We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 252 Yangon (Rangoon) Restaurants

Cafe Sule

Sule Shangri-La,Yangon | 223 Sule Pagoda Road, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar (Formerly Traders Café)
+951242828
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: Burmese, Indian, International, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Buffet
Description: Café Sule brings to Yangon a confluence of flavours and cultures, presented by a team of international chefs. Enjoy the finest in Asian, international and comfort food cuisine at the rejuvenated Café Sule.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    18
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Probably the best of all meals and good value for money. I was recommended to try this place by my friend, just to indulge in a bit of luxury....its definitely value for money at USD 34 pp for Sunday Brunch..full seafood spread including lobsters, Chinese dim sum, Japanese sushi & sashimi, Indian food, cheese platter with cold meats, local Myanmar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yangon Region, Myanmar
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Week end Brunches are quite a nice deal for US$ 25. Getr in the starting blocks early- like 11:45 am ready to sprint to the BBQ section. Wide choice of meat, sea food, westerm, Indian and even japanese. For cheese lovers, there is even a decent section, but desserts are quite nice. If you can stuff yourself until 3 pm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stopped by yesterday for coffee and a snack. Service was quite slow. It took me 20min to get the waitress' attention to get the menu. Then had to wait another 20-30min to place my order. In the end, I just walked up to the waitress to order (the person sitting on the table next to me did the same... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave J, Manager at Cafe Sule, responded to this review

Dear nel5555, Thank you very much for taking the time to bring to our attention your recent experience with us at the Cafe Sule. We are saddened to read that you experienced slow service; please accept our sincere apologies for making you wait and if we made you feel unwelcome. This feedback has been shared with our managers in charge... More

Johannesburg
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Ate here 5 times in last 3 days. Fantastic food. Excellent service. I asked the service manager why service was so great. She says the people try very hard. And she admitted it was quieter. But I also noticed many locals who enjoy the food here. Variety on buffet is grand and menu is really good. Better than many 5... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salamander Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Six of us, four adults and two children, had the Sunday $34 per person, children half price, buffet lunch which we have enjoyed over the years. It is very difficult to give a rating on this occasion. The range and presentation of the food was very good BUT, between us, we picked out one grilled lobster tail and two 'fresh'... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave J, Manager at Cafe Sule, responded to this review

Dear David C, I appreciate your feedback and concerns shared with us after your recent brunch with us at the Traders Cafe, and I apologize for the issues you faced with the seafood. Food Safety is our highest concern and we have ample procedures and practices in place to ensure the food that we serve our guests is safe. Unfortunately... More

zofit
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the trader's hotel. We enjoyed very much the breakfast and the seafgood buffet, which offered an incredible selection of food and tastes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Noisy, crying babies, 20 minutes to get a beer, food that had a crust on it (I arrived at 8.30pm - not late), no Amex, $3 for a local draft beer, concierge staff preoccupied with their mobile phones and had to shout to get a taxi. Standards have slipped a long way at this hotel. I have been coming to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave J, Manager at Cafe Sule, responded to this review

Dear Stuart B, Thank you very much for your feedback and for giving us another chance after your previous visit during our renovations. I am disappointed to read though that you had another unpleasant experience. Rest assured that those shortfalls will be addressed and improvements will be made. Please accept our sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations;... More

Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Many choices of bread, milk, cheeses to satisfy any palate. There are halal items, as well as dishes for Japanese, Chinese and Westerners. The pastries are just OK. The tea (Twining tea bags) is not good. Service attentive. Arrive early as it is quite crowded for breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I recently ordered a la carte breakfast as I arrived on the tail end of brunch. Omelette was ordinary, croissant was stale and was sent back and I had to order coffee numerous times before it arrived. Perhaps I can blame my experience on poor timing. Traders is a beautiful hotel and it's dining experience should be top notch and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave J, Manager at Cafe Sule, responded to this review

Dear AlamosJude, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are sad to read that you had an unpleasant breakfast experience with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations and rest assured that improvements will be made. We always strive to be at our best and not to disappoint; being busy should not be... More

Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
361 helpful votes 361 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Hotel restaurants are usually not my thing. But arriving late and starting early the next morning, I opted for the Traders Cafe. I could resist the sumptuous buffet and went for the à-la-carte menu. The curry I had as a main course was authentic and the best I've had in a long time. Although the restaurant was full that evening... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sule also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Cafe Sule? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe Sule

Address: Sule Shangri-La,Yangon | 223 Sule Pagoda Road, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar (Formerly Traders Café)
Phone Number: +951242828
Location: Asia  >  Myanmar  >  Yangon Region  >  Yangon (Rangoon)
Average Prices: USD 10 - 32
Cuisine: Burmese, Indian, International, Café

Do you own or manage Cafe Sule?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing