We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 496 Siem Reap Restaurants

Green Star ( Not for Profit )

Wat Bo Road (Southern end) | At 'T' Intersection past Wat Damnak, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
+85592255241
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 496 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $8
Hours:
Mon - Sat 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Cuisines: Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located close to town in a quiet side street, Green Star Restaurant offers authentic Khmer meals at local prices.Hygienic, MSG free and western-belly friendly, the Green Star menu includes a range of tasty and affordable Khmer dishes, with Anchor beer sold by the jug. Eat with the locals,Expats & travellers, away from the tourist strip. 100% of the profits support former street beggar kids through the Green Gecko Project.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    94
    32
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015 NEW

I love green star and have been many times in the past. The food is great the service friendly and the profits go to a good cause. Unfortunately the restaurant is currently CLOSED. I have discovered that it might open at some stage in the future, so i wait for that time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bangkok
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Manager thinks because it is a "not for profit" that you owe him something when you walk through the door. Save your money and your time and support more ethical and well run NGO establishments such as Friends, or Haven. Just because it is a not for profit funded by a pensioner is no excuse to sit around and be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doug S, Owner at Green Star ( Not for Profit ), responded to this review

A most interesting review some 10 - 11 months after you visited Green Star. I note you rated Value & Food highly but all you chose to do was make derogatory remarks about me???? Firstly, I am not a Pensioner ... self funded & retired & choose to now live in Cambodia to do what I can for the poorer... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

I thought it would be open because of the latest review but alas it is still closed. No indication as to when they will reopen. Sign says a month or two but has no start date!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

We enjoyed the food very much! We ordered in advance because we were a big group, and we only had to wait a while before it was served. The owner was even the one who served it to us. Don't expect a high end restaurant. The place was open air with plastic chair. But we don't mind, I actually like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

On our current trip to Siem Reap, we attempted to go to Green Star the last two nights after reading the many excellent reviews. We visited the website to be sure we had the accurate hours. Finally, we looked on the facebook page, which has a post on September 1st that states, in part, "Green Star is currently CLOSED....... ....We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Doug S, Owner at Green Star ( Not for Profit ), responded to this review

Avee & I are sorry you were not ale to enjoy a green Star experience & the fact you visited us on two occasions. We are closed for a break & also renovations. We do have a sign on the gate to that effect, but perhaps you missed it on your first visit. Our Web Page also has a message... More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

This is a great little restaurant that serves khmer food. Other than the delicious food, this place has two big positives: its for a good cause (helping out locals) and it is well away from the main tourist area!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Strasbourg, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Very very nice restaurant, away from Pub Street in a more quiet (and nicer) part of Siem Reap. Very good value, fresh and well prepared local food. Warm and friendly welcoming by Aussie owner Doug. A must do restaurant in Siem Reap.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Disneyland Paris, France
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I'm sad I didn't find this place earlier. Not only it is for a good cause, but it's also absolutely delicious, best khmer food I had in almost a month in Cambodia. While it seems really far from the "tourist" area of Siem Reap, it's actually quite quick to walk there from pub street through Art Market. If you plan... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Melbourne
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

I went there with a volunteer group towards the end of our stay. It was a great place to eat and experience Cambodian food. The owner and his wife were really friendly and we had a great time. We drank beer from huge towers, ate tasty corn kernels and even had some frog! I would eat there again next time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Middle East
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

The food here deserves 5 stars but be prepared for a little slower service. The pork with eggplant is incredible and so is the corn appetizer. We didn't have time to go for a second time but we would have because it was so awesome! This is a must try

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Green Star ( Not for Profit ) also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Green Star ( Not for Profit )? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Star ( Not for Profit )

Address: Wat Bo Road (Southern end) | At 'T' Intersection past Wat Damnak, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Phone Number: +85592255241
Location: Asia  >  Cambodia  >  Siem Reap Province  >  Siem Reap
Open Hours:
Monday 11:30 am - 2:00 pm  6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday 11:30 am - 2:00 pm  6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday 11:30 am - 2:00 pm  6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday 11:30 am - 2:00 pm  6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday 11:30 am - 2:00 pm  6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday 11:30 am - 2:00 pm  6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 2 - 8
Cuisine: Cambodian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Green Star ( Not for Profit ) staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?