We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Purdy Arms

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Pizza, Pub, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
61 Marula Lane | Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 712 007001
Website
Add hours for Purdy Arms and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Set in 21 acres of Karen, a leafy suburb twenty kilometers Southwest of...
Set in 21 acres of Karen, a leafy suburb twenty kilometers Southwest of Nairobi, lies the Purdy Arms. With a view of the famed knuckled ridge of the Ngong Hills (“I had a farm in Africa, at the foot of the Ngong Hills” – Karen Blixen, Out of Africa) it is a relaxing place to stay, have a meal or drink or two.
read more
Improve this listing

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 106 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 50
    Excellent
  • 41
    Very good
  • 8
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
A little disapponting!

We had Sunday lunch at Purdy Arms and I had perhaps set my expectations too high. As a family restaurant, particularly for those with small children, this would be an ideal venue. The food was reasonable, but far from excellent - more the "pub grub" type of fare, in my opinion. Also, the place... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed November 29, 2014
GertHofhuis
,
Nairobi, Kenya
Good for:
  • Bar scene
  • Outdoor seating
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

We had Sunday lunch at Purdy Arms and I had perhaps set my expectations too high. As a family restaurant, particularly for those with small children, this would be an ideal venue. The food was reasonable, but far from excellent - more the "pub grub" type of fare, in my opinion. Also, the place could do with a bit of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PurdyArms, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you found your experience at Purdy Arms, Karen a little disappointing, and have discussed your issues with the senior management and kitchen staff, as we very much appreciate all feedback as the only way to improve. One of the owners as well as our managers are always on duty to deal with any issues that... More 

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Set in the classy Karen area of Nairobi, Purdy Arms was a welcome place to have lunch and enjoy an ice cold beer. We were taken here by our friends Jason and Kirsty and we enjoyed it a lot! Food was good and the grounds were beautiful. The main building looks lovely and acts as a brilliant back drop to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PurdyArms, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again the next time you are in Nairobi. Karibu :) More 

Dar es Salaam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

There was an international rugby match on and the place was packed, so they had an excuse that the service took a bit long. Otherwise great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
PurdyArms, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of the Purdy Arms, Karen. You are right Saturday night was very busy for the Rugby but this is no excuse for the delay in service. We are putting on an extra bar as well as extra staff for future rugby games so that the service should be to... More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We are at Purdy Arms for dinner once a week as we have other reasons then the restaurant to be there every Wednesday night. Over and Over food is inconsistent toppings just missing on pizzas which are 2 for 1 on Wednesdays you would think at least on a night that they are on special they would be made correctly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PurdyArms, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review

Dear Erin, We are so sorry about your disappointing experiences at the Purdy Arms, Karen. As a family owned business where the owners both work as well and relax at the Purdy Arms we are very upset that you did not enjoy your time here. We have tried our very best to make it a family restaurant offering good value... More 

Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

Purdy Arms is a wonderful place for families to have lunch or dinner in the Karen area of Nairobi. The extensive grounds go beyond "kid friendly" to "kid fantastic," with lots of space to run around or enjoy the jumping castle, the play house, the swings and climbing area, or (for 12 and older) the supervised archery range. Food ranges... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PurdyArms, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind review. We have two young children ourselves so have tired to make the restaurant as family friendly as possible and often bring our own children here to play and enjoy the extensive grounds. We have taken on board the number of comments about the service (not just from you) and strengthened our senior management... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

This is a heaven for people with children (play fields, greenery) and for people with dogs as well. It is like a restaurant in a forest, surrounded by huge trees, with giant butterflies flying around. On Saturday there is a fair - mostly organic food, so it is a good time to visit because you might get something for you.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PurdyArms, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review

Thanks you so much for taking the time to write a review, and are so glad that you enjoyed our grounds and the Organic Farmers Market which we are proud to host every Saturday. We are very surprised that you said our food was not cheap as we regularly compare it with our competitors and do everything we possibly can... More 

Nairobi
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

I took my best friend out for a simple Sunday afternoon lunch and they did not disappoint. The service was up to par, the food was good though not as flavourful as we would have liked. I had a pizza with chicken (substitute for bacon), olives, parmesan cheese and onions. My friend had the all-famous burger. The juices were freshly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PurdyArms, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind review, which is exactly the atmosphere we have tried to create at the Purdy Arms, Karen. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back. Kindest Regards Rob More 

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Second time in six months. We thought we would return as we were convinced that it must have been an off day the first time. Perhaps we were wrong. We tried the beef pie again and again it was extremely disappointing. Beef and guinness pie conjures up images of tender pieces of beef in a wonderful thick gravy topped off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PurdyArms, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are so sorry that you were disappointed by your visit. We have discussed your review at length and taken it to heart, as, impossible though it is, we never want to disappoint anyone who visits our family owned restaurant. Our beef is sourced by our on site Sausage... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Very good option for a weekend lunch gateway for a family, feels very homely and food choice is good. Children can engage themselves in cooking their own pizza

Was this review helpful? Yes
PurdyArms, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind review. We have tried our best to create a homely atmosphere and it is always very satisfying when this is appreciated by friends and clients. The children's make your own pizza is very popular and they do come up with some amazing creations. Thanks again for your kind review. More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

This is the perfect place to spend your sunday just relaxing in the huge gardens or doing some archery which was great fun. Waiters are friendly and overall service is decent. Only problem was that food took almost 2 hours to come and because we were a big group we got our foods at such varying times that we didnt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Purdy Arms also viewed

 

Been to Purdy Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 61 Marula Lane | Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
  • Location: Africa  >  Kenya  >  Nairobi
  • Phone Number: +254 712 007001

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 8 - 15
  • Cuisine: Pizza, Pub, Gastropub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating

Description

Set in 21 acres of Karen, a leafy suburb twenty kilometers Southwest of Nairobi, lies the Purdy Arms. With a view of the famed knuckled ridge of the Ngong Hills (“I had a farm in Africa, at the foot of the Ngong Hills” – Karen Blixen, Out of Africa) it is a relaxing place to stay, have a meal or drink or two.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Purdy Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?