We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9,404 Beijing Restaurants

The Schoolhouse at Mutianyu Great Wall

12 Mutianyu Village | Huairou District, Beijing 101405, China (Huairou Scenic Resort)
010-61626506
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 9,404 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Neighborhood: Huairou Scenic Resort
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    63
    18
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014 NEW

We went on a weekend and there was just an expensive buffet with no a la carte options. Essentially we paid too much money for rice and a few dishes. There was a long queue for the barbecue station that was average at best. Even Michelle Obama's favourite noodles was disappointing. A waste of time, in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimatmutianyu, Owner at The Schoolhouse at Mutianyu Great Wall, responded to this review

Dear Delani P, I am so sorry you felt our Fall Grill amounted to rice and a few dishes Below I am sharing the choices that were on offer, composed of local ingredients prepared from scratch. I am also sorry that you did not appreciate the handmade noodles and sauce prepared as you watched; yours is the first complaint about... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

After a long walk at the fantastic Great Wall, we were getting hungry and stopped at the Schoolhouse. A great looking place and when Mrs. Obama visited we wanted to give it a try. We had the feeling that Chinese customers received a better service than foreigners. Those that arrived after us were given immediate and very humble attention, whereas... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimatmutianyu, Owner at The Schoolhouse at Mutianyu Great Wall, responded to this review

Dear Jose M, I am very sorry that your experience at The Schoolhouse did not meet your expectations. I have reviewed the concrete service issues you report with our team. I am concerned about the perception you report that Chinese guests received better service than foreigners, just as I would be if Chinese customers compained foreigners were getting better service.... More

Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Stopped here with a group of graduate students after our trip to the great wall and had a fabulous meal. The grounds and scenery were lovely and the owners were extremely gracious and friendly. They came in after we were finished eating and shared the history of how the School house came to be.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimatmutianyu, Owner at The Schoolhouse at Mutianyu Great Wall, responded to this review

Dear SBgirl_13, We really appreciate that you took the time to share your experience at The Schoolhouse with the Trip Advisor community. Wishing you many safe and happy journeys, Jim Spear & The Schoolhouse Team More

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Our group of 11 visited on Saturday afternoon around 2.45pm after our walk on the Wall and the staff explained that the buffet (198RMB per adult) closed at 3.30pm, which was fine for us. Given there were not many people left and we didn't have much time to enjoy the buffet, we were surprised at how long it took for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
jimatmutianyu, Owner at The Schoolhouse at Mutianyu Great Wall, responded to this review

Dear ChinaMum2014, My loving and kind-hearted wife was the owner/manager you compained about who had to deal with you and your kids. We're certainly not perfect and are willing to accept honest criticism as an opportunity for us and our team to provide a better experience for future guests. I do think anyone who reads your unfair review will realize... More

Pickerington, Ohio
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Quaint little restaurant with great outdoor seating. Even Michelle Obama ate here when visiting China! One of the owners is American. We had a very nice lunch!

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimatmutianyu, Owner at The Schoolhouse at Mutianyu Great Wall, responded to this review

Dear DLSproul, Our team is happy to know that you enjoyed your experience at The Schoolhouse. Most of our team members are from nearby villages, part of our commitment to making a difference in our rural community, along with growing our own food and making what we serve on premises from scratch. The partners in our business are all US... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I ate here after visiting the Great Wall as we were staying nearby at the Brickhouse. I ordered chicken noodles and my mum ordered the ravioli. Instead I was served the confit duck and risotto and tried to change my order but the staff spoke very little English and I couldn't explain what I wanted to do so I just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimatmutianyu, Owner at The Schoolhouse at Mutianyu Great Wall, responded to this review

Dear Jessica L, I'm so sorry that you found it diifficult to communicate about the wrong dish being served and even more sorry that you didn't enjoy the mushroom risotto with duck confit. That is actually one of our most popular dishes leading me to think the dish was not made properly for you. I am also concerned that the... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I lived in Beijing for nine years and going to Mutianyu Great Wall was a constant for guests. The Schoolhouse lunch after a morning's hike was a great alternative to the picnic lunch we brought to eat on the wall. (Both good choices, but we liked mixing it up!) Food at Schoolhouse reliably good and for those with a less-adventurous... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimatmutianyu, Owner at The Schoolhouse at Mutianyu Great Wall, responded to this review

Dear ipwhitley, Thank you for sharing your experiences at The Schoolhouse with the Trip Advsisor Community. We;re very happy to know that you found our food yummy and reliably good. Since you've departed Beijing we've updated and revised our menu but it's still based on local food, much of it grown by ourselves, made homemade from scratch. We appreciated your... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

we went (group of 9) on a saturday afternoon. the food was excellent and fresh but the service was terrible - thats why the average. it didnt seem like the place was packed but we had to ask 4-5 times for water, cups and glasses. finally, one of us just got up and got a couple of jugs of water.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimatmutianyu, Owner at The Schoolhouse at Mutianyu Great Wall, responded to this review

Dear Anand m, On behalf of our whole team I am very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations or our own standard. Thank you for alerting me. I've shared your review with our managers and server team to remind them of how important it is to be prompt and alert and to address issues timely in order... More

Shanghai, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We visited the schoolhouse at Mutianyu for lunch and overall the meal was okay except I had to ask 3 times for my green tea (all other guests got their drinks promptly) and I ordered the burger well done. It was served basically raw inside. I asked for it to be cooked some more (actually our guide asked so there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jimatmutianyu, Owner at The Schoolhouse at Mutianyu Great Wall, responded to this review

Dear JimG, I'd like you and our readers in the Trip Advisor community to know that in July we had a couple of complaints on the burgers, which have over the years been our best selling item and frequently praised as among the best a guest had eaten anywhere. Our cooking protocol for burgers actually requires that they be cooked... More

Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

It is well worth the visit if you are going to Mutianyu. Great America-like dinning made from local ingredients. Fuel up before you hit the wall.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimatmutianyu, Owner at The Schoolhouse at Mutianyu Great Wall, responded to this review

Dear jordan706, Thank you for your kind review for the Trip Advisor community. Our whole team is dedicated to serving fresh food homemade from scratch and it is great to know when a guest appreciates our work. Wishing you safe and happy travels, Jim Spear & The Schoolhouse Team More

Travelers who viewed The Schoolhouse at Mutianyu Great Wall also viewed

Beijing, Beijing Region
 

Been to The Schoolhouse at Mutianyu Great Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Schoolhouse at Mutianyu Great Wall

Address: 12 Mutianyu Village | Huairou District, Beijing 101405, China
Phone Number: 010-61626506
Location: Asia  >  China  >  Beijing Region  >  Beijing>  > Huairou Scenic Resort
Average Prices: USD 6 - 30
Cuisine: International

Do you own or manage The Schoolhouse at Mutianyu Great Wall?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing