this review

Im sorry you did not enjoy our meals. Im very surprised to hear you had to wait one hour for your starter, im not aware of any such incident, most starters is served within ten to fifteen minutes. We serve a big cutlet of kingfish so dont know how it can resemble a fish finger. Anyway since im always asking... More

Aylesbury
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful fillet steaks and homemade deserts. We ate here twice on our holiday, couldn't fault it, the steaks were cooked perfectly and melted in your mouth. The lemon meringue pie and chocolate mousse is lovely too to finish off your meal. Reasonably priced and lovely hosts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We went here after looking through the reviews. The menu is a bit limited, I would have liked to see more Goan dishes. Atmosphere was good and it was relatively busy. Just ok, nothing special

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancs
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

The food , service, hostess was wonderful, didn't like the scrounging cat but the desert was the best Lemon meringue was the best we have tasted

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We was recommended this restaurant. And the food was to die for. My knife cut through my steak like melted butter - cooked perfectly and the puddings are truly tasty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sollentuna, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is really one of the best in Goa with the nice owner couple Katarina and Bano, excellent service and of course marvelous food. Katarina always take good care of the costumers and see that everything is ok all the time. We have never needed to complain for anything because the food and service has been first class. We have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Mermaid Restaurant also viewed

Candolim, Bardez
Candolim, Bardez
 

Been to Mermaid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mermaid Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing