We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ancient Hue

104/47 Kim Long Street | Kim Long Ward, Hue 10000, Vietnam
84543590356
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 165 Restaurants in Hue
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, International, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: At Ancient Hue, guests will sample many types of Hue specialties such as banh beo (tiny rice flour parcels topped with shrimp flakes and pork crackling), and banh khoai (fried rice-flour pancakes stuffed with shrimp, pork and bean sprouts), along with innovative fusion cuisine. Trained at a five star hotel, Ancient Hue's chef mixes local specialties with Asian and European flavors to create memorable modern-day royal feasts. Rounding out the fine dining experience are creative cocktails blended with local fruits and an impressive international wine list.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    96
    40
    10
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 NEW

We had a cooking class there and it was really a wonderful afternoon/evening. All service members were so helpful and we had fun.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

When we arrived it was dark and the venue was quite beautiful, with outside and indoor dining. the food was really poor and overpriced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ancientfaifo, Gérant at Ancient Hue, responded to this review

Dear writers. We are delighted that you enjoyed our site & really disappointed that you have not appreciated our cuisine.If you having bring some precision on the dishes that you have chosen and explaining what you did not like, we could make changes. We are sorry for your bad experience. Nevertheless Thanks for coming to Ancient Hue. Team & management. More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Great location, an excellent local cooking with a touch of french style, definitely worth to have dinner there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ancientfaifo, Gérant at Ancient Hue, responded to this review

Dear Writers. All team members of Ancient Hue restaurant thank you for visiting us & taking your time to write this nice review . Ancient Hue team & Management. More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We just went to have Dinner and got a night that we wil never forget. As we arrived we got catched of the beauty of this place. Almost forget dat we went there for Dinner ;0)I had the feeling that the staff were pleased and proud to maken a small siteseeing with us! Als there saw how much we enjoy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ancientfaifo, Gérant at Ancient Hue, responded to this review

Dear Writers. Greeting from Ancient Hue restaurant, All staff & management thank you for this nice review. We are glad to made your dinner unforgetable. Hope to see you again in our restaurant. Ancient Hue team. More

tegelen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had diner at this fantastic restaurant this evening. It started with the a nice welcome and a tour in their garden and several old houses which are on the premises, my wife even got dressed up as a royal 😄 The restaurant itself looks great and the foot is even Better, we had the royal menu, with a slight... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ancientfaifo, Gérant at Ancient Hue, responded to this review

Dear Writers. Thank you for taking your time to share your experience. Ancient Hue is well known to be one of the best restaurant of Hue. We are a little bit seclude from the city center but all hotel receptionist, tour guides &l taxi drivers know this place. Don't hesitate to coming again to relaxing in our 3000m square garden... More

Lemgo, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The restaurant Ancient Hue was a great experience after visiting the King`s Palace. Here you can imagine what wonderful meals the former Kings had! It has a beautiful garden and the service is very friendly. Thanks to the Ancient Hue Team and esspecially to Michella, nice to meet you! Till next time

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ancientfaifo, Gérant at Ancient Hue, responded to this review

Dear Writers; Michelle & all the team of Ancient Hue restaurant thank you for your nice review. Hoping to see you again in our beautiful place ; Why not to learn about Vietnamese cuisine with our Cooking class available every day on morning & afternoon time . Ancient Hue team & Management. More

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My husband took me here for a romantic dinner (as recommended by our hotel) and we were very impressed with the appearance of the restaurant. Its buildings and decor are beautiful and made up for the distance from town - actually this meant it was in a very quiet location and when we got back into town everywhere was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ancientfaifo, Gérant at Ancient Hue, responded to this review

Dear Writers. Thank you for taking your time to write this detail review . We are working day by day to involve our menu & our quality of service & your contribution help us on that way . That's true they have to ask you for the cooking of your lamb & i already reminded them about that . Our... More

Hanoi, Ha Noi, Vietnam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The map on their website shows the correct location, but I would suggest the following route because it's easier: Simply get on the road to the Thien Mu temples and turn right at house number 110. (the road/alley is at a 90 degree angle. Not 45 degree as shown on their map) Then follow that winding road for longer than... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ancientfaifo, Gérant at Ancient Hue, responded to this review

Dear writers. Thank you for your nice review , it's true that we are outside of the noisy city center & this is what makes the charm of the location. Don't hesitate to ask your Hotel's receptionist or your driver as they all know our address . once again thank you. Ancient Hue team & management. More

Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We had read good reviews of The Ancient and it was the first place recommended at our hotel, so we jumped into a taxi for the 10 minute ride not really knowing what to expect. Most of the reviews had spoke about lunch, but our journey was in darkness and we were surprised to leave the main road and head... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ancientfaifo, Gérant at Ancient Hue, responded to this review

Dear Writers. We are pleased that you were surprised by the beauty of our gardens and the buildings, Ancient Hue has been renovating the last year in the traditional Vietnamese houses style, the era when Hue was still the Vietnamese capital. What can we say more ? Thank you for your fabulous review. Ancient Hue Team & Management . More

Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

It took quite a time for the taxi driver to find the place. Grounds are beautiful, the service is very good.My daughter and I were there in July for dinner , we were the only people in the restaurant that day and it felt very strange. You never go wrong with the set menu. Every dish was decorated.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ancientfaifo, Gérant at Ancient Hue, responded to this review

Dear Writers. Thank you so much for your kind appreciation. Don't hesitate to visit our sister restaurant if you are in Hoi An , Ancient Faifo is a unique dinning experience with pianist entertainment. Ancient Hue Team & management. More

Travelers who viewed Ancient Hue also viewed

Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 

Been to Ancient Hue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancient Hue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing