We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tinel

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Don Ive Prodana 2, Zadar, Croatia
+ 385 98 975-7130
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Tinel and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Tinel! Enjoy the atmosphere of the ancient Zadar town on the...
Welcome to Tinel! Enjoy the atmosphere of the ancient Zadar town on the peninsula mixed with all the buzz of the near-by piazza, the Zadar’s main square.In the old Dalmatian homes, the room used for socializing and relaxation was referred to as “tinel”. In Italy and in the South of France it is the name used for dining rooms or refectories. So what a better place to experience Mediterranean and Dalmatia, the history of the old-age towns built from stone and gastronomical secretes of their residents, then in the very center of the over three thousand years old town of Zadar.Restaurant TINEL is a restaurant, a bistro, a pizzeria and a spaghetteria. It is a casual and relaxed eatery, with friendly crew and excellent chefs. We offer traditional Mediterranean and Dalmatian cuisine with a touch of creativity and contemporary themes. Whether you look for pasta, pizza, salads, meats or fish, you will find it here. Join us, relax and enjoy… TINEL is the place for the good mood and the great food.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 173 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 74
    Excellent
  • 68
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Good, but pricy

In general we had a pleasant stay in this restaurant. Although the menu was not very exciting. Ok we have been traveling around Croatia for a while and each & every restaurant has kinda the same dishes. That's why I hardly found something to chose, because I did not want to have the same dish just... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 23, 2015
Feliptio21
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
Add Photo Write a Review

173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015 NEW

I got a slap in the face because I and my family sat down at an emty table without reservation note on it.. never go there unless you want to be bullied..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Predrag M, Owner at Tinel, responded to this review

Malicious comments of this type do not want to comment More 

Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015

A local person recommended us this place and we did not regretted - great food. The order came really fast (even if the place was almost full), the meal was amazing and the waiter really nice. But you cannot pay by credit card.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Predrag M, Owner at Tinel, responded to this review

Hi, Alina Thanks for your review. Our goal is to satisfy each customer regardless of the crowd. I'm sorry for card payment. We had a few days a problem POS device. Kindest regards, More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

Really nice food, good prices and quiet unlike some of the other restaurants we went to. Friendly staff too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Predrag M, Owner at Tinel, responded to this review

Hi, MAssimo M Thanks for the nice review. I'm glad that we've been a regular guest :) Kindest regards, More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015 via mobile

I was there with family and suffered incredibly rude and aggressive experience with staff. The waiter hit me in my had from the unexplained misunderstanding. He was wrong understood my words.There were with me were children and women, and it is inconceivable that the waiter instead of words to resolve disputes with fists. Just to reiterate that it has misunderstood... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Predrag M, Owner at Tinel, responded to this review

Hi, You came to me in the biggest crowds. you immediately began to insult ... I escorted you Nicely out of the restaurant. I'm sorry but my guests do not behave in such a way Kindest regards, More 

Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

In general we had a pleasant stay in this restaurant. Although the menu was not very exciting. Ok we have been traveling around Croatia for a while and each & every restaurant has kinda the same dishes. That's why I hardly found something to chose, because I did not want to have the same dish just in another way of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Predrag M, Owner at Tinel, responded to this review

Hi Felipto Thank you for your review kindest regards; More 

Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

Really enjoyed the food as we had a local meat dish, pelento, pizzas and carbonara. Very tasty food and good service. Busy place at 9pm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Predrag M, Owner at Tinel, responded to this review

Hi Paul Thanks for the nice review I hope to see you again kindest regards More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

For the opening time 8 o'clock, it fit our travel schedule more. I think the breakfast set, eggs (omelette, scrumbled, fried), pizza bread, juice, tea or coffee, cheeze, ham and salami, plus butter and jam, will provide enough energy for travellers to go on till afternoon. At least it was a full stomach to us. I would say for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Predrag M, Owner at Tinel, responded to this review

Hi, Shine L Thanks for your review. Kindest regards, More 

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

In a quiet street right in the center, the tables outside are nicely decorated and we also enjoyed the pianist playing. Food is really nice, we all found our favourites, children and adults, wine was also very enjoyable. Thank you to the team for taking care of us with smile and efficiency.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Predrag M, Owner at Tinel, responded to this review

Hi, Muriel L Thanks for the nice review. I hope to see you again. Kindest regards, More 

Harlington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

Freshly cooked food, all dishes can be adapted to your own taste. Great value and service. Ate there twice in a 5 night stay, so we obviously enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Predrag M, Owner at Tinel, responded to this review

Hi, Disgruntled44 Thanks for the nice review. I hope to see you again ... Kindest regards, More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015 via mobile

The service here is so untypical of Croatia. We shared the fish platter which we have had in many restaurants along the coast and it was completely overcooked. Would really recommend you go somewhere else if you want good food with a genuine smile!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Predrag M, Owner at Tinel, responded to this review

Hi, Johnandmir Thanks for your review. I'm sorry we did not meet your requirements ... You should complain immediately to the waiter. Surely we would find a satisfactory solution for you I hope you will provide us with a new opportunity. Best regards, More 

Travelers who viewed Tinel also viewed

 
Zadar, Zadar County
Zadar, Zadar County
 

Been to Tinel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Don Ive Prodana 2, Zadar, Croatia
  • Location: Europe  >  Croatia  >  Dalmatia  >  Zadar County  >  Zadar
  • Phone Number: + 385 98 975-7130

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Mediterranean

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine

Description

Welcome to Tinel! Enjoy the atmosphere of the ancient Zadar town on the peninsula mixed with all the buzz of the near-by piazza, the Zadar’s main square.In the old Dalmatian homes, the room used for socializing and relaxation was referred to as “tinel”. In Italy and in the South of France it is the name used for dining rooms or refectories. So what a better place to experience Mediterranean and Dalmatia, the history of the old-age towns built from stone and gastronomical secretes of their residents, then in the very center of the over three thousand years old town of Zadar.Restaurant TINEL is a restaurant, a bistro, a pizzeria and a spaghetteria. It is a casual and relaxed eatery, with friendly crew and excellent chefs. We offer traditional Mediterranean and Dalmatian cuisine with a touch of creativity and contemporary themes. Whether you look for pasta, pizza, salads, meats or fish, you will find it here. Join us, relax and enjoy… TINEL is the place for the good mood and the great food.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tinel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?