We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Deck

Cafe, Thai, Fusion
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
36-38 Soi Pratoo Nok Yoong, Maharat Road, Rattanakosin Island, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
02-221-9158
Today
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Thu 8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Fri - Sun 8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 453 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 108
    Excellent
  • 213
    Very good
  • 81
    Average
  • 25
    Poor
  • 26
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Good food but abit pricy

I find the food quite good although some could be tastier/more spicy. I guess the adjust that for tourists. The issues I have were the price which is quite pricy and the there were a lot of mosquitoes around.

4 of 5 starsReviewed June 18, 2015
Pu P
,
Geneva, Switzerland
Good for:
  • Special occasions
  • Romantic
Add Photo

453 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

I find the food quite good although some could be tastier/more spicy. I guess the adjust that for tourists. The issues I have were the price which is quite pricy and the there were a lot of mosquitoes around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

I was a bit hesitant about going here for a sundowner as the reviews seemed to be fairly on the average side. However, the thought of a drink on the river at sunset was tempting so off I went. I got there around 6.30 and headed straight to the top floor. There was even a small table free right at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

I was a little worried reading the new reviews after enjoying staying at Arun Residence and eating at the Deck a few years ago, but we had a lovely evening and the food was fine (not amazing, but reasonably good). Yes it is a little overpriced, but the ambience is lovely and so is the view. Service was prompt, friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
england
Level Contributor
105 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Beautiful deck bar facing wat Arun. Had wonderful cocktails whilst watching sunset. Well worth a visit. Great cocktails and super staff and service

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Friends recommended this spot at River side. It didn't fully meet expectations. The scenery is awesome, but food is OK, and overpriced. There plenty of other restaurants who service better Thai food then is served here. Only to find the combination with the view.......

Was this review helpful? Yes
Biel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

To relax and sit on the river, having some little food and drinks and to observe the long tail boats. The food is just ok, the portions are not big. If you are hungry, then you need some more dishes and it become expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

I used to visit the Deck quite often and then stopped for about a year. I came back again this time to show my parents one of my favorite restaurants. I am guessing I have to take it out of my list. The service was bad, the food tasted worse than I usually had, and it was quite overprice to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

its a great place if you want view to Wat Arun Temple. but when i went there, Wat Arun is under renovation.(i think) so the view its not that good.for the food. i think for the price and the taste its not worth it. I tried the pineapple fried rice , because when i read the review on TripAdvisor they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Great place to enjoy either dinner or a Cocktail on the roof top bar with good outlook on wat Arun. As more and more people know that spot make sure you come one hour before sunset. Thus you have first row seating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chigwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015 via mobile

I definitely should have checked on trip advisor before but didn't and got our hotel to recommend a restaurant with a view of Wat Arun. Thanks but no thanks. The worst meal and service I had in Bkk ever. It started with grumpy waiters and an overbearing manager who made the mediocre food even worse. We where seated by staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ArunResidenceGroup, Manager at The Deck, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, First of all, we thank you for your visit at our restaurant. However, we very much regret to learn that you were not satisfied with our cuisine and service. We must apologize most sincerely about the unpleasant experience you had got that night. Our restaurant is located amongst the old community with the cosy atmosphere of simple... More 

Travelers who viewed The Deck also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to The Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Deck

Address: 36-38 Soi Pratoo Nok Yoong, Maharat Road, Rattanakosin Island, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number: 02-221-9158
Location: Asia  >  Thailand  >  Bangkok
Open Hours:
Sunday 8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday 8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday 8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday 8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday 8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday 8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Cuisine: Cafe, Thai, Fusion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 36-38 Soi Pratoo Nok Yoong, Maharat Road, Rattanakosin Island, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
  • Location: Asia  >  Thailand  >  Bangkok
  • Phone Number: 02-221-9158

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Cafe, Thai, Fusion

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Deck and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Darlington, United Kingdom
Darlington, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Deck staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?