We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Spur Restaurant at EKA Hotel

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Mombasa Rd, Nairobi, Kenya
254 719 045 000
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for The Spur Restaurant at EKA Hotel and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 89 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 22
    Excellent
  • 39
    Very good
  • 20
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Very good Food

The food was very good and enjoyed it. And there was a variety to choose to eat. As there was both vegetrian and non vegertrain food.

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 19, 2015
Tehzeen B
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

The food was very good and enjoyed it. And there was a variety to choose to eat. As there was both vegetrian and non vegertrain food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015 via mobile

I had the best pork chops at this restaurant that I can remember, right next to the road which makes it easily accessible they have sort of a red indian theme going on which is quite unique, I wish they did deliver though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015

The Hotel looks great, superb location. The Restaurant looks excellent. The menu has a huge variety and that's it. The food is average to poor. They advertise deep fried onion rings and what you get is grated onion that tastes of oil!!!. The chips were soggy. The steaks were ok. I believe this restaurant is very overpriced for what you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sangeeta D, Owner at The Spur Restaurant at EKA Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sandra, Thank you for your comments on our food and services. Due to shortages in the supply of white onions last week, we were compelled to serve red onions and of course red onions look and behave differently when fried. We have also been very concerned about this and have reverted to the use of white onions only. Our... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015

Great location in a beautiful hotel. Restaurant is well kitted out and looks the part. Menu is a fairly typical steakhouse offering. I had to send my starter back it was so bad. I eat my main course as I was hungry and really wished I had not. Quality of the ingredients and cooking was poor. I had the Surf... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sangeeta D, Owner at The Spur Restaurant at EKA Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stevie, Thank you for your comments on our food and services. We value customer feedback as it helps us to consistently improve the quality of food and services. I apologize on behalf of my team. We have made some changes to improve the quality of surf and turf and I would like to encourage you to give us another... More 

southern ontario
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

Very convenient if your staying in the EKA HOTEL, the staff was friendly enough, food was fair, lots of sauces and fried foods. Sometimes my meat was undercooked or overlooked.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sangeeta D, Owner at The Spur Restaurant at EKA Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your valuable time to write a review about our food and services. We value customer comments as the comments help us to improve the quality of our food and services. I have informed my head chef about the under/over cooking issue. He is in the process of conducting training sessions with all the grillers.... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Well am. Always there for the ribs only. Next time I'll try something else. The only negative thing is they close very early. And once on my 100th visit the chef disappointed me.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sangeeta D, Owner at The Spur Restaurant at EKA Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your valuable time in posting a review about my restaurant. My team and I greatly value your patronage. Yes, please do try something else(along with ribs) when you visit us next time. We are open from 11am to 11pm. Sorry to disappoint you about the timing. Warm Regards Sangeeta More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

The Spur at Eka is near my residence. Every time I ask my boys where they'd like to go out to dinner they say The Spur At Eka! Without fail. The restaurant is comfortable. It has comfortable sitting booths that accommodate easy sitting. The play area for children has them occupied and the service staff are always at hand to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

Lets face it, the spur is a well established steak house brand in Africa. The Spur restaurant at Eka Hotel is no exception when it comes to maintaining the standards. A visit here guarantees you signature spur dishes with that signature spur taste. The service is excellent, the food is excellent and the ambiance is uniquely spur. There are so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sangeeta D, Owner at The Spur Restaurant at EKA Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Teddy, Thank you for your patronage and appreciation of our food, services and ambiance. I, on behalf of my staff, would like to thank you, from the core of our hearts, as you took valuable time and effort to comment on every aspect of our restaurant and the services it offers. We take every feedback seriously and your comments... More 

Saint-Maur-des-Fosses, France
Level Contributor
234 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

Service is good and people very warm but food is just average and doesn't have special interest . A fast food like many others but really nothing special and food is a bit oily.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Choice of meals, large portions and tasty, quick service and located in the hotel, value wise not more expensive than most around.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Spur Restaurant at EKA Hotel also viewed

 

Been to The Spur Restaurant at EKA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Mombasa Rd, Nairobi, Kenya
  • Location: Africa  >  Kenya  >  Nairobi
  • Phone Number: 254 719 045 000

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Barbecue

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Spur Restaurant at EKA Hotel and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Spur Restaurant at EKA Hotel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?