We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Topper's

120 Wauwinet Rd, Nantucket, MA 02554-4213
508-228-8768
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 116 Restaurants in Nantucket
Reserve with OpenTable
Topper's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $50 - $50
Hours:
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Nantucket Town is nine miles from The Wauwinet. The inn provides complimentary jitney service 12 times daily from 9 AM to 11 PM. We pick up from the Information Bureau on Federal Street, we also pick up from the White Elephant Hotel from 6.00pm-8.00pm on the hour.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    67
    25
    16
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

The Wauwinet has the most amazing views of the sunset from its sweeping lawn. We ate dinner in the very formal dining room at Toppers. The waiter took a while to come over and did apologize, telling us he had to wrap up a party so they could make the boat back to town. The presentation of the food was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rye, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The view is spectacular, the resort is quiet & serene --heavenly. The food is very good but the service is sublime.the wait staff is trained at the highest level. Staff is friendly & bends over backwards to accommodate the guests. We always visit Toppers & the Wauwinet when in Hyannis. The boat launch ride from the White Elephant is highly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

The place is beautiful. However it is a huge rip off. The prices are outrageous for the morsel of food they serve. Save your money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jennifer H, Manager at Topper's, responded to this review

Dear Wasgreat, I apologize for your discontent with our portions and pricing. I can assure you we price our menu according to the specialty products we are so fortunate to have access to. I will make sure and share your feedback with our chef and can also reassure you we take all comments to heart. Every year we focus on... More

Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Service was incredibly uneven. Food was decent but nothing overwhelmingly amazing. Every item was very rich and decadent and it would've been nice to have some simpler menu items (especially for guests who ate there again and again due to staying at the isolated hotel). Wine selection was excellent. Beautiful setting which made the prices not as cringe-worthy as they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer H, Manager at Topper's, responded to this review

Dear Dreaming Mother, From reading your review I can tell that we definitely did not live up to the expectations that you had of a property of our caliber. We appreciate hearing the good with the bad and truly take to heart all of your feedback. Please let us know if you return we can certainly suggest some of our... More

Kearney, Nebraska
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

From a cavier appeitzer to the best lobster ever, with really unusual add ons (such as mushrooms), we could not have gone wrong. We took the boat over from the White Elephant pier with cocktails going over, it was just a beautiful evening. I learned about a new wine from Canaros, that was great...kowledgeble staff from a-z. They gave us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer H, Manager at Topper's, responded to this review

Dear SkiNebraska, thank you for taking the time to review us here on trip advisor. It sounds like you enjoyed a wonderful evening on Nantucket. From a Wauwinet Bay cruise to caviar, to lobster and some fine wine to pair with. We are so sorry you felt rushed through dessert but hope the sunset we rush your for was worth... More

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Went to dinner at Toppers by the courtesy boat ride from the White Elephant. Very fun experience, dinner unfortunately was a preset 3 course meal, it gave a few options, but would have liked to order off the regular menu. Oh well, next time. Food was good. Sat out on the deck, was a beautiful night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jennifer H, Manager at Topper's, responded to this review

Dear Jim, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at TOPPER'S. I'm sorry you were not a fan of the preset menu we offer for TOPPER'S by Water, however it is actually the identical menu to our regular dinner menu offering 5 appetizers to choose from and 5 entrees to choose from as well as 6... More

Hingham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Nice boat ride from White Elephant. Nice looking venue. Food is nicely prepared but portions are TINY!!!! Expensive!!! Our waitress was nice but she did not clearly communicate that the truffle on the special appetizer would be an additional $35...the portion sizes are small enough but to sneak that past us was truly aggravating. Did not fight it. But can't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jennifer H, Manager at Topper's, responded to this review

Dear HinghamPonch, Thank you for your helpful feedback. following your evening with us we have made certain to review with the staff the importance of clarifying an additional charge for added on specials such as the winter truffle appetizer that you enjoyed, as well as Caviar that we have as a daily special. We are so lucky to be able... More

Gig Harbor, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Went to Topper's for lunch - setting was beautiful and most important the lobster roll was excellent. I never expected to be able to get a gluten free lobster roll!!! Service was great and will definitely go back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer H, Manager at Topper's, responded to this review

Dear Kathy, Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on Trip Advisor! I am so glad you were able to experience a "modified" Lobster Roll while out on Nantucket! These days we find so many guests with different dietary restrictions that we really do have to be creative with making menu items work for all. From... More

Plainville, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I had planned a lobsterbake for myself and 17 coworkers on the beach at sunset at Topper's (at The Wauwinet.) Our group arrived by boat and saw the wonderful set-up that had been provided for us right on the beach. The majority of us were excited to enjoy a wonderful dinner outdoors with stunning views of the sunset. However, our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jennifer H, Manager at Topper's, responded to this review

Dear Amy, Thank you so much for thinking of us once again. It seems as though your event was just yesterday as our season is flying by. We are always happy to help wherever possible and were happy to relocate to the more comfortable space that evening. We hope we will see you again back at TOPPER'S! and remember your... More

New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We dined here twice, first being a late lunch while we waited for our room to be ready, the second being breakfast the following morning. Lunch: It didn't start off so great, we had to wait 15 minutes until a server arrived and it was obvious the fellow that was supposed to be our server was more interested in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jennifer H, Manager at Topper's, responded to this review

Dear pcb11, wonderful to hear from you in regards to your time with us at TOPPER'S. Thank you for sharing your experience. We have been truly lucky to have had such a busy season once again so I apologize for the delay at the start of your meal and am relieved we were able find the right match to provide... More

Travelers who viewed Topper's also viewed

 

Been to Topper's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Topper's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing