We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 214 Split Restaurants

Konoba Matejuska

Tomica Stine 3 | Veli Varos, Split 21000, Croatia
+385 21 355 152
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 214 Restaurants in Split
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $37
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Our small family restaurant is run by Father & Chef, preparing dishes that are passed on by his mother and grandmother. Our family lives in this neigborhood for more than 300 years. Blessed by the heavenly Adriatic, seafood is mainly our thing. As we depend on the weather working with fish, daily menu is flexible. Vegetables are bought on the bazaar behind the palace & the fish-market is 100m away. Even our wine & olive oil is made by local family producers. Enjoy traditional Dalmatian dishes in friendly atmosphere.. Welcome foodies!

Hotels travelers are raving about...

Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    94
    21
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hvar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived into Split, the local people recommended this little restaurant. We were only in Split for 2 days, first day they were fully booked and second day, they were again fully booked but the lovely waiter tried their hardest and let us have a reservation. Their food was fresh, good value for money. The service was top notch.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

We went to Matejuska based on TA reviews and i must say for the first time i was let down, not because the food wasn't good, but because either the ratings here had really raised my expectations. Everyone on TA recommended the seafood platter, although good, I’m not so sure that was the best thing on the menu. I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

My boyfriend and I came here for our last dinner in Split and we were not disappointed. While I was worried we wouldn't get a table, we showed up the day before and reserved during the awkward between lunch/dinner time, and requested an outside table. When we arrived the next day they had given our table to a walk in,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Espoo, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

A lovely little restaurant. The fish is excellent - bought directly from the fish market in the morning and prepared simply with local olive oil and salt. Perfection! Be sure to reserve a table, the place is always full.

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

I come here for a lunch just because of great reviews on TA. I wouldn't say I was disappointed but it was just regular tratoria with good food. Service wasn't bad I must admit and probably if I didn't know they were so high on TA my review would be better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor we made a booking for this restaurant. I have to say I do not know why people recommend this restaurant. The cuttlefish risotto was undercooked and the octopus with chick peas was ok but not fantastic. The menu is very limited and sorry to say I wouldn't recommend the restaurant although the waiter... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
piple, Owner at Konoba Matejuska, responded to this review

Hello Maureen, Sadly we dont remember you being here and complaining about anything, if you did we would take the criticism very seriously, and try to correct it on the spot. It appears that you did not know were are you going, because if you read the description you would see that we are a small family restaurant with rustic,... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

As everyone else has commented you do need to book a table in advance and I'm so glad that we did book when we were unsucessful in getting a table earlier in our holiday. The service is excellent as is the food and style of cooking. The menu might seem fairly limited but the quality is exceptional and prices very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dublin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

A reservation for this popular restaurant is strongly advisable, especially at weekends. While neither of us are big Fish fans, we went for the Fish platter for two. It was impressive and contained a great selection. it was well cooked, very tasty and plenty of it. For those who are not "big-on-fish" we made a decent effort. A little pricey,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

Reservations required...impossible to get in without!Fabulous fresh fish brought to your table to select for your dinner. Fabulous simple grilled preparation. Grilled, well seasoned side vegetables and fresh side salad with a variety of vegetables. Wine selection was great. Service was great. Best meal in Croatia! Best value for price...expected our total to be more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palo Alto, Ca
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

We were very comfortable with the restaurant and the friendly service. The cuttlefish risotto was first class and the house wine was good. We then had a sea bass with grilled vegetables. The vegetables were very good, but we were disappointed with the sea bass. It looked good but it was overcooked on one side and slightly undercooked on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Konoba Matejuska also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Konoba Matejuska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Konoba Matejuska

Address: Tomica Stine 3 | Veli Varos, Split 21000, Croatia
Phone Number: +385 21 355 152
Location: Europe  >  Croatia  >  Dalmatia  >  Split-Dalmatia County  >  Split
Average Prices: USD 9 - 37
Cuisine: Mediterranean, Seafood, Croatian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Konoba Matejuska staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?